Lilo, Ratte Black Variegated Dumbo

Variegated - the drawings of the rat

Kathrin Guttmann Knowledge, Markings, Breeding & Genetic

In Germany, currently all sorts of rats, which have a somewhat spotted back, called Variegated. This is at a Variegated both the American Fancy Rat Association AFRMA (since 19. August 2006) and National Fancy Rat Society NFRS (UK) standardized drawing. Even the German standard of color rat performs a standard for Variegated drawing.

The drawing of the rat corresponds to a Variegated Hooded, only that many color patches are distributed on the back and on the sides instead of the back strip.

Image
Burmese Variegated Blazed

The AFRMA describes in her standard, that the head and shoulders as that of a hooded rat should be colored with a Head spot in the middle of the forehead, which should be round or oval and can not be larger than the eye of the rat. The color patches should cover the rest of the white body from shoulders to tail uniform, including the sides and tail. The bottom (including abdominal, Chest and throat) should be white and free of creams or patches.

Image
Mink Variegated Blazed according to the standard of NFRS, but unfortunately with slate blaze (wearing in the picture)

In contrast to the AFRMA NFRS allowed next to the Headpsot a blaze on the forehead. A Head Spot should be placed centrally, and his or oval and not greater than the rat eye. A blaze to be wedge-shaped and symmetrically and go from the nose to the forehead. The drawing should not go beyond the cheeks or eyes. The remainder of the upper surface (move, Sides and tail) the rat body should draw white and evenly with spots of a clearly contrasting color. Again, the lower silk should be white and free of creams or patches.

Image
Topaz Variegated Bock mit Headspot

The German standard of color rat1)Noack, J. & Flechsig, S. (2012). The German standard of color rat. Friedrich Born-Verlag tolerated only one blaze, if it is symmetrical. The spots of the animal should be balanced and not give the impression of a distorted stroke. From head to shoulders, the animal should be uniformly colored.

Image
A Topaz Blazed Rat, does not match the standard of Variegated rat, could reach over the shoulders is not colored and the spots are too large and unevenly.

The genetics of Variegated rat

The AFRMA writes on their website completely honest, that the genetic background of Variegated is not fully understood rat today. Obviously, several alleles of the H locus and other circumstances modifier may be involved, acting in combination with each other. In addition, genetic linkage can (Linkage) play a role. More information about the genetics of Variegated rat in Article "Genetic analysis of the modifier for the Hooded phenotype in rats".

Karen Robbins published 2012 in AFRMA Council & Mouse Tales WSSF a comprehensive items with results to test breeding, it has made, to the genetic basis Variegated and Dalmation to explore closer. It was while supported by the AFRMA genetics expert Nicole Royer (Robins, 20121)). (Robins, 20122)Robins, K. (20012), Dalmatian & Variegated Rats, Test Breeding For Genetics, AFRMA Rat & Mouse Tales WSSF 2012, 11-21). Here are some of the conclusions, die Robbins & Royer drawn regarding the inheritance of Variegated:

  • Variegated Variegated x does not give Hooded descendants, so it can not hh(e) his.
  • Variegated Variegated x does not result in Self descendants, so it can not Hh(e) his
  • Variegated Variegated x gives no English Irish Descendants, so it can not Hh(i), H(re)h(i) or h(e)h(i) his
  • Variegated x Variegated kann nicht h(e)h(e) his, since then would occur in the litter just uniform badges and always Berkshire and sometimes falls Capped at Variegated Variegated x in various forms.
  • Variegated always has a Head Spot (a few hairs to a large badge), This spot may also take the form of a blaze
  • Dalmation & Variegated litters have always Berkshire with Head Spot descendants [or. may have]
  • Variegated bad may look like Bareback, but always a Head Spot and white chin / neck / chest,
  • Variegated and Hooded should never be bred, as this will cause, that the stains are not evenly distributed among the progeny Variegated, but the spots, especially along the spine are, or. that the back markers are very dirty at the Hooded descendants.
  • Capped rats can be distinguished on the basis of very weak subscribed Variegated, Capped that always has a spikes of white at the end of the cap during extremely bad subscribed variegate has a Head Spot, from which no white stripe through the swatch on the head-to-back runs.
  • At the conclusion of Variegated at least 2, probably 3-4 Genes involved at different loci.
  • Variegated is not a simple recessive or dominant allele.

