Agouti Berkshire Rex rat horn

Rex und Double-(Double)Rex- Fell types of rat

Kathrin Guttmann Fur, Knowledge, Breeding & Genetic

Already in the 1930s, was reported by the first rats with curly fur (Hawthorn Rats). Meanwhile, several mutations have been identified, which lead to more or less curly fur: cU1 (Curly1), Cu2 (Curly2), Cw (Cowlick), Wv (Wavy), Kinky (kk), Shaggy, Re (Rex) . This article Rex allele should only be considered Re, because the locus in question is the only one, in the breeding of pet rats as pet has broad meaning, play a role while the other mutation, especially in laboratory stocks. In England, the first Rex rats were obtained from the geneticist Roy Robinson 1976 bred and incorporated in the standard of the National Fancy Rat Society.

The National Fancy Rat Society describes as follows Rex:

The coat should be uniform dense and not too hard, with so little guard hairs as possible. The coat should be uniform lured, on the belly a little less.

This standard was adopted by the American Fancy Rat and Mouse Association.

Rex rats usually show at birth compared to babies with standard fur corrugated Vibrissae. The first baby fur of Rex rats is usually strongly attracted. However, many lose in the first shedding at the age of 6-8 Week her curls and get a rather wavy fur. At the age Rexe then tend, that the coat is thinner.

Illustration: Agouti Rex

Double-(Double)Rex

In animals, are homozygous for the mutant allele Rex, reveals a different picture. These animals often have severe hair loss and their fur is extremely thin and full of holes.

Illustration: Double-Rex, Picture provided by Hidden Mysteries pet rats breeding, is a lover of animals

Genetics of Rex Rat

Die Rex (Re) Mutation is autosomal dominant and is located on chromosome 7. It causes curly fur in the heterozygous case Re re and hair loss in the homozygous case Re Re. Re re rats indicate extensions to the hair follicles and hair with an unevenly coated cuticle. In homozygous Re Re animals, the effect is more pronounced. The Rex mutation was as a 7-bp Delatation the splicing intron of Accepttor 1 des Keratin 71 (Krt71) gene identified, which lies in the critical for Re chromosome region and plays an important role in the formation of hair. The Deletation triggers a 6-amino acid in the α-frame Deletation in helical rod domain of the protein from KRT71 (Takashi Kuramoto et al. 20071)Takashi KURAMOTO, Ryuji HIRANO, Mitsuru KUWAMURA, Tadao SERIKAWA(2007) Identification of the Rat Rex Mutation as a 7-bp Deletion at Splicing Acceptor Site of the Krt71 Gene, Laboratory Animal Science)

References   [ + ]

1. Takashi KURAMOTO, Ryuji HIRANO, Mitsuru KUWAMURA, Tadao SERIKAWA(2007) Identification of the Rat Rex Mutation as a 7-bp Deletion at Splicing Acceptor Site of the Krt71 Gene, Laboratory Animal Science

Agouti Berkshire Rex Ratte Hupe

Rex und Double-(Doppel-)Rex- Felltypen der Ratte

Kathrin Guttmann Fell, Wissen, Zucht & Genetik

Bereits in den 1930ern wurde von den ersten Ratten mit gelocktem Fell berichtet (Hawthorn Rats). Inzwischen wurden verschiedene Mutationen identifiziert, die zu mehr oder weniger gelocktem Fell führen: Cu1 (Curly1), Cu2 (Curly2), Cw (Cowlick), Wv (Wavy), Kinky (kk),  Shaggy, Re (Rex) . In diesem Artikel soll ausschließlich das Rex-Allel Re betrachtet werden, da der betreffende Genort der einzige ist, der in der Zucht von Farbratten als Heimtier umfassende Bedeutung hat, während die anderen Mutation vor allem in Laborbeständen eine Rolle spielen. In England wurden die ersten Rex-Ratten von dem Genetiker Roy Robinson 1976 gezüchtet und von der National Fancy Rat Society in den Standard aufgenommen.

Die National Fancy Rat Society beschreibt Rex wie folgt:

Das Fell sollte gleichmäßig dicht und nicht zu hart sein, mit so wenig Deckhaaren wie möglich. Das Fell soll gleichmäßig gelockt sein, am Bauch etwas weniger.

Dieser Standard wurde von der American Fancy Rat and Mouse Association übernommen.

Rex Ratten zeigen meist bereits bei der Geburt im Vergleich zu Babies mit Standard-Fell gewellte Vibrissen. Das erste Baby-Fell der Rex-Ratten ist meist stark gelockt. Allerdings verlieren viele im ersten Fellwechsel im Alter von 6-8 Wochen ihre Locken und bekommen ein eher welliges Fell. Im Alter neigen Rexe dann dazu, dass das Fell dünner wird.

Abbildung: Agouti Rex

Double-(Doppel-)Rex

Bei Tieren, die reinerbig sind für das mutierte Rex-Allel, zeigt sich ein anderes Bild. Diese Tiere haben oft starken Haarverlust und ihr Fell ist extrem dünn und löchrig.

Abbildung: Double-Rex, Bild zur Verfügung gestellt von Hidden Mysteries Farbrattenzucht, es handelt sich um ein Liebhabertier

Genetik der Rex-Ratte

Die Rex (Re) Mutation ist autosomal dominant und liegt auf dem Chromosom 7. Sie verursacht gelocktes Fell im heterozygoten Fall Re re und Haarausfall im homozygoten Fall Re Re. Re re Ratten zeigen Erweiterungen am Haarfolikel und Haare mit einer ungleichmäßig ummantelten Cuticula. Bei reinerbigen Re Re Tieren ist der Effekt ausgeprägter. Die Rex Mutation wurde als 7-bp-Delatation am Splicing Accepttor des Intron 1 des Keratin 71 (Krt71) Gens identifiziert, das in der für Re kritischen Chromosomenregion liegt und eine wichtige Rolle bei der Bildung von Haaren spielt. Die Deletation löst eine 6-Aminosäure in Frame Deletation in der α-helical rod Domäne des KRT71-Proteins aus (Takashi Kuramoto et al. 20071)Takashi KURAMOTO, Ryuji HIRANO, Mitsuru KUWAMURA, Tadao SERIKAWA(2007) Identification of the Rat Rex Mutation as a 7-bp Deletion at Splicing Acceptor Site of the Krt71 Gene, Laboratory Animal Science)

References   [ + ]

1. Takashi KURAMOTO, Ryuji HIