Platinum and Pink-Eyed Platinum - the colors of the Rat

Kathrin Guttmann Colors Leave a Comment

Behind the Color Platinum is different genotypes can hide. Your name gets this coat color of the precious metal platinum. Such as platinum to the skin of rats platnfarbenen a cold light gray tone have no hints of cream, Brown or strong blue tones.

Platin Nugget, Alchemist-hp (talk) (www.pse-mendelejew.de) - own work, FAL, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid = 9579015

The standard platinum-rat

Die American Fancy Rat and Mouse Association (AFRMA) describes the color as follows: A light gray with no blue color cast similar to platinum Malfarbe. The eye color is black or dark ruby (Dark Ruby). The color was on 24.07.1999 included in the standard of AFRMA. Black as possible eye color was only at 26.04.2006 recorded.

In addition to the Platinum are available at the AFRMA also the Pink Eyed Rat Platinum Color. Their color is an off-white (off-white) be with a gray tint. The color should not be too bright (medium shade) and not with silver, Beige or champagne to be confused. The eye color is red (=pink).

The British National Fancy Rat Society (NFRS) Platinum describes as a smooth and shining pale gray with a distinct ice-blue tone, without any hint of cream, Brown or more blue tones. The belly color is to be fit, feet Pale Gray. The eye color must be considered when NFRS ruby (Ruby) his.

The German standard of color rat1)Noack, J. & Flechsig, Dr. S. (2012), The German standard of color rat deviates so far away from the description of the AFRMA and NFRS, that significant blue inclusions are to be present. The paint itself should be an intense dove gray. The color should be uniform on the back and abdomen, The undercoat is slightly lighter than the top coat. Again, the eyes must be dark rubin.

The genetics of platinum rat

Regarding the genetics, the color Plantinum underlies, there are different specifications, some of which contradicts the information required by the standards genotypes.

The AFRMA to two gene variants on: Blue (is meant English / American Blue) + Mink for the variant with ruby ​​eyes and Blue + Chocolate for the black-eyed animals.

Contradictory here, that ruby ​​eyes only by the homozygous presence of the red-eye dilution allele (R.E.D., r abbreviated) arise. Blue (abbreviated d) and Mink (abbreviated m) only lead to black-eyed animals. One can now think about, whether the heterozygous presence of R.E.D., which can lead Mink animals to slightly reddish appearing eyes ("Havanna"), can also be interpreted as ruby. But the genotype aa dd mm RR does not lead to animals with ruby ​​eyes.

The NFRS refrained from indicating a genetic code.

In the German standard of color rat following genotypes are given: English Blue + R.E.D. (aa dd rr), English Blue + Mink or Mock Mink (here the same contradiction as when AFRMA)

Thanks a lot to "Secret of Colorful Rodents" for the image of the Odd Eyed Blazed Berkshire Dumbo Platinum

click, to rate this post
[Number of Reviews: 0 Average rating: 0]

References   [ + ]

1. Noack, J. & Flechsig, Dr. S. (2012), The German standard of color rat

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Platinum und Pink-Eyed Platinum - die Farben der Ratte

Kathrin Guttmann Farben Leave a Comment

Hinter der Farbe Platinum können sich verschiedene Genotypen verbergen. Ihren Namen erhält diese Fellfarbe von dem Edelmetall Platin. Wie Platin soll das Fell von platnfarbenen Ratten einen kalten hellgrauen Ton haben ohne Anflüge von Creme, Braun oder kräftigem Blautönen.

Platin Nugget, Von Alchemist-hp (talk) (www.pse-mendelejew.de) - Eigenes Werk, FAL, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=9579015

Das Standard der Platin-Ratte

Die American Fancy Rat and Mouse Association (AFRMA) beschreibt die Farbe wie folgt: Ein helles Grau ohne blauen Farbstich vergleichbar mit Platin-Malfarbe. Die Augenfarbe ist Schwarz oder dunkles Rubin (Dark Ruby). Die Farbe wurde am 24.07.1999 in den Standard der AFRMA aufgenommen. Schwarz als mögliche Augenfarbe wurde erst am 26.04.2006 aufgenommen.

Neben der Platinum gibt es bei der AFRMA auch noch die Pink-Eyed-Platinum Farbratte. Deren Farbe soll ein gebrochenes Weiß (off-white) sein mit einem grauen Farbstich. Die Farbe sollte nicht zu hell sein (mittlerer Farbton) und darf nicht mit Silber, Beige oder Champagne verwechselt werden. Die Augenfarbe ist rot (=pink).

Die britische National Fancy Rat Society (NFRS) beschreibt Platinum als ein gleichmäßiges und leuchtendes Blass-Grau mit einem deutlichen Eisblauen Ton, ohne jeden Anflug von Creme, Braun oder stärkeren Blautönen. Die Bauchfarbe soll passend sein, die Füße Blassgrau. Die Augenfarbe muss bei der NFRS Rubinrot (Ruby) sein.

Der Deutsche Standard der Farbratte1)Noack, J. & Flechsig, Dr. S. (2012), Der Deutsche Standard der Farbratte weicht in so fern von der Beschreibung der AFRMA und NFRS ab, dass deutliche Blaueinschlüsse vorhanden sein sollen. Die Farbe selbst soll ein intensives Taubengrau sein. Die Färbung soll an Rücken und Bauch einheitlich sein, das Unterfell ist etwas heller als das Oberfell. Auch hier müssen die Augen dunkelrubin sein.

Die Genetik der Platin-Ratte

Bezüglich der Genetik, die der Farbe Plantinum zugrunde liegt, gibt es unterschiedliche Angaben, die teilweise den in den Standards geforderten Genotypen widerspricht.

Die AFRMA führt zwei Genvarianten auf: Blue (gemeint ist English/American Blue) + Mink für die Variante mit rubinroten Augen und Blue + Chocolate für die schwarzäugige Tiere.

Widersprüchlich ist hier, dass rubinrote Augen nur durch das homozygote Vorliegen des Red-Eye-Dilution-Allels (R.E.D., abgekürzt r) entstehen. Blue (abgekürzt mit d) und Mink (abgekürzt mit m) führen nur zu schwarzäugigen Tieren. Man kann jetzt darüber nachdenken, ob das heterozygote Vorliegen von R.E.D., was bei Mink-Tieren zu leicht rötlich erscheinenden Augen führen kann ("Havanna"), auch als Rubinrot interpretiert werden kann. Aber der Genotyp aa dd mm RR führt nicht zu Tieren mit rubinroten Augen.

Die NFRS verzichtet auf die Angabe eines Gencodes.

Im Deutschen Standard der Farbratte werden folgende Genotypen angegeben: English Blue + R.E.D. (aa dd rr), English Blue + Mink oder Mock Mink (hier liegt der selbe Widerspruch vor wie bei der AFRMA)

Vielen Dank an "Secret of Colorful Rodents" für das Bild des Odd Eyed Blazed Platinum Berkshire Dumbo

Klicken, um diesen Beitrag zu bewerten
[Anzahl Bewertungen: 0 Durchschnittliche Bewertung: 0]

References   [ + ]

1. Noack, J. & Flechsig, Dr. S. (2012), Der Deutsche Standard der Farbratte

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.