More articles, may interest you:

Image

Genetic analysis of the modifier for the Hooded phenotype in rats

Image

Headspot - Drawings of color rat

Image

A few words about the color determination

References   [ + ]

1. Noack, J. & Flechsig, S. (2012). The German standard of color rat. Friedrich Born-Verlag
2. Robins, K. (20012), Dalmatian & Variegated Rats, Test Breeding For Genetics, AFRMA Rat & Mouse Tales WSSF 2012, 11-21

Lilo, Ratte Black Variegated Dumbo

Variegated - die Zeichnungen der Ratte

Kathrin Guttmann Wissen, Zeichnung, Zucht & Genetik

In Deutschland werden zurzeit alle möglichen Ratten, die einen irgendwie gefleckten Rücken haben, als Variegated bezeichnet. Dabei handelt es sich bei Variegated um eine sowohl von der American Fancy Rat Association AFRMA (seit 19. August 2006) sowie von National Fancy Rat Society NFRS (UK) standardisierte Zeichnung. Auch der Deutsche Standard der Farbratte führt einen Standard für die Variegated-Zeichnung.

Die Zeichnung der Variegated Ratte entspricht der einer Hooded, nur dass anstelle des Rückenstreifens viele Farbflecke auf dem Rücken und an den Seiten verteilt sind.

Image
Burmese Variegated Blazed

Die AFRMA beschreibt in ihrem Standard, dass Kopf und Schultern wie die bei einer Hooded-Ratte farbig sein sollen mit einem Headspot in der Mitte der Stirn, der rund oder oval sein sollte und nicht größer als das Auge der Ratte sein darf. Die Farbflecke sollen den Rest des weißen Körpers von den Schultern bis zum Schwanz gleichmäßig bedecken, einschließlich den Seiten und dem Schwanz. Die Unterseite (einschließlich Bauch, Brust und Kehle) soll weiß sein und frei von Creme oder Flecken.

Image
Mink Variegated Blazed entsprechend dem Standard der NFRS, aber leider mit schiefer Blesse (auf dem Bild tragend)

Im Gegensatz zur AFRMA erlaubt die NFRS neben dem Headpsot auch eine Blesse auf der Stirn. Ein Headspot sollte mittig platziert, und oder oval und nicht größer als das Rattenauge sein. Eine Blesse soll keilförmig und symmetrisch sein und von der Nase bis zur Stirn gehen. Die Zeichnung sollte nicht über die Wangen oder die Augen hinausgehen. Der Rest der Oberseite (Rücken, Seiten und Schwanz) des Rattenkörpers soll weiß und gleichmäßig mit Flecken einer deutlich abgesetzten Farbe gezeichnet. Auch hier soll die Unterseide weiß und frei von Cremetönen oder Flecken sein.

Image
Topaz Variegated Bock mit Headspot

Der Deutsche Standard der Farbratte1)Noack, J. & Flechsig, S. (2012). Der deutsche Standard der Farbratte. Friedrichsborn-Verlag toleriert nur eine Blesse, wenn sie symmetrisch ist. Auch die Flecken des Tieres sollen symmetrisch sein und nicht den Eindruck eines verzerrten Strichs geben. Von Kopf bis Schultern soll das Tier einheitlich gefärbt sein.

Image
Eine Topaz Blazed Ratte, die nicht dem Standard der Variegated Ratte entspricht, da sie nicht bis über die Schultern farbig ist und die Flecken zu groß und ungleichmäßig sind.

