felina, Russian Blue Farbratte

Russian Blue / Russian Blue - the colors of the Rat

Kathrin Guttmann Colors, Knowledge, Breeding & Genetic

Already 1929 describes Roberts 1)Roberts, E. (1929), A BLUE MUTATION IN THE RAT (MUS NORVEGICUS), Science 04 Oct 1929: Vol. 70, Issue 1814, pp. 334 blue rats in a laboratory stock. He described the color as similar to the color blue mice, rabbit, cats and dogs, suggesting, that it has already acted to this russian blue animals. 1934 to find and Curtis Dunning 2)AN INDEPENDENT RECURRENCE OF THE BLUE MUTATION IN THE NORWAY RAT: And a Blue-Black Mosaic, Journal of Heredity, Volume 31, Issue 5, 1 May 1940, Pages 219–222 to result again blue rats, genetically with the 1929 discovered animals are identical.

In the Liebhaberzüchterei Blue Rats are Russian still relatively new. The first russchisch blue rats 1993 discovered by Gari Hauser and go back to the rat population by Karla Barber. Geri bought a trio of Karla and when he bred rats, fell in the pitch dark gray Babies, that looked different from the blue rats, you knew so far. The color matched that of blue mice, Cats or dogs, so that one could accept, that they were the same mutation, already Roberts and Curtis & have described Dunning. The color of significantly different from the previously known British or. American Blue Tieren. The first Russian Blue rat was on 25.09.1994 issued in the non-standardized class of AFRMA and on 27.01.1996 Finally, if the standardization.

Image

The standard for Russian Blue / Russian Blue in pet rats

The Russian AFRMA describes Blue / Russian Blue as "similar to blue mice or cats, a very dark gray with a dark shale ticking. The eyes are black ". The NFRS describes the color as "soft medium-gray-blue with a metallic sheen. Paleness, light speckles or a light ticking (Heathering) is used and no error. The color should be uniform, match the color of the abdomen to the top. The undercoat should be through dark blue to the skin […] The eyes are black. "Following the German standard of color rat should be the color" a medium to be dark gray, which shines metallic […] The coloration on the back and belly is uniform, the color being slightly brownish towards the belly. The undercoat is also gray blue ". A clear Silvering is regarded as an error.

Image

The genetics of Russian Blue / Russian Blue Rat

Russian Blue is a recessive allele, this means, a Russian blue rat must homozygous (reinerbig) be for the Russian Blue Allel. The locus is in German with rb (for Russian Blue) or. Rb (for non-Russian-Blue / Wild form) abbreviated. Confusing manner, or the same locus in the English-speaking world with d. D abbreviated, which in turn in Germany for English Blue / English blue is used. It is therefore advisable, asking exactly in doubt again, what kind is meant by Blue. Also needs a Russian Blue Rat be homozygous for the non-Agouti-(„Black“)-Allele at the locus and, d.h. it must be genetically aa rbrb. In addition to all the other dilution effect, of course, the color Russian Blue out, so that Russian Blue den Gencode aa B- M- D- rbrb M- C- P- R- etc. must have, So there must be the dominant allele of the wild type for all other dilutions.

Kuramoto et al. examined in a comprehensive study different color mutation of pet rats in hobby breeder holdings in 20103)Kuramoto T1, Yokoe M, Yagasaki K, Kawaguchi T, The mafuji K, Serikawa T. (2010), Genetic analyses of fancy rat-derived mutations, Exp Anim. 2010;59(2):147-55. Under these mutation was also represented, which they called Gray (Degree) and designated by the assumptions they, that it could be either Russian Blues of the East Coast. The corresponding locus of simply inheriting recessive Gray allele on chromosome 8 section 57.3-95.2 Mb. The candidate gene is RB27AB, a member of the RAS oncogene family (Rab27a) und Myosin VA (Myo5a)4)Kuramoto T1, Yokoe M, Yagasaki K, Kawaguchi T, The mafuji K, Serikawa T. (2010), Genetic analyses of fancy rat-derived mutations, Exp Anim. 2010;59(2):147-55.

