Siamese and Himalayan - the Shades of the Rat

Kathrin Guttmann Shades / Shade, Knowledge, Breeding & Genetic

Already 1973 Moutier et al.1) R. MOUTIER, K. TOYAMA & M. F. CHARRIER (1973) , Himalayan allele at the albino locus in the Norway rat, Journal of Heredity, Volume 64, Issue 5, 1 September 1973, Pages 303–304 the occurrence of Himalayan mutation on the C-locus in a laboratory stock of fat rats.

The selective breeding of lovers Siam pet rats had 1978 Their origin. In September this year, Roy Robinson could, genetic advisor NFRS, three pairs or from a laboratory in Orly. Orleans (Various sources report different places) import. He was supported by a laboratory in Charshalton, where the animals were first housed. To finance the project, were options on offspring to ever 5 pounds sold, so that the first offspring from the laboratory just before Christmas 1978 went to members of NFRS.

At the time, however, the animals looked not like this, as we know Siam rats today. Rather, they resembled Hooded Silver Fawns with a distinct orange color and only slightly darker noses. From there it was still a long way to the typical Siamese rats of today and many of the breeders, the animals had received from the original litter, presented their efforts soon fell. By a cross with a Black Berkshire rat Hooded-drawing could be removed and the reddish color disappeared. However, the cross-breeding of Berkshire could not eliminate all the problems in the line, because it initially failed, to eliminate the white paws and tail tips. Using strict selection and the repeated crossbreeding excellent Black Self succeeded, Finally, to get the white markings on the toes and tails in the handle and extend the dark areas. 1983 eventually won two of Siam (Dusky Surprise und Dusky Princess) the first (Best in Show) and second prize (Runner up) in der Bradford Small Livestock Show. 1984 then became a born Bock, who finally had the darker belly, the one so much sought. In the US, the first eight Siam rats came from an import in 1983. Am 31.03.1984 they were shown for the first time at a show AFRMA, already in the next show on 19.05.1984 won a Siam Rat the prize for Best in Show (Sumi Mary Macdonald).

Image

Russian Blue Point Siam

The standard of Siam- and Himalayan rat

and in this / Himalaya is a Shade (Shades), which can theoretically occur in any color. However, attempts, to draw so-called Flame Point Siamese-based Topaz, so far been unsuccessful, since the points are so diluted, that the animals appear like Pink Eyed White.

The standard of Siam Rat

The AFRMA 2)AFRMA (2017).AFRMA Official Color Standards Book Rat. describes the body color as the mean Beige, which is gradually and evenly shaded over the saddle and lower back up to the belly. Darkest color at the base of the tail should be. White or light marks on the body, feet or tail are not allowed. The abdomen should be light beige. The points will be dark sepia at Seal Point Siamese from and smoothly into the body color. At Blue Point Siamese based on Russian Blue, the body should be elfenbeifarben with a uniform blue shading over the saddle and the rear part. The points will be of a medium slate gray. The standard of NFRS corresponds to the extensive. In the German standard of color rat is given as a reason Ivory. "Discontinued to head- and tail and runs, the color changes to a dark chocolate brown. The chocolate brown should ideally by the end of the hip, facial, in the middle between the front and ear, be clearly visible on your feet no later than the end of the ankle. Points must be vorhabnden on all four legs without much white to toe. The ears should also have this dark coloring. " 3)Noack, J.S., & Flechsig, S. (2012). The German standard of color rat. Friedrich Born-Verlag.

The standard of the Himalayan Rat

Simply put, a Himalayan rat optically corresponds to a Siamese rat with less pronounced Points. the AFRMA4)AFRMA (2017).AFRMA Official Color Standards Book Rat. Or http://www.afrma.org/rataocp.htm According to the body color should be white, expel without spot. The points will be of a dark sepia tone. They should not extend further than: 1. In the face: not on the eyes, 2. The ears: not below the base, 3. On the front legs: not on the elbow, 4. On the hind legs: not on the ankles, 5. the tail: no more than halfway up the fuselage, 6. On the feet: uniform color with no white in. This also corresponds to the description of the NFRS5)https://www.nfrs.org/varieties_shaded.html. In the German Stasndard the color Rat6)Noack, J.S., & Flechsig, S. (2012). The German standard of color rat. Friedrich Born-Verlag is the standard for Seal Point Himalayan the for Seal Point Siamese.