Die Genetik der Variegated Ratte

Die AFRMA schreibt auf ihrer Website ganz ehrlich, dass der genetische Hintergrund der Variegated Ratte bis heute noch nicht ganz geklärt ist. Ganz offensichtlich können mehrere Allele des H-Lokus sowie unter Umständen weitere Modifier beteiligt sein, die in Kombination mit einander wirken. Zudem kann auch Genkopplung (Linkage) eine Rolle spielen. Weitere Informationen zur Genetik der Variegated Ratte im Artikel "Genetische Analyse der Modifier für den Hooded-Phänotyp bei Ratten".

Karen Robbins veröffentlichte 2012 in AFRMA Rat & Mouse Tales WSSF eine umfassenden Artikel mit Ergebnissen zu Testverpaarungen, die sie gemacht hat, um die genetische Grundlage Variegated und Dalmation näher zu ergründen. Sie wurde dabei von der AFRMA-Genetikexpertin Nicole Royer unterstützte (Robins, 20121)). (Robins, 20122)Robins, K. (20012), Dalmatian & Variegated Rats, Test Breeding For Genetics, AFRMA Rat & Mouse Tales WSSF 2012, 11-21). Hier einige der Schlüsse, die Robbins & Royer bezüglich der Vererbung von Variegated gezogen haben:

  • Variegated x Variegated ergibt keine Hooded Nachkommen, es kann also nicht hh(e) sein.
  • Variegated x Variegated ergibt keine Self Nachkommen, es kann also nicht Hh(e) sein
  • Variegated x Variegated ergibt keine English Irish Nachkommen, es kann also nicht Hh(i), H(re)h(i) oder h(e)h(i) sein
  • Variegated x Variegated kann nicht h(e)h(e) sein, da dann nur einheitliche Abzeichen im Wurf vorkommen würden und bei Variegated x Variegated immer auch Berkshire und manchmal Capped in unterschiedlichen Ausprägungen fällt.
  • Variegated hat immer einen Headspot (von wenigen Haaren bis zu einem großen Abzeichen), dieser Spot kann auch die Form einer Blesse annehmen
  • Dalmation & Variegated Würfe haben immer Berkshire mit Headspot Nachkommen [bzw. können haben]
  • Schlechtes Variegated kann aussehen wie Bareback, hat aber immer einen Head Spot und Weiß an Kinn/Hals/Brust,
  • Variegated und Hooded sollten nie verpaart werden, da dies dazu führt, dass bei den Variegated Nachkommen die Flecken nicht mehr gleichmäßig verteilt sind, sondern die Flecken vor allem entlang der Wirbelsäule liegen, bzw. dass bei den Hooded Nachkommen die Rückenmarkierungen sehr unsauber sind.
  • Capped Ratten lassen sich von sehr schwach gezeichneten Variegated daran unterschieden, dass Capped immer einen Zacken von Weiß am Ende der Kappe hat während extrem schlecht gezeichnetes Variegate einen Headspot hat, von dem kein weißer Streifen durch das Farbfeld auf dem Kopf zum Rücken läuft.
  • Am Zustandekommen von Variegated sind mindestens 2, wahrscheinlich sogar 3-4 Gene auf verschiedenen Genorten beteiligt.
  • Variegated ist kein einfaches rezessives oder dominantes Allel.

Weitere Artikel, die Sie interessieren könnten:

Image

Genetische Analyse der Modifier für den Hooded-Phänotyp bei Ratten

Image

Headspot - Zeichnungen der Farbratte

Image

Ein paar Worte zur Farbbestimmung

References   [ + ]

1. Noack, J. & Flechsig, S. (2012). Der deutsche Standard der Farbratte. Friedrichsborn-Verlag
2. Robins, K. (20012), Dalmatian & Variegated Rats, Test Breeding For Genetics, AFRMA Rat & Mouse Tales WSSF 2012, 11-21