In the German standard of color rat is reported next to the locus for Russian blue nor a locus graphite. phenotypically Blue by Russian rats should be distinguishable for the recessive allele gr homozygous animals. you Verpaar however, a Russian Blue Rat, which no graphite wears, with a graphite rat, which carries no Russian blue, the result is black babies (as long look no further dilutions or agouti). An international source, which would confirm the presence of a graphite locus, I could not find but so far.

Image

References   [ + ]

1. Roberts, E. (1929), A BLUE MUTATION IN THE RAT (MUS NORVEGICUS), Science 04 Oct 1929: Vol. 70, Issue 1814, pp. 334
2. AN INDEPENDENT RECURRENCE OF THE BLUE MUTATION IN THE NORWAY RAT: And a Blue-Black Mosaic, Journal of Heredity, Volume 31, Issue 5, 1 May 1940, Pages 219–222
3, 4. Kuramoto T1, Yokoe M, Yagasaki K, Kawaguchi T, The mafuji K, Serikawa T. (2010), Genetic analyses of fancy rat-derived mutations, Exp Anim. 2010;59(2):147-55

Felina, Russian Blue Farbratte

Russisch Blau / Russian Blue - die Farben der Ratte

Kathrin Guttmann Farben, Wissen, Zucht & Genetik

Bereits 1929 beschreibt Roberts 1)Roberts, E. (1929), A BLUE MUTATION IN THE RAT (MUS NORVEGICUS), Science 04 Oct 1929: Vol. 70, Issue 1814, pp. 334 blaue Ratten in einem Laborbestand. Er beschrieb die Farbe als ähnlich der Farbe blauer Mäuse, Kaninchen, Katzen und Hunde, was vermuten lässt, dass es sich hierbei bereits um russisch blaue Tiere gehandelt hat. 1934 finden sich Curtis und Dunning 2)AN INDEPENDENT RECURRENCE OF THE BLUE MUTATION IN THE NORWAY RAT: And a Blue-Black Mosaic, Journal of Heredity, Volume 31, Issue 5, 1 May 1940, Pages 219–222 zu Folge erneut blaue Ratten, die genetisch mit den 1929 entdeckten Tieren identisch sind.

In der Liebhaberzüchterei sind Russisch Blaue Ratten noch relativ neu. Die ersten russchisch blauen Ratten wurden 1993 von Gari Hauser entdeckt und gehen auf den Rattenbestand von Karla Barber zurück. Geri kaufte ein Trio von Karla und als er die Ratten verpaarte, fielen im Wurf dunkelgraue Babies, die anders aussahen als die blauen Ratten, die man bisher kannte. Die Farbe entsprach der von blauen Mäusen, Katzen oder Hunden, so dass man annehmen konnte, dass es sich um dieselbe Mutation handelte, die bereits Roberts sowie Curtis & Dunning beschrieben haben. Dabei unterschied sich die Farbe deutlich von den bisher bekannten British bzw. American Blue Tieren. Die erste Russian Blue Ratte wurde am 25.09.1994 in der unstandardisierten Klasse der AFRMA ausgestellt und am 27.01.1996 erfolgt schließlich die Standardisierung.

Image

Der Standard für Russisch Blau / Russian Blue bei Farbratten

Die AFRMA beschreibt Russisch Blau / Russian Blue als „ähnlich wie blaue Mäuse oder Katzen, ein sehr dunkles Schiefergrau mit einem dunklen Ticking. Die Augen sind schwarz“. Die NFRS beschreibt die Farbe als „weiches Mittel-Grau-Blau mit einem metallischen Schimmer. Blasse, leichte Sprenkel oder ein leichtes Ticking (Heathering) ist verbreitet und kein Fehler. Die Farbe sollte gleichmäßig sein, die Farbe des Bauches zur Oberseite passen. Das Unterfell sollte bis zur Haut hin dunkelblau sein […] Die Augen sind schwarz.“ Dem Deutsche Standard der Farbratte folgend sollte die Farbe „ein mittleres bis dunkles Grau sein, welches metallisch schimmert […] Die Färbung an Rücken und Bauch ist einheitlich, wobei zum Bauch hin die Farbe etwas bräunlicher wird. Das Unterfell ist ebenfalls graublau“. Ein deutliches Silvering wird als Fehler angesehen.