Image

Himalaya

Image

Himalaya

Akromelanismus

The characteristic staining of Siamratte is caused by a mechanism, the acromelanism or Kälteschwärzung called. Here, the cooler body parts of animals color, he knows z.B. face, Legs and tail, dark in an otherwise bright body. This is a partial albinism, oculocutaneous albinism type specifically a 1, and not a form of melanism, as the name suggests, by a heat-sensitive tyrosinase less or no pigment is formed on the warmer parts of the body.

The genetics of Siam - and Himalayan rat

the allele, that the Siamfärbung triggers, is located on the so-called C-Locus. The abbreviation "C" stands for Colouration gene and the same gene locus is e.g.. also for them Siamfärbung and Siam- and Thai cats responsible. In some places it is also reported, that the designation C-locus stems from, that here the allele for Chinchilla staining is, but this is not the case. We now know, that for two other loci are responsible. The Siam- or. Himalaya coloration-causing allele is c(h) (For Colouration gene type Himalayas) designated.

Kuramoto et al. showed in an extensive study of pet rats mutations in 20107)Kuramoto T1, Yokoe M, Yagasaki K, Kawaguchi T, The mafuji K, Serikawa T. (2010), Genetic analyses of fancy rat-derived mutations, Exp Anim. 2010;59(2):147-55, that the Siamese-Mutation on chromosome 1 section 140.6-145.5 lies, the candidate gene is the tyrosinase gene Tyr.

On the C locus alleles can be the following:

  • C - Non-Albino bzw. Wild form (dominant)
  • c – Albinismus, Albino (recessive to C, intermediately in c(h))
  • c(h) - Akromelanismus, Himalaya (recessive to C, intermediately in c)
  • c(m) - Marten or. Devil, more on this in the article "The inheritance of the Devil-(Marten-)Allels

When considering C, c and c(h) results in the following combinations with the corresponding phenotypes:

  • C- (also CC, Cc, Cc(h))- Non-Albino, Wild form
  • cc - Albino
  • cc(h) – Himalaya
  • c(h)c(h) – Siam

With a Seal Point Siamese rat the non-agouti are(Black)-Allele on the a-locus and the Himalaya allele at the c-locus before each homozygous, further dilutions are not present. therefore it has the genetic code aa B- M- D- Rb- M- c(h)c(h) P- R- etc. Blue Point Siamese applies analogously aa B- M- D- rbrb M- c(h)c(h) P- R- etc. The same applies for aa Himalaya B- M- D- Rb- M- cc(h) P- R- etc. or. aa B- M- D- rbrb M- cc(h) P- R- etc. The basic eye color in albinos, Siamese and Himalayan Pink is. In addition, the UK black eyed allele can provide in a homozygous form for, that nevertheless dye is formed in the eyes and making them appear black.

Image

Seal Point Siam

The breeding of Siam rats

In breeding of Siam rats the challenge to one is, to achieve as dark as possible Points, to get to the other is as complete as possible dark colored feet without white spots or toes. It is recommended, repeatedly introgress excellent Black elf and work with black-based albinos.

Image
Black Eyed Seal Point Siam

The exhibition of Siam rats

For a show's apparently mainly males, the stronger Points trained as a female. It is also recommended, to keep the animals cool as possible before the exhibition, as low temperatures favor the formation of Points.

Image
Black Eyed Seal Point Siam

variants

In the history of Siamese breed has always been of particularly high importance, to obtain animals, have no white markings. Of course, however, some breeders have their Siam or. Himalayas with the drawn animals such as e.g.. Berkshires or Variegated mated. Products resulting on animals are sometimes offered under the fancy names Triamesen.

