Why is there no Dumbo gene in pet rats

Kathrin Guttmann General, Knowledge, Breeding & Genetic

...and this gene may not be recessive.

I admit it: the title of this article is somewhat provocatively written. Talk because not all potential breeders of a "Dumbo-Gen" or it, that this "Dumbo-Gen" is recessive? What the hell these completely mistaken assertion, there would be no Dumbo gene?

In the parlance under color rat breeders, unfortunately, quite a negligence has come to be, when it comes to the correct use of terminology of genetics. In part, this may be because, that one has replaced complex descriptions in simple terms. However, the impression, that there are more and more breeders, that no longer know, as the correct use of the terminology is, which is really necessary for a deeper understanding of the relationships in genetics. The correct use of the terms chromosome, locus, Gen, Allel, Genotype and phenotype I will explain below using the example of Dumbo Rat.

Image

Genetic terms the example of Dumbo

In the ears of Dumbo rat is a phenotype, ie a outwardly visible appearance in feature. The phenotype includes all distinct features of an organism - morphological, physiological and behavioral characteristics. It is based on the genetic make-up and is caused by environmental factors and partly to chance (, e.g. due to. in the spotting of cows) influenced.

This phenotype is a certain genotype basis, the of all genes of an organism consists. The genotype includes all chromosomes the nucleus, but also extra-chromosomal DNA as e.g.. the DNA in the mitochondria. we will ignore these extra-chromosomal DNA here.

The chromosomes contain Gene, on certain loci (Locus or locus, Soon locus or locus, plurality loci) lie.

Image

Previously it was assumed, that each gene is a feature of (A gene is a feature-hypothesis) encodes and it also corresponds to, when one speaks of a "Dumbo gene", So a gene with the feature describes, which is to encode it. One reason for this may be my opinion, that we mostly talk when looking at the genetics of color rat breeders at the level of Mendelian genetics and this use of the term was completely common in Mendel. Only in the 1940s, this one-gene-one trait hypothesis was replaced by the one-gene-one-enzyme hypothesis, have developed the Beadle and Tatum1)George W. Beadle, Edward L. Tatum: Genetic Control of Biochemical Reactions in Neurospora. In: Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America. Bd. 27, No.. 11, 1941, S. 499–506, PMID 16588492, PMC 1078370.

Image

Today we know, that genes Not encode one to one features. Instead, they are assumed, that the polypeptides encoded in genes (A gene, a polypeptide hypothesis). Polypeptides are the building blocks of proteins (proteins). For this reason it is also not correct, to speak of a "Dumbo gene". In the case of the feature Dumbo is the gene H6 Homeo Box 1 (Hmx1), which provides on the synthesized polypeptides by him in a chain of biochemical reactions during the embryonic for, that Dumbo ears arise - or not arising.

Image

Lots Gene namely come in several variants. These variants are called Allele. alleles State forms of genes, lying on certain gene loci. The HMX1 has in pet rats two known alleles, on the corresponding locus, which appears in Title 79.0-84.7 Mb on chromosome 14 is, can be. One of these alleles encoding for the expression of standard ears necessary polypeptide and is in the consideration of the characteristic ear shape with You (capitalization) abbreviated. The second allele does not encode this polypeptide or. encoding another polypeptide and is described in the consideration to characteristic level with you (lowercase) abbreviated.

The allele is you against the allele you dominant (Therefore letters in capital letters), is the other way around the allele you recessive compared with the allele You (Therefore letters to lowercase). So one can not speak of dominant genes, because the gene is like the preamble to all on the corresponding locus alleles possible. Correctly, it is called or dominant. recessive alleles. Furthermore, the Attributes dominant and recessive always relative to use, as it occurs in the presence of several possible alleles, that e.g.. Alllel A versus B allele dominant, but is recessive to allele C. For simplicity, we want here but stay with only two possible alleles continue.

Image

Rats have in their body cells duplicate sets of chromosomes how we humans also. The term homologous chromosome called a chromosome, that matches another chromosome in the form and sequence of the genes. Each diploid cell has a set of homologous chromosomes - one from the father and one from the mother. That means, that each chromosome and thus each locus is duplicated. It may each be the same or different all on the two mutually corresponding loci. If the same alleles in front, they say, that an organism homozygot (reinerbig) for the corresponding allele is. Are different alleles ago, the organism heterozygot (mischerbig) for allele. Dominant alleles ensure, that a feature is already then pronounced, if this allele is present only on one chromosome and the organism is heterozygous for this allele. Recessive alleles must be present on both mutually corresponding loci, to lead to the expression of the corresponding feature, that is, the organism must be homozygous.