Image

Die Genetik der Russian Blue / Russisch Blau Ratte

Russisch Blau ist ein rezessive Allel, das heißt, eine russisch blaue Ratte muss homozygot (reinerbig) sein für das Russian Blue Allel. Der Genort wird im Deutschen mit rb (für Russian Blue) bzw. Rb (für Non-Russian-Blue / Wildform) abgekürzt. Verwirrender Weise wird derselbe Genort im englischsprachigen Raum mit d bzw. D abgekürzt, was wiederum in Deutschland für English Blue / Englisch Blau verwendet wird. Es empfiehlt sich also, im Zweifelsfall noch einmal genau nach zu fragen, welche Art von Blau gemeint ist. Zudem muss eine russische blaue Ratte reinerbig sein für das Non-Agouti-(„Black“)-Allel auf dem a-Locus, d.h. sie muss genetisch aa rbrb sein. Desweiteren wirken sich selbstverständlich auch alle anderen Verdünnung auf die Farbe Russian Blue aus, so dass eine Russian Blue den Gencode aa B- M- D- rbrb M- C- P- R- usw. aufweisen muss, also für alle anderen Verdünnungen das dominante Allel der Wildform vorliegen muss.

Kuramoto et al. untersuchten in einer umfangreichen Studie verschiedene Farbmutation von Farbratten in Hobbyzüchter-Beständen im Jahr 20103)Kuramoto T1, Yokoe M, Yagasaki K, Kawaguchi T, Kumafuji K, Serikawa T. (2010), Genetic analyses of fancy rat-derived mutations, Exp Anim. 2010;59(2):147-55. Unter diesen Mutation war auch eine vertreten, die sie als Grey (Grau) bezeichneten und von der sie annahmen, dass es sich um Russian Blues von der Ostküste der USA handeln könnte. Der entsprechende Lokus des sich einfach rezessiv vererbenden Grey-Allels liegt auf dem Chromosom 8 im Abschnitt 57.3-95.2 Mb. Das Kandidatengen ist RB27AB, ein Mitglied der RAS Onkogen-Familie (Rab27a) und Myosin VA (Myo5a)4)Kuramoto T1, Yokoe M, Yagasaki K, Kawaguchi T, Kumafuji K, Serikawa T. (2010), Genetic analyses of fancy rat-derived mutations, Exp Anim. 2010;59(2):147-55.

Im Deutschen Standard der Farbratte wird neben dem Genort für russisch Blau noch von einem Genort Graphit berichtet. Für das rezessive Allel gr reinerbige Tiere sollen phänotypisch nicht von Russian Blue Ratten unterscheidbar sein. Verpaar man allerdings eine Russian Blue Ratte, die kein Graphit trägt, mit einer Graphit Ratte, die kein Russian blue trägt, so erhält man schwarze Babies (so lange keine weiteren Verdünnungen oder Agouti wirken). Eine internationale Quelle, die das Vorliegen eines Graphit-Locus bestätigen würde, konnte ich allerdings bisher nicht finden.

Image

References   [ + ]

1. Roberts, E. (1929), A BLUE MUTATION IN THE RAT (MUS NORVEGICUS), Science 04 Oct 1929: Vol. 70, Issue 1814, pp. 334
2. AN INDEPENDENT RECURRENCE OF THE BLUE MUTATION IN THE NORWAY RAT: And a Blue-Black Mosaic, Journal of Heredity, Volume 31, Issue 5, 1 May 1940, Pages 219–222
3, 4. Kuramoto T1, Yokoe M, Yagasaki K, Kawaguchi T, Kumafuji K, Serikawa T. (2010), Genetic analyses of fancy rat-derived mutations, Exp Anim. 2010;59(2):147-55