References   [ + ]

1. R. MOUTIER, K. TOYAMA & M. F. CHARRIER (1973) , Himalayan allele at the albino locus in the Norway rat, Journal of Heredity, Volume 64, Issue 5, 1 September 1973, Pages 303–304
2. AFRMA (2017).AFRMA Official Color Standards Book Rat.
3, 6. Noack, J.S., & Flechsig, S. (2012). The German standard of color rat. Friedrich Born-Verlag
4. AFRMA (2017).AFRMA Official Color Standards Book Rat. Or http://www.afrma.org/rataocp.htm
5. https://www.nfrs.org/varieties_shaded.html
7. Kuramoto T1, Yokoe M, Yagasaki K, Kawaguchi T, The mafuji K, Serikawa T. (2010), Genetic analyses of fancy rat-derived mutations, Exp Anim. 2010;59(2):147-55

Siam und Himalaya - die Shades der Ratte

Kathrin Guttmann Schattierung / Shade, Wissen, Zucht & Genetik

Bereits 1973 Moutier et al.1) R. MOUTIER, K. TOYAMA & M. F. CHARRIER (1973) , Himalayan allele at the albino locus in the Norway rat, Journal of Heredity, Volume 64, Issue 5, 1 September 1973, Pages 303–304 das Auftreten einer Himalaya-Mutation auf dem C-Lokus in einem Laborbestand von fat-Ratten.

Die gezielte Liebhaberzucht von Siam-Farbratten hatte 1978 ihren Ursprung. Im September dieses Jahres konnte Roy Robinson, genetischer Berater der NFRS, drei Paare aus einem Labor in Orly bzw. Orleans (verschiedene Quellen geben unterschiedliche Orte an) importieren. Unterstützt wurde er dabei durch ein Labor in Charshalton, wo die Tiere zunächst untergebracht wurden. Um das Vorhaben zu finanzieren, wurden Optionen auf Nachzuchten zu je 5 Pfund verkauft, so dass die ersten Nachzuchten aus dem Labor kurz vor Weihnachten 1978 an Mitglieder der NFRS gingen.

Zu dem Zeitpunkt sahen die Tiere allerdings noch nicht so aus, wie wir heute Siam-Ratten kennen. Vielmehr ähnelten sie Hooded Silver Fawns mit einem deutlichen Orangeton und nur ganz leicht dunkleren Nasen. Von da war es noch ein langer Weg zu dem typischen Siam-Ratten von heute und viele der Züchter, die Tiere aus dem Ursprungswurf erhalten hatten, stellten ihre Bemühungen bald ein. Durch eine Kreuzung mit einer Black Berkshire Ratte konnte die Hooded-Zeichnung entfernt werden und auch der rötliche Farbton verschwand. Die Einkreuzung von Berkshire konnte allerdings nicht alle Problem in der Linie beseitigen, denn es gelang zunächst nicht, die weißen Pfoten und Schwanzspitzen zu eliminieren. Mit Hilfe von strenger Selektion und dem wiederholten Einkreuzen sehr guter Black Self gelang es, die weißen Abzeichen an Zehen und Schwänzen schließlich in Griff zu bekommen und die dunklen Bereiche auszudehnen. 1983 gewannen schließlich zwei Siams (Dusky Surprise und Dusky Princess) den ersten (Best in Show) und zweiten Preis (Runner up) in der Bradford Small Livestock Show. 1984 wurde dann ein Bock geboren, der endlich den dunkleren Bauch hatte, den man so sehr anstrebte. In die USA kamen die ersten acht Siam-Ratten durch einen Import im Jahr 1983. Am 31.03.1984 wurden sie zum ersten Mal bei einer AFRMA-Show gezeigt, bereits in der nächsten Show am 19.05.1984 gewann eine Siam-Ratte den Preis für Best in Show (Sumi von Mary Macdonald).

Image

Russian Blue Point Siam

Der Standard der Siam- und Himalaya-Ratte

Bei Siam / Himalaya handelt es sich um einen Shade (Schattierung), die theoretisch auf jeder Farbe auftreten kann. Allerdings sind Versuche, sogenannte Flame Point Siamese auf Basis von Topaz zu ziehen, bisher erfolglos gewesen, da die Points so stark verdünnt sind, dass die Tiere wie Pink-Eyed-White erscheinen.

