My Ratte, Black Silvermane Self Harley

Harley - the history of the long-haired rat

Kathrin Guttmann Fur, Knowledge, Breeding & Genetic

Alert Title
Unfortunately, it was not possible despite extensive searches, to make Debbie Needham find, officially ask for permission to use their images. So I show them here in the sense of Fair Use. It would be a pleasure for me, if I could get in touch with Debbie Needham.

Despite vast research I couldn´t contact Debbie Needham to officially ask for permission to show her pictures. Now I am using them according to Fair Use. I would be happy to get in touch with Debbie Neddham.

The first documented Harely Rat (Langhaarratte) was on 1. September 2002 Debbi J. Needham (Odd Fellows Rattery) discovered in a pet shop. Debbi writes, that she thought only, that a teddy hamster in the cage would sit in front of her and then realized at second glance, that it was a rat. She took the rat lady, the ca. was two months old and baptized them in the name of Harley, with him their own store. A short time later gave birth to five babies Harley. The father was probably one of her litter brothers, who had met early. They were all Siamese / Himalayan color as her mother. Harley even had a noticeable hair structure. She was not willing like a velveteen or Rex, but long and soft.

Four of the babies had thick, plushy coat, that looked like velvet. However, it seemed longer than the fur of Velveteen puppies of the same age. The whiskers were less undulating than those of velveteens. One of the babies had straight hair. The guard hairs were longer, a bit like a langhaarigere variant of satin coat.

In March 2003 All babies were fully grown. Four of them had beautiful velveteen fur, but none had the thin, inherited long fur of Harley. Debbi Needham raised the question, whether the skin structure has been caused by a recessive gene, that when the babies heterozygous existed. In addition, Debbi had the theory, that when Harley a unique combination of velveteen- and Stain gene was present, mämlich Velveteen a dominant allele and homozygous alleles present Satin. She made a test mating with Harleys daughter OFR Harley Jr. and a rat with satin fur. OFR Harley Jr. had curled coat, So should have inherited the dominant allele Velveteen from her mother, and should also wear a satin allele, when Harley homzygot would for Satin. Some descendants of the mating of OFR Harley Jr. and a satin rat should therefore be velveteen and satin homzygot and thus have the same coat like Harley sen. Alle Velveteen-Babies, who were born, appeared as normal velveteens. The standard babies had slightly longer appearing Fell, but did not show Harleys special coat structure.

Im Mai 2003 Debbi could reproduce the coat structure of Harley. Harley gave birth to two babies - Ducati und Aprilla - exactly what they looked like. This was the result of a mating of Harley with one of her sons. Therefore concluded Debbi, that it was the result of a homozygous recessive gene in Harley coat structure. She described the coat as follows: The coat appears longer, presumably because of increased outer coat, that possibly. is longer. The texture is soft and thin like a Teddyhamder, a Persian cat or a Angora rabbits. The hairs curl slightly around the nose. The velveteens, who came from Harleys line, seemed to have a special coat structure. The coat appeared longer, plushy and strubbeliger, almost spreading, but did not have the same structure as Harleys fur. the standard- and satin coat seemed to have longer guard hairs, especially among babies.

The first long-haired rat - Harley

SPAR Dakota, Black Harley smooth-haired from the Sparticles
Rattery in Oregon, USA. 2004/2005

OFR Guinivere, Double Velveteen Harley Himalaya Mädchen. You may have inherited two genes curls, which has resulted in a very thin coat like at Double-Rex. However, the coat not falling. Some hair remained long and were spread all over the body.

guinivere

OFR Ducati, Dumbo Himalayan Harley Junge - Harleys Sohn, Born on the 1. May 2003. His fur and Aprillas correspond to the, like Harleys look mostly.

Ducati

Ducati

OFR Teacup, glattharriges Harley Himalayan girls. She was the first smooth-haired Harley, who was born in the OFR. Their fur was fluffy, smooth and long.

