Ratte Lisbeth Salander, Black Berkshire Silvermane Dumbo het. Harley

Silvermane / Silver - Shades of the rats

Kathrin Guttmann Shades / Shade, Knowledge, Breeding & Genetic

The Silvermane Shade is a relatively new discovery in pet rats breeding. 2013 appeared in AFRMA Council & Mouse Tales news-magazine an article, in an e-mail from Jessica Jones (Kadru´s Clutch / Squeaks and Nibbles Rattery) was printed, in which the first probably is described Silvermane. Jessica had moved animals from a pet shop and bred with them. Eventually she had given rats from this strain to a food animal breeder, her Dumbos from one of the litters, he had with the rats, returned. One of these rats was the goat Ro (or Rowan), which had a significant silver staining and dark areas to muzzle and eyes. since 2012 Jessica Jones worked with the animals and called the new Shade "Silvermane". The American Fancy Rat and Mouse Society finally named the color on the basis of a similar color in rabbits in order D'Argent.

Illustration: Russian Blue Silvermane

The American Fancy Rat and Mouse Association describes the D'Argent (or. Silvermane) Rat as follows:

These rats are similar to Huskies (Roan) because they are white with age. However, they have not silver and not silver hair, but the fur has hair tips, appearing white. These peaks disappear, when the rat gets wet, so that only the dark under-coat shows a result of the transparent effect of the allele. The refraction of light in the colorless skin makes this appear white and gives the Silvermane / D'Argent the silvery appearance (the same phenomenon, what polar bears appear white lässts). She has a face mask (darker muzzle and around the eyes, shows up with 3-4 weeks, but sometimes not before 12 week). Babies are initially completely black, then get silver tips, until all hair tips are white.

The hair structure is at Silver Manes unlike non-Silver Manes. The coat looks much silkier and softer.

Point of time, from the first silver shows, can vary greatly. I had already Animals, who were recognizable as Silvermane already with the break of the first Fells, and also those, the first of over six weeks until the age of silver showed signs.

Silvermane can theoretically occur with each color together, but is most visible on dark colors. In the identification can help, that the transparent hair glow under black light.

The Silvermane allele inherited dominant over the non-Silvermane allele.

The standard of Silvermane- / D'Argent Rat

Silvermane under the name D'Argent at 26.01.2019 officially entered the category of unstandardized American Fancy Rat and Mouse Association recorded.

The rats should provide a single uniform color have with silver-white hair tips, total give the rat a strong silvery appearance. The rats have a face mask (Dark area around mouth and nose). The coat should feel soft and silky and shine. colour, Mask and development should be like Champagne D'Argent Rabbits. Does not involve Silvered, Roan or Frosted be confused. Silvermane / D'Argent may only in black, Chocolate, Mink and Russian Blue are issued. rating: Silver hair tips 15, under Color 15, Fellstruktur 10, Uniformity of white hair tips 5, face mask 5, Faults: shedding, splotchy, uneven or not enough Silvering, too much understeer color, shines through.

Illustration: Black Silvermane baby at the age of 5 meet. The Silvermane mask is already very recognized

Illustration: In comparison, rat Janosch, the only over the age of 6 Weeks has shown the Silvermane shading

Illustration: Black Silvermane

Illustration: Black Silvermane

Illustration: Blacvk Silvermane

Illustration: Black Silvermane

Image

Illustration: Cinnamon Pearl Silvermane (Exotic Whiskers Rattery)

Image

Illustration: Cinnamon Pearl Silvermane (Exotic Whiskers Rattery)

Image

Illustration: Burmese Silvermane Jungtier

Image

Illustration: Russian Blue Burmese Silvermane Jungtier

Ratte Lisbeth Salander, Black Berkshire Silvermane Dumbo het. Harley

Silvermane / D'Argent - Shades der Ratten

Kathrin Guttmann Schattierung / Shade, Wissen, Zucht & Genetik

Der Silvermane Shade ist eine relativ neue Entdeckung in der Farbrattenzucht. 2013 erschien im AFRMA Rat & Mouse Tales news-magazine ein Artikel, in dem eine E-Mail von Jessica Jones (Kadru´s Clutch / Squeaks and Nibbles Rattery) abgedruckt war, in dem die wahrscheinlich erste Silvermane beschrieben wird. Jessica hatte Tiere von einem Zooladen bezogen und mit ihnen gezüchtet. Irgendwann hatte sie Ratten aus diesem Stamm an einen Futtertierzüchter abgegeben, der ihr Dumbos aus einem der Würfe, die er mit den Ratten hatte, zurückgab. Eine dieser Ratten war der Bock Ro (oder Rowan), der eine deutliche Silberfärbung aufwies sowie dunkle Stellen um Schnauze und Augen. Seit 2012 arbeitete Jessica Jones mit den Tieren und nannte den neuen Shade "Silvermane". Die American Fancy Rat and Mouse Society benannte die Farbe schließlich in Anlehnung an eine vergleichbare Farbe bei Kaninchen in D´Argent um.

