Siamese Sable / Tonkinese - the Shades of the Rat

Kathrin Guttmann Shades / Shade, Knowledge, Breeding & Genetic

When considering the Shades Siamese Sable / Tonkinese (oder Tonkanese) must be respected, that there are two origins for rats with very similar phenotype. First, there are Siamese Sable US origin, on the other, those with South African origin. Meanwhile, it is assumed, that these groups have different mutations underlie, So that different allele, Possibly. even different loci are involved. In addition, in Europe very dark Siamese are always delivered as Siamese Sable, but which is sometimes unclear, whether it is the US or the South African variant or there are just very dark Siamese. For the construction of a line, it is important, to know the background of the animals, especially since a mixture of US animals African animals likely to be crowned due to the different genetic basis not of success.

US Siamese Sable

The origin of the US Siamese Sable is located in Texas. There, the first animals were having this feature 2015 found in the stock of fodder Livestock one Zooladens. Meanwhile Siames Sable is performed at the American Fancy Rat and Mouse Association in the group unstandardisierter variants. The animals can in AOCP class (any other color pattern - Combination of two or more colors other than white) to be shown.

The body should be light brown similar to a Burmese rat. The shading should be smooth run and over the saddle and the rear part to the belly darkest at the base of the tail. The tail color is to be run through to the end. The abdomen should be light brown. Die Points (dark markings on nose, ears, feet, Tail and tail) should be very dark brown like a Seal Point Siamese. The eye color is light ruby. The color is similar to a Siamese Sable (marten color) rabbit.

Heterozygous and homozygous Sable Siamese differ from each other. Homozygous animals are drawn extremely dark and see in combination with the black eye allele as Sable Burmese animals. The heterozygous variant corresponds to the Show Type.

Regarding the genetic background there are two possible explanations. There may be an allele, that is at the C locus and is recessive to wild-type as well as co-dominant compared to other alleles. A further possibility would be, that the Siamese is Sable feature as the Burmese allele at another locus than the C locus and interacts with this. As with Burmese different allele combinations would then run on the C locus to various forms of Siamese Sable. Currently, however, the first explanation is assumed to be more likely, in which case, the Siamese-Sable allele with c(t) short for Coloration Tonkinese.

Image

Illustration: Homozygotes Siamese Sable (Those: Atlantis Rattery)

Image

Illustration: Homozygotes Siamese Sable (Those: Atlantis Rattery)

Image

Illustration: Heterozygotes Siamese Sable (Those: Atlantis Rattery)

South African Siamese Sable

South African Siamese Sable see the US very similar. They are very common in South Africa and are often sold in pet stores. Seal Point Siamese Sable Babies (homozygot) brown-gray and have very dark red eyes. Burmese babies see them very similar, but compared little brownish and have black eyes. The Points of the South African Siamese Sable variant should be darker than the US version. Heterozygous animals are called Sable Himalayan and be born in a lighter brown-gray (Combrink, 20071)Combrink, J. (2007), Clolour variations within rat mutations, The South African Rat Club. The Siamese Sable from South Africa it is apparently common, that animals aged be stained, However, this may also occur in normal Siamese and there is no clear indication of Sable Siamese.

References   [ + ]

1. Combrink, J. (2007), Clolour variations within rat mutations, The South African Rat Club

Siamese Sable / Tonkinese - die Shades der Ratte

Kathrin Guttmann Schattierung / Shade, Wissen, Zucht & Genetik

Bei der Betrachtung des Shades Siamese Sable/Tonkinese (oder Tonkanese) muss beachtet werden, dass es zwei Ursprünge für Ratten mit sehr ähnlichem Phänotyp gibt. Zum einen gibt es Siamese Sable US-amerikanischer Herkunft, zum anderen solche mit südafrikanischem Ursprung. INzwischen wird davon ausgegangen, dass diesen Gruppen unterschiedliche Mutation zu Grunde liegen, dass also verschiedene Allel, evtl. sogar unterschiedliche Genorte beteiligt sind. Zudem werden in Europa immer wieder sehr dunkle Siamese als Siamese Sable abgegeben, wobei aber manchmal unklar ist, ob es sich um die US-amerikanische oder die südafrikanische Variante handelt oder es einfach sehr dunkle Siamese sind. Für den Aufbau einer Linie ist es wichtig, den Hintergrund der Tiere zu kennen, zumal eine Mischung von US-Tieren mit Afrika-Tieren wahrscheinlich aufgrund der unterschiedlichen genetischen Basis nicht von Erfolg gekrönt sein wird.