Image
So correctly you would have for a dumbo rat formulate:
The feature "Dumbo" because of the presence of the homozygous compared to the corresponding wild-type allele You recessive du allele on the locus of the H6 Homeo Box 1 Gene on the locus in Abshnitt 79.0-84-7 Mb of chromosome 14 pronounced.

References   [ + ]

1. George W. Beadle, Edward L. Tatum: Genetic Control of Biochemical Reactions in Neurospora. In: Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America. Bd. 27, No.. 11, 1941, S. 499–506, PMID 16588492, PMC 1078370

Warum es kein Dumbo-Gen bei Farbratten gibt

Kathrin Guttmann Allgemeines, Wissen, Zucht & Genetik

...und diese Gen nicht rezessiv sein kann.

Ich gebe es zu: der Titel dieses Artikels ist etwas provokativ verfasst. Reden denn nicht alle möglichen Züchter von einem "Dumbo-Gen" oder davon, dass das "Dumbo-Gen" rezessiv ist? Was soll denn diese völlig abwegige Behauptung, es gäbe gar kein Dumbo-Gen?

Im Sprachgebrauch unter Farbratten-Züchtern hat sich leider eine ziemliche Nachlässigkeit eingebürgert, wenn es um die korrekte Verwendung von Begrifflichkeiten der Genetik geht. Teilweise mag das daran liegen, dass man komplexe Umschreibungen mit einfachen Worten ersetzt hat. Allerdings entsteht der Eindruck, dass es immer mehr Züchter gibt, die gar nicht mehr wissen, wie die korrekte Verwendung der Begrifflichkeiten ist, die eigentlich für ein tiefer gehendes Verständnis der Zusammenhänge in der Genetik notwendig ist. Die korrekte Verwendung der Begriffe Chromosom, Genort, Gen, Allel, Genotyp und Phänotyp möchte ich im Folgenden am Beispiel der Dumbo-Ratte erläutern.

Image

Begriffe der Genetik am Beispiel Dumbo

Bei den Ohren der Dumbo-Ratte handelt es sich um einen Phänotyp, also um ein nach außen im Erscheinungsbild sichtbares Merkmal. Der Phänotyp umfasst alle ausgeprägten Merkmale eines Organismus - morphologische, physiologische und Verhaltensmerkmale. Er basiert auf den genetischen Anlagen und wird durch Umwelteinflüsse und teilweise auch den Zufall (z.B. bei der Scheckung von Kühen) mitbestimmt.

Diesem Phänotyp liegt ein bestimmter Genotyp zugrunde, der aus allen Genen des Organismus besteht. Der Genotyp umfasst alle Chromosomen des Zellkerns, aber auch extrachromosomale DNA wie z.B. die DNA in den Mitochondrien. Diese extrachromosomale DNA wollen wir hier außer Acht lassen.

Die Chromosomen enthalten Gene, die auf bestimmten Genorten (Genlokus oder Genlocus, kurz Lokus oder Locus, Mehrzahl Loci) liegen.

Image

Früher ging man davon aus, dass jedes Gen ein Merkmal (Ein-Gen-ein-Merkmal-Hypothese) kodiert und dem entspricht es auch, wenn man von einem „Dumbo-Gen“ spricht, also ein Gen mit dem Merkmal beschreibt, das es kodieren soll. Ein Grund dafür kann meiner Meinung nach sein, dass wir uns bei der Betrachtung der Genetik der Farbratte unter Züchtern meistens auf dem Level der Mendel-Genetik unterhalten und diese Begriffsverwendung bei Mendel noch völlig gebräuchlich war. Erst in den 1940ern wurde diese Ein-Gen-ein-Merkmal-Hypothese durch die Ein-Gen-ein-Enzym-Hypothese abgelöst, die Beadle und Tatum entwickelt haben1)George W. Beadle, Edward L. Tatum: Genetic Control of Biochemical Reactions in Neurospora. In: Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America. Bd. 27, Nr. 11, 1941, S. 499–506, PMID 16588492, PMC 1078370.