Der Standard der Siam-Ratte

Die AFRMA 2)AFRMA (2017).AFRMA Official Color Standards Book Rat. beschreibt die Körperfarbe als mittleres Beige, das stufenweise und gleichmäßig schattiert ist über den Sattel und den unteren Rücken bis zum Bauch. Am dunkelsten soll die Farbe an der Basis des Schwanzes sein. Weiße oder helle Stellen am Körper, den Füßen oder am Schwanz sind nicht erlaubt. Der Bauch sollte hellbeige sein. Die Points sollen bei Seal Point Siamese von dunkel sepiafarben sein und sanft in die Körperfarbe übergehen. Bei Blue Point Siamese auf Basis von Russisch Blaue soll der Körper elfenbeifarben sein mit einer gleichmäßigen blauen Schattierung über den Sattel und das Hinterteil. Die Points sollen von einem mittleren Schiefergrau sein. Der Standard der NFRS entspricht dem weitgehenden. Im deutschen Standard der Farbratte ist als Grundfarbe Elfenbein angegeben. „Auslaufend zu Kopf- und Schwanzansatz und den Läufen geht die Farbe in ein dunkles Schokobraun über. Das Schokobraun sollte im Idealfall ab Ende der Hüfte, im Gesichtsbereich, in der Mitte zwischen Stirn und Ohren, an den Füßen spätestens ab Ende des Fussgelenks deutlich erkennbar werden. Points müssen an allen vier Läufen ohne Weißanteil bis zu den Zehen vorhabnden sein. Die Ohren sollten ebenfalls diese dunkle Färbung aufweisen.“ 3)Noack, J.S., & Flechsig, S. (2012). Der deutsche Standard der Farbratte. Friedrichsborn-Verlag.

Der Standard der Himalya-Ratte

Einfach ausgedrückt entspricht eine Himalaya-Ratte optisch einer Siam-Ratte mit weniger ausgeprägten Points. Der AFRMA4)AFRMA (2017).AFRMA Official Color Standards Book Rat. Oder http://www.afrma.org/rataocp.htm zufolge soll die Körperfarbe weiß sein, ohne Flecken auszuweisen. Die Points sollen von einem dunklen Sepiaton sein. Dabei sollen sie nicht weiter reichen als: 1. Im Gesicht: nicht über die Augen, 2. An den Ohren: nicht unterhalb der Basis, 3. An den Vorderbeine: nicht über die Ellenbogen, 4. An den Hinterbeinen: nicht über die Fußgelenke, 5. Am Schwanz: nicht mehr als bis zur Hälfte des Rumpfes, 6. An den Füßen: einheitliche Farbe ohne Weißanteile. Dies entspricht auch der Beschreibung der NFRS5)https://www.nfrs.org/varieties_shaded.html. Im deutschen Stasndard der Farbratte6)Noack, J.S., & Flechsig, S. (2012). Der deutsche Standard der Farbratte. Friedrichsborn-Verlag entspricht der Standard für Seal Point Himalaya dem für Seal Point Siamese.

Image

Himalaya

Image

Himalaya

Akromelanismus

Die charakteristische Färbung der Siamratte wird durch einen Mechanismus verursacht, der Akromelanismus oder Kälteschwärzung genannt wird. Dabei färben sich die kühleren Körperteile eines Tiere, wie z.B. Gesicht, Beine und Schwanz, bei einem ansonsten hellen Körper dunkel. Hierbei handelt es sich um eine teilweisen Albinismus, genauer einen okulokutanen Albinismus Typ 1, und nicht etwa um eine Form des Melanismus, wie der Name vermuten lässt, durch eine wärmeempfindliche Tyrosinase wird an den wärmeren Körperteilen weniger oder gar kein Pigment gebildet.

Die Genetik der Siam – und Himalaya-Ratte

Das Allel, dass die Siamfärbung auslöst, liegt auf dem sogenannten C-Locus. Das Kürzel „C“ steht für Colouration Gen und derselbe Genort ist z.B. auch für die Siamfärbung bei Siam- und Thaikatzen zuständig. An einigen Stellen wird auch berichtet, dass die Bezeichnung C-Lokus daher rührt, dass hier das Allel für Chinchillafärbung liegt, dies ist aber nicht der Fall. Inzwischen weiß man, dass dafür zwei andere Genorte verantwortlich sind. Das die Siam- bzw. Himalayafärbung auslösende Allel wird mit c(h) (Für Colouration Gen Typ Himalaya) bezeichnet.