OFR Tea Bisquit, Himalaya Harley
Dwarf glatthaarig - girl - Born on the 7. April 2004. She was the first Dwarf rat with Harley-fur. 2006 she has had her last litter, then closed the OFR.

OFR Johnny, Dumbo Harley
Himalaya Young. Sohn von Ducati OFR (Himalaya Harley) and OFR Bella (Himalayan Harley-bearer), Born on the 17. September 2003. His coat looks unkempt and woolly from.

OFR Hershell, Dumbo Burmese curly Harley Young, Born on the 22. September 2005. Hershell. He was the only Burmese Harley in the OFR in 2005.

OFR Teacup, glattharriges Harley Himalayan girls. She was the first smooth-haired Harley, who was born in the OFR. Their fur was fluffy, smooth and long.

The subsequent history of Harleys

January 2004 - First Harleys were sent to the North East States of the USA.

April 2004 - The first Harley Dwarf was born. OFR Tea Biscuit war ein Himalaya Harley - non-curly coated - Dwarf. Harley- and Dwarf-carriers were sent to California.

October 2004 - The Harley-rat OFR Teacup and her litter were exhibited at the RatsPacNW rat show.

22. September 2004 Harley dies aged 2 Years and two months. Until then, the life expectancy of Harley-rats at OFR was about two years and there were no cases of Gesäugetumoren reported in the line.

November 2004 - Harley Dwarf rat was issued at Ratapalooza III. Debbi gets two Agouti Harley-carriers from the Sparticles Rattery in Oregon.

Herbst 2004 - There are now in California, Pennsylvania, Washington and Michigan Ratterys with Harley rats. In the autumn 2004 Harleys were exported from OFR to the Czech Repubilk.

December 2004 - Debbi reported, Harley that are very friendly and very good mothers. Litter sizes are in 5-10 Babies. The mortality rate among babies is very low. The size of the babies is uniform and well. However, there are reports of two Harley-breeders, that they have lost throws during the first days after birth in two related primiparous Harley-mothers.

March 2005 - RatsPacNW rat club standardizes the Harley-rat. There are agoutifarbene and black Harley rats.

June 2005 - Harleys are now grown throughout the United States and the Czech Republic. In Oregon, a breeder strives, to breed smooth-haired Harleys. In OFR there are the first hybrids with Burmese. Harleys are crossed into established lines.

January 2006 - Harleys can be grown in smooth-haired variants. Curly fur appears, when a dominant gene as Rex or Velveteen is crossed. From the original Harley-line two curly coat types were isolated. The one corresponding to the Velveteen. The other is very loose and plush. It does not show up, at a mating with a different type curly Fells.

Ratte Mia, Black Silvermane Self Harley

Harley - die Geschichte der Langhaarratte

Kathrin Guttmann Fell, Wissen, Zucht & Genetik

Alert Title
Leider war es mir trotz umfassender Recherchen nicht möglich, Debbie Needham ausfindig zu machen, um offiziell eine Erlaubnis zur Verwendung ihrer Bilder einzuholen. Daher zeige ich sie hier im Sinne des Fair Use. Es würde mich sehr freuen, wenn ich noch Kontakt zu Debbie Needham bekommen könnte.

Despite vast research I couldn´t contact Debbie Needham to officially ask for permission to show her pictures. Now I am using them according to Fair Use. I would be happy to get in touch with Debbie Neddham.

Die erste dokumentierte Harely-Ratte (Langhaarratte) wurde am 1. September 2002 von Debbi J. Needham (Odd Fellows Rattery) in einem Zooladen entdeckt. Debbi schreibt, dass sie erst dachte, dass ein Teddyhamster in dem Käfig vor ihr sitzen würde und erkannte dann auf den zweiten Blick, dass es sich um eine Ratte handelte. Sie nahm die Rattendame, die ca. zwei Monate alt war und die sie auf den Namen Harley taufte, mit ihn ihren eigenen Laden. Kurze Zeit später gebar Harley fünf Babies. Der Vater war wahrscheinlich einer ihrer Wurfbrüder, der sie früh gedeckt hatte. Sie waren alle Siam/Himalaya-farben wie ihre Mutter. Harley selbst hatte eine auffällig Haarstruktur. Sie war nicht willig wie eine Velveteen oder Rex, sondern lang und weich.

