Rat Joe on 1.5.2017. Topaz Berkshire

Topaz, Fawn, Argente - the colors of the Rat

Kathrin Guttmann Colors, Knowledge, Breeding & Genetic

With the colors Topaz, Fawn and Argente may cause some confusion, because the color names from country to country (US and UK) may vary and the colors of different genotypes underlie. Die National Fancy Rat and Mouse Society (UK) called the color Topaz and describes it as follows: a whopping, golden fawn (engl. fawn = Rehkitz), which is uniformly interspersed with silver guard hairs. The color of the undercoat should be a pale blue-gray, that's enough for a skin. The stomach should be beige-silver. The back color should be run down evenly on the sides and clearly separated from the abdominal color. Every trace of soot or gray should be avoided. The eyes are dark ruby (Dark ruby) and should we be so dark possible. The description of the American Fancy Rat and Mouse Association, who calls the color Fawn, derogate from clear. Here the color is as rich, Golden Orange described, which should be as dark as possible. The belly is slightly lighter and the eyes are dark ruby (Dark ruby). According to the AFRMA is at a Fawn an agouti with ruby ​​eyes.

The genetics of Topaz, Fawn & Argente Ratte

In Fawn / Topaz and Argente rats always are agoutis, d.h. there exists at least one compared to the non-agouti allele dominant agouti allele (A-). The agouti is now brightened by, that the rat homozgot for the red-eye Dilute (Red-eye dilution, R.E.D.) is. The gene code is therefore A- rr. In addition, conducted at the National Fancy Rat and Mouse Association, the combination with reinerbigem Chocolate as Topaz. It is also a combination with reinerbigem Mink or. American/Mock-Mink A- mm rr (or. A- love rr). The resulting color is called in the US as Argente (to distinguish it from D'Argente, what is the newer name for Silvermane).

Illustration: Topaz und Topaz Variegated

  • genotype
  • designation USA
  • designation U.K..
  • common in Germany Designation
  • A- B- M- rr
  • Fawn
  • Topaz
  • Topaz
  • A- bb M- rr
  • No official name
  • Topaz
  • Topaz
  • A- B- mm rr
  • Argente
  • No official name
  • Topaz

Illustration: Topaz Variegated Dumbo

The distinction between Topaz / Fawn and Argente is difficult. Often even claim, that the different genotype would produce no visible differences in phenotype. With some experience, but you can certainly between Topaz / Fawn without Mink (M-) and Argente with Mink (mm) distinguish. While the sub-hair at Topaz / Fawn without Mink (M-) should be blue gray, they are at Argente with Mink (mm) beige-white (please refer Australian rodent Fancies Society). In addition, the guard hairs at Topaz / Fawn without Mink are (M-) degree, while at Argente with Mink (mm) orange are (please refer Crescenityrattery).

1: Topaz / Argente, Gencode aa mm rr

2: Beige, Gencode aa M- rr

3: Topaz / Fawn, Gencode aa M- rr

Ratte Joe am 1.5.2017. Topaz Berkshire

Topaz, Fawn, Argente - die Farben der Ratte

Kathrin Guttmann Farben, Wissen, Zucht & Genetik

Bei den Farben Topaz, Fawn und Argente kann es zu einiger Verwirrung kommen, da die Farbbezeichnungen von Land zu Land (USA und UK) variieren und den Farben unterschiedliche Genotypen zugrunde liegen können. Die National Fancy Rat and Mouse Society (UK) nennt die Farbe Topaz und beschreibt sie wie folgt: eine satte, goldene Rehfarbe (engl. fawn = Rehkitz), die gleichmäßig mit silbernen Deckhaaren durchsetzt ist. Die Farbe der Unterwolle sollte ein blasses Blaugrau sein, das bis zur Haut reicht. Die Bauch soll beige-silbern sein. Die Rückenfarbe sollte gleichmäßig an den Seiten herunterlaufen und klar von der Bauchfarbe abgesetzt sein. Jeder Anflug von Ruß oder Grau ist zu vermeiden. Die Augen sind dark ruby (dunkles Rubin) und sollten so dunkel wir möglich sein. Die Beschreibung der American Fancy Rat and Mouse Association, die die Farbe Fawn nennt, weicht davon deutlich ab. Hier wird die Farbe als sattes, goldenes Orange beschrieben, das so dunkel wie möglich sein soll. Der Bauch ist etwas heller und die Augen sind dark ruby (dunkles Rubin). Laut der AFRMA handelt es sich bei einem Fawn um einen Agouti mit rubinroten Augen.

Die Genetik der Topaz, Fawn & Argente Ratte

Bei Fawn/Topaz und Argente Ratten handelt es sich immer um Agoutis, d.h. es liegt mindestens ein gegenüber dem Non-Agouti-Allel dominantes Agouti-Allel vor (A-). Das Agouti wird jetzt dadurch aufgehellt, dass die Ratte homozgot für das Red-Eye-Dilute (Rote-Augen-Verdünnung, R.E.D.) ist. Der Gen-Code lautet also A- rr. Darüber hinaus wird bei der National Fancy Rat and Mouse Association auch die Kombination mit reinerbigem Chocolate als Topaz geführt. Möglich ist auch eine Kombination mit reinerbigem Mink bzw. American/Mock-Mink A- mm rr (bzw. A- amam rr). Die daraus resultierende Farbe wird in den USA als Argente bezeichnet (zu unterscheiden von D'Argente, was die neuere Bezeichnung für Silvermane ist).

Abbildung: Topaz und Topaz Variegated

  • Genotyp
  • Bezeichnung USA
  • Bezeichnung U.K.
  • in Deutschland gebräuchliche Bezeichnung
  • A- B- M- rr
  • Fawn
  • Topaz
  • Topaz
  • A- bb M- rr
  • keine offizielle Bezeichnung
  • Topaz
  • Topaz
  • A- B- mm rr
  • Argente
  • Keine offizielle Bezeichnung
  • Topaz

Abbildung: Topaz Variegated Dumbo

Die Unterscheidung von Topaz/Fawn und Argente ist schwierig. Oft wird sogar behauptet, dass der abweichende Genotyp keine sichtbaren Unterschiede im Phänotyp hervorrufen würde. Mit einiger Erfahrung kann man aber durchaus zwischen Topaz/Fawn ohne Mink (M-) und Argente mit Mink (mm) unterscheiden. Während die Unterhaare bei Topaz/Fawn ohne Mink (M-) blaugrau sein sollen, sind sie bei Argente mit Mink (mm) beige-weiß (siehe Australian rodent Fancies Society). Zudem sind die Grannenhaare bei Topaz/Fawn ohne Mink (M-) grau, während sie bei Argente mit Mink (mm) orange sind (siehe Crescenityrattery).

1: Topaz / Argente, Gencode aa mm rr

2: Beige, Gencode aa M- rr

3: Topaz / Fawn, Gencode aa M- rr