US-amerikanische Siamese Sable

Der Ursprung der US-amerikanischen Siamese Sable liegt in Texas. Dort wurden die ersten Tiere mit diesem Merkmal 2015 im Bestand der Futtertierzucht eines Zooladens gefunden. Inzwischen wird Siames Sable bei der American Fancy Rat and Mouse Association in der Gruppe unstandardisierter Varianten geführt. Die Tiere können in der AOCP-Klasse (any other color pattern - Kombination von zwei oder mehr Farben außer Weiß) gezeigt werden.

Der Körper solle hellbraun sein ähnlich einer Burmese Ratte. Die Schattierung sollte gleichmäßig über den Sattel und das Hinterteil bis zum Bauch verlaufen und an der Schwanzbasis am dunkelsten sein. Die Schwanzfarbe soll sich bis zum Ende durchziehen. Der Bauch sollte hellbraun sein. Die Points (dunkle Abzeichen an Nase, Ohren, Füßen, Schwanz und Schwanzansatz) sollten sehr dunkel braun sein wie bei einem Seal Point Siamese. Die Augenfarbe ist hellrubin. Die Farbe ist vergleichbar mit einem Sable Siamese (marderfarbig) Kaninchen.

Heterozygot und homozygote Sable Siamese unterscheiden sich von einander. Homozygote Tiere sind extrem dunkel gezeichnet und sehen in Kombination mit dem Black-Eye-Allel wie Sable Burmese Tiere aus. Die heterozygote Variante entspricht dem Showtyp.

Bezüglich dem genetischen Hintergrund gibt es zwei mögliche Erklärungen. Es kann sich um ein Allel handeln, dass auf dem C-Lokus liegt und rezessiv gegenüber der Wildform sowie kodominant gegenüber anderen Allelen ist. Eine weiter Möglichkeit wäre, dass das Siamese Sable Merkmal wie das Burmese-Allel auf einem anderen Lokus als dem C-Lokus liegt und mit diesem interagiert. Wie bei Burmese würden dann verschiedene Allelkombinationen auf dem C-Lokus zu unterschiedlichen Ausprägungen von Siamese Sable führen. Momentan wird allerdings die erste Erklärung als wahrscheinlicher angenommen, in dem Fall wird das Siamese-Sable-Allel mit c(t) für Coloration Tonkinese abgekürzt.

Image

Abbildung: Homozygotes Siamese Sable (Quelle: Atlantis Rattery)

Image

Abbildung: Homozygotes Siamese Sable (Quelle: Atlantis Rattery)

Image

Abbildung: Heterozygotes Siamese Sable (Quelle: Atlantis Rattery)

Südafrikanisches Siamese Sable

Südafrikanische Siamese Sable sehen den US-amerikanischen sehr ähnlich. Sie sind sehr verbreitet in Südafrika und werden oft auch in Zooläden verkauft. Seal Point Siamese Sable Babies (homozygot) sind braun-grau und haben sehr dunkel rote Augen. Burmese Babies sehen ihnen sehr ähnlich, sind aber im Vergleich etwas bräunlicher und haben schwarze Augen. Die Points der südafrikanischen Siamese Sable Variante sollen dunkler sein als die der US-amerikanischen Variante. Heterozygote Tiere werden als Sable Himalayan bezeichnet und werden in einem helleren braun-grau geboren (Combrink, 20071)Combrink, J. (2007), Clolour variations within rat mutations, The South African Rat Club. Bei den Siamese Sable aus Südafrika ist es anscheinend verbreiteter, dass die Tiere im Alter fleckig werden, allerdings kann dies auch bei normalen Siamese vorkommen und ist kein eindeutiger Hinweis auf Sable Siamese.

References   [ + ]

1.Combrink, J. (2007), Clolour variations within rat mutations, The South African Rat Club