Vier der Babies hatten dickes, plüschiges Fell, dass wie Samt wirkte. Es erschien allerdings länger als das Fell von Velveteen-Welpen im selben Alter. Die Barthaare waren weniger gewellt als die von Velveteens. Eines der Babies hatte glattes Haar. Die Deckhaare waren länger, ein wenig wie eine langhaarigere Variante des Satin-Fells.

Im März 2003 waren alle Babies ausgewachsen. Vier von ihnen hatten schönes Velveteen-Fell, aber keines hatte das dünne, lange Fell von Harley geerbt. Debbi Needham stellte sich die Frage, ob die Fellstruktur durch ein rezessives Gen verursacht wurde, dass bei den Babies heterozygot vorlag. Darüber hinaus hatte Debbi die Theorie, dass bei Harley eine besondere Kombination aus Velveteen- und Stain-Gen vorlag, mämlich ein dominantes Velveteen Allel und homozygot vorliegende Satin Allele. Sie machte eine Testverpaarung mit Harleys Tochter OFR Harley Jr. und einer Ratte mit Satin-Fell. OFR Harley Jr. hatte gewelltes Fell, sollte also das dominante Velveteen Allel von ihrer Mutter geerbt haben und sollte auch ein Satin-Allel tragen, wenn Harley homzygot für Satin wäre. Einige Nachfahren aus der Verpaarung von OFR Harley Jr. und einer Satin-Ratte sollten also Velveteen und homzygot Satin sein und damit das gleiche Fell haben wie Harley sen. Alle Velveteen-Babies, die geboren wurden, erschienen wie normale Velveteens. Die Standard-Babies hatten etwas länger erscheinendes Fell, aber zeigten nicht Harleys besondere Fellstruktur.

Im Mai 2003 konnte Debbi die Fellstruktur von Harley reproduzieren. Harley gebar zwei Babies - Ducati und Aprilla - die genau wie sie aussahen. Dies war Ergebnis einer Verpaarung von Harley mit einem ihrer Söhne. Daraus schloss Debbi, dass es sich bei Harleys Fellstruktur um das Ergebnis eines homozygoten rezessiven Gens handelte. Sie beschrieb das Fell wie folgt: Das Fell erscheint länger, vermutlich aufgrund von vermehrtem Deckhaar, dass evtl. auch länger ist. Die Textur ist weich und dünn wie bei einem Teddyhamder, einer Perserkatze oder einem Angora-Kaninchen. Die Barthaare wellen sich etwas um die Nase. Auch die Velveteens, die aus Harleys Linie stammten, schienen eine besondere Fellstruktur zu haben. Das Fell erschien länger, plüschiger und strubbeliger, fast abstehend, hatte aber nicht die selbe Struktur wie Harleys Fell. Das Standard- und Satin-Fell schien längeres Deckhaar zu haben, vor allem bei den Babies.

Die erste Langhaar Ratte - Harley

SPAR Dakota, Black Harley glatthaarig von der Sparticles
Rattery in Oregon, USA. 2004/2005

OFR Guinivere, Double Velveteen Harley Himalaya Mädchen. Sie hat möglicherweise zwei Locken-Gene geerbt, was zu einem sehr dünnen Fell geführt hat wie bei Double-Rex. Allerdings fiel das Fell nicht aus. Einige Haare blieben lang und waren über den ganzen Körper verteilt.

Guinivere

OFR Ducati, Dumbo Harley Himalaya Junge - Harleys Sohn, geboren am 1. Mai 2003. Sein und Aprillas Fell entsprechen dem, wie Harleys meist aussehen.