Image

Heute weiß man, dass Gene nicht eins zu eins Merkmale kodieren. Man geht vielmehr davon aus, dass auf Genen Polypeptide kodiert werden (Ein-Gen-ein-Polypeptid-Hypothese). Polypeptide sind Bausteine von Proteinen (Eiweißen). Aus diesem Grund ist es auch nicht korrekt, von einem „Dumbo-Gen“ zu sprechen. Im Falle des Merkmals Dumbo handelt es sich um das Gen H6 Homeo Box 1 (Hmx1), das über das von ihm synthetisierte Polypeptide in einer Kette von biochemischen Reaktionen während der Embryonalphase dafür sorgt, dass Dumbo-Ohren entstehen – oder eben nicht entstehen.

Image

Viele Gene kommen nämlich in mehreren Varianten vor. Diese Varianten bezeichnet man als Allele. Allele sind Zustandsformen von Genen, die auf bestimmten Genorten liegen. Das Hmx1 hat bei Farbratten zwei bekannte Allele, die auf dem entsprechenden Genort, der sich im Abschnitt 79.0-84.7 Mb auf dem Chromosom 14 befindet, liegen können. Das eine dieser Allele kodiert das für die Ausprägung von Standard-Ohren notwendige Polypetid und wird bei der Betrachtung des Merkmals Ohrenform mit Du (Großschreibung) abgekürzt. Das zweite Allel kodiert dieses Polypetid nicht bzw. kodiert ein anderes Polypeptid und wird bei der Betrachtung auf Merkmalsebene mit du (Kleinschreibung) abgekürzt.

Das Allel Du ist gegenüber dem Allel du dominant (daher Schreibung in mit Großbuchstaben), anders herum ist das Allel du rezessiv gegenüber dem Allel Du (daher Schreibung in Kleinbuchstaben). Man kann also nicht von dominanten Genen sprechen, denn das Gen ist sozusagen der Obergriff für alle auf dem entsprechenden Genort möglichen Allele. Korrekterweise spricht man von dominanten bzw. rezessiven Allelen. Des Weiteren ist sind die Attribute dominant und rezessiv immer relativ zu verwenden, da es beim Vorliegen mehrerer möglichen Allele vorkommt, dass z.B. Alllel A gegenüber Allel B dominant, aber gegenüber Allel C rezessiv ist. Der Einfachheit halber wollen wir hier aber weiterhin bei nur zwei möglichen Allelen bleiben.

Image

Ratten haben in ihren Körperzellen doppelte Chromosomensätze wie wir Menschen auch. Der Begriff homologe Chromosom bezeichnet ein Chromosom, das mit einem anderen Chromosom in Gestalt und Abfolge der Gene übereinstimmt. Jede diploide Zelle hat einen Satz homologer Chromosomen - eines vom Vater und eines von der Mutter. Das bedeutet, dass jedes Chromosom und damit auch jeder Genort doppelt vorhanden ist. Es können also jeweils die gleichen oder verschiedene Alle auf den beiden sich entsprechenden Genorten vorliegen. Liegen die gleichen Allele vor, sagt man, dass ein Organismus homozygot (reinerbig) für das entsprechende Allel ist. Liegen verschiedene Allele vor, ist der Organismus heterozygot (mischerbig) für das Allel. Dominante Allele sorgen dafür, dass ein Merkmal bereits dann ausgeprägt wird, wenn dieses Allel nur auf einem Chromosom vorhanden ist und der Organismus heterozygot für dieses Allel ist. Rezessive Allele müssen auf beiden sich entsprechenden Genorten vorliegen, um zur Ausprägung des entsprechenden Merkmals zu führen, das heißt der Organismus muss homozygot sein.

Image
Korrekt müsste man also für eine Dumbo-Ratte formulieren:
Das Merkmal „Dumbo“ aufgrund des homozygoten Vorliegens des gegenüber dem der Wildform entsprechenden Du-Allel rezessiven du-Allels auf dem Genort des H6 Homeo Box 1 Gens auf dem Genort im Abshnitt 79.0-84-7 Mb des Chromosoms 14 ausgeprägt.

References   [ + ]

1.George W. Beadle, Edward L. Tatum: Genetic Control of Biochemical Reactions in Neurospora. In: Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America. Bd. 27, Nr. 11, 1941, S. 499–506, PMID 16588492, PMC 1078370