Abbildung: Russian Blue Silvermane

Die American Fancy Rat and Mouse Association beschreibt die D´Argent (bzw. Silvermane) Ratte wie folgt:

Diese Ratten sind ähnlich wie Huskies (Roan) da sie weißer werden mit dem Alter. Allerdings haben sie nicht silberne und nicht silberne Haare, sondern das Fell hat Haarspitzen, die weiß erscheinen. Diese Spitzen verschwinden, wenn die Ratte nass wird, so dass sich nur noch das dunkle Unterfell zeigt aufgrund des transparenten Effekt des Allel. Die Brechung des Lichts im farblosen Fell lässt dieses weiß erscheinen und gibt der Silvermane/D'Argent das silbrige Aussehen (das gleiche Phänomen, was Eisbären weiß erscheinen lässts). Sie hat eine Gesichtsmaske (dunklere Schnauze und Bereich um die Augen, zeigt sich mit 3-4 Wochen, manchmal aber nicht vor der 12 Woche). Babies sind zunächst komplett schwarz, bekommen dann silberne Spitzen, bis schließlich alle Haarspitzen weiß sind.

Auch die Haarstruktur ist bei Silvermanes anders als bei Nicht-Silvermanes. Das Fell wirkt deutlich seidiger und weicher.

Der Zeitpunkt, ab dem sich das erste Silber zeigt, kann stark variieren. Ich hatte schon Tiere, die bereits mit dem Durchbrechen des ersten Fells als Silvermane erkennbar waren, und auch solche, die erst im Alter von über sechs Wochen erste Anzeichen von Silber zeigten.

Silvermane kann theoretisch mit jeder Farbe zusammen auftreten, ist aber am besten auf dunklen Farben sichtbar. Bei der Identifikation kann helfen, dass die durchsichtigen Haare unter Schwarzlicht leuchten.

Das Silvermane Allel vererbt sich dominant gegenüber dem Non-Silvermane-Allel.

Der Standard der Silvermane-/ D'Argent-Ratte

Silvermane wurde unter dem Namen D'Argent am 26.01.2019 offiziell in die unstandardisierte Kategorie der American Fancy Rat and Mouse Association aufgenommen.

Die Ratten sollen eine einheitliche Unterfarbe haben mit silber-weißen Haarspitzen, die der Ratte insgesamt ein stark silbriges Aussehen geben. Die Ratten haben eine Gesichstmaske (dunkles Region um Mund und Nase). Das Fell soll sich weich und seidig anfühlen und glänzen. Farbe, Maske und Entwicklung sollen so sein wie Champagne D'Argent Kaninchen. Darf nicht mit SilveredRoan oder Frosted verwechselt werden. Silvermane / D'Argent darf nur in den Farben Schwarz, Chocolate, Mink und Russian Blue ausgestellt werden. Bewertung: Silberne Haarspitzen 15, Unterfarbe 15, Fellstruktur 10, Gleichmäßigkeit der weißen Haarspitzen 5, Gesichstmaske 5, Fehler: Fellwechsel, fleckiges, ungleichmäßiges oder nicht genug Silvering, zu viel Unterfarbe, die durchscheint.

Abbildung: Black Silvermane Baby im Alter von 5 Tagen. Die Silvermane-Maske ist bereits deutlich zu erkennen

Abbildung: Im Vergleich dazu Ratte Janosch, der erst im Alter von über 6 Wochen die Silvermane-Schattierung gezeigt hat

Abbildung: Black Silvermane

Abbildung: Black Silvermane

Abbildung: Blacvk Silvermane

Abbildung: Black Silvermane

Image

Abbildung: Cinnamon Pearl Silvermane (Exotic Whiskers Rattery)

Image

Abbildung: Cinnamon Pearl Silvermane (Exotic Whiskers Rattery)

Image

Abbildung: Burmese Silvermane Jungtier

Image

Abbildung: Russian Blue Burmese Silvermane Jungtier