Ducati

Ducati

OFR Teacup, glattharriges Harley Himalaya Mädchen. Sie war die erste glatthaarige Harley, die bei der OFR geboren wurde. Ihr Fell blieb flauschig, glatt und lang.

OFR Tea Bisquit, Himalaya Harley
Dwarf glatthaarig - Mädchen - geboren am 7. April 2004. Sie war die erste Dwarf-Ratte mit Harley-Fell. 2006 hat sie ihren letzten Wurf gehabt, danach schloss die OFR.

OFR Johnny, Dumbo Harley
Himalaya Junge. Sohn von OFR Ducati (Himalaya Harley) und OFR Bella (Himalaya Harley-Trägerin), geboren am 17. September 2003. Sein Fell sieht struppig und wollig aus.

OFR Hershell, Dumbo Burmese lockiger Harley Junge, geboren am 22. September 2005. Hershell. Er war der einzige Burmese Harley bei der OFR im Jahr 2005.

OFR Teacup, glattharriges Harley Himalaya Mädchen. Sie war die erste glatthaarige Harley, die bei der OFR geboren wurde. Ihr Fell blieb flauschig, glatt und lang.

Die weitere Geschichte der Harleys

Januar 2004 - Erste Harleys wurden in die North East States der USA geschickt.

April 2004 - Die erste Harley Dwarf wurde geboren. OFR Tea Biscuit war ein Himalaya Harley - non-curly coated - Dwarf.  Harley- und Dwarf-Träger wurden nach Kalifornien verschickt.

Oktober 2004 - Die Harley-Ratte OFR Teacup und ihr Wurf wurden bei der RatsPacNW rat show ausgestellt.

22. September 2004 Harley stirbt im Alter von 2 Jahren und zwei Monaten. Bis dahin betrug die Lebenserwartung von Harley-Ratten bei OFR etwa zwei Jahre und es wurden keine Fälle von Gesäugetumoren in der Linie berichtet.

November 2004 - Harley Dwarf Ratte wurde bei Ratapalooza III ausgestellt.  Debbi bekommt zwei Agouti Harley-Träger von der Sparticles Rattery in Oregon.

Herbst 2004 -  Inzwischen gibt es in Kalifornien, Pennsylvania, Washington und Michigan Ratterys mit Harley-Ratten. Im Herbst 2004 wurden Harleys von OFR in die Tschechische Repubilk exportiert.

Dezember 2004 - Debbi berichtet, dass Harley sehr freundlich und sehr gute Mütter sind. Wurfgrößen liegen um 5-10 Babies. Die Sterblichkeit bei den Babies ist sehr gering. Die Größe der Babies ist einheitlich und gut. Es gibt allerdings Berichte von zwei Harley-Züchtern, dass sie Würfe innerhalb der ersten Tage nach der Geburt verloren haben bei zwei verwandten erstgebärenden Harley-Müttern.

März 2005 - RatsPacNW rat club standardisiert die Harley-Ratte. Es gibt agoutifarbene und schwarze Harley-Ratten.

Juni 2005  - Harleys werden inzwischen in den gesamten USA und in der Tschechischen Republik gezüchtet. In Oregon bemüht sich ein Züchter darum, glatthaarige Harleys zu züchten. Bei OFR gibt es die ersten Kreuzungen mit Burmesen. Harleys werden in etablierte Linien eingekreuzt.

Januar 2006 - Harleys können in glatthaarige Varianten gezüchtet werden. Das gelockte Fell erscheint, wenn ein dominantes Gen wie Rex oder Velveteen eingekreuzt wird. Von der Original-Harley-Linie wurden zwei lockige Felltypen isoliert. Der eine entspricht dem Velveteen. Der andere ist sehr locker und plüschig. Es zeigt sich nicht, bei einer Verpaarung mit einem anderen Typ lockigen Fells.

Klicken, um diesen Beitrag zu bewerten
[Anzahl Bewertungen: 0 Durchschnittliche Bewertung: 0]