Kuramoto et al. zeigten in einer umfangreichen Untersuchung von Farbratten-Mutationen in 20107)Kuramoto T1, Yokoe M, Yagasaki K, Kawaguchi T, Kumafuji K, Serikawa T. (2010), Genetic analyses of fancy rat-derived mutations, Exp Anim. 2010;59(2):147-55, dass die Siamese-Mutation auf Chromosom 1 im Abschnitt 140.6-145.5 liegt, das Kandidaten-Gen ist das Tyrosinase-Gen Tyr.

Auf dem C-Lokus können die folgenden Allele liegen:

  • C – Non-Albino bzw. Wildform (dominant)
  • c – Albinismus, Albino (rezessiv gegenüber C, intermediär zu c(h))
  • c(h) – Akromelanismus, Himalaya (rezessiv gegenüber C, intermediär zu c)
  • c(m) – Marten bzw. Devil, mehr hierzu im Artikel „Die Vererbung des Devil-(Marten-)Allels

Bei der Betrachtung von C, c und c(h) ergeben sich folgende Kombinationen mit den entsprechenden Phänotypen:

  • C- (also CC, Cc, Cc(h))– Non-Albino, Wildform
  • cc – Albino
  • cc(h) – Himalaya
  • c(h)c(h) – Siam

Bei einer Seal Point Siamese Ratte liegen das Non-Agouti(Black)-Allel auf dem a-Lokus und das Himalaya-Allel auf dem c-Lokus jeweils homozygot vor, weitere Verdünnungen sind nicht vorhanden. Sie hat demnach den genetischen Code aa B- M- D- Rb- M- c(h)c(h) P- R- usw. Für Blue Point Siamese gilt analog aa B- M- D- rbrb M- c(h)c(h) P- R- usw. Analog gilt für Himalaya aa B- M- D- Rb- M- cc(h) P- R- usw. bzw. aa B- M- D- rbrb M- cc(h) P- R- usw. Die Grundaugenfarbe bei Albinos, Siam und Himalaya ist Pink. Zusätzlich kann das UK black Eyed Allel in homozygoter Form dafür sorgen, dass doch Farbstoff in den Augen gebildet wird und diese schwarz erscheinen.

Image

Seal Point Siam

Die Zucht von Siam-Ratten

Bei Zucht von Siam-Ratten besteht die Herausforderung zum einen darin, möglichst dunkle Points zu erzielen, zum anderen darin möglichst vollständig dunkel gefärbte Füße zu erhalten ohne weiße Flecken oder Zehenspitzen. Es wird empfohlen, immer wieder hervorragende Black Selfs einzukreuzen und mit schwarzbasierten Albinos zu arbeiten.

Image
Black Eyed Seal Point Siam

Die Ausstellung von Siam-Ratten

Für eine Show eigenen sich anscheinend vor allem männliche Tiere, die stärkere Points ausbilden als weibliche. Darüber hinaus wird empfohlen, die Tiere vor der Ausstellung möglichst kühl zu halten, da niedrige Temperaturen die Ausbildung der Points begünstigen.

Image
Black Eyed Seal Point Siam

Varianten

In der Geschichte der Siamzucht war es immer von besonders hoher Bedeutung, Tiere zu erhalten, die keine weißen Abzeichen haben. Selbstverständlich haben dennoch einige Züchter ihre Siams bzw. Himalayas mit gezeichneten Tieren wie z.B. Berkshires oder Variegated verpaart. Die darauf hervorgehenden Tiere werden manchmal unter dem Fantasienamen Triamesen angeboten.

References   [ + ]

1. R. MOUTIER, K. TOYAMA & M. F. CHARRIER (1973) , Himalayan allele at the albino locus in the Norway rat, Journal of Heredity, Volume 64, Issue 5, 1 September 1973, Pages 303–304
2. AFRMA (2017).AFRMA Official Color Standards Book Rat.
3, 6. Noack, J.S., & Flechsig, S. (2012). Der deutsche Standard der Farbratte. Friedrichsborn-Verlag
4. AFRMA (2017).AFRMA Official Color Standards Book Rat. Oder http://www.afrma.org/rataocp.htm
5. https://www.nfrs.org/varieties_shaded.html
7. Kuramoto T1, Yokoe M, Yagasaki K, Kawaguchi T, Kumafuji K, Serikawa T. (2010), Genetic analyses of fancy rat-derived mutations, Exp Anim. 2010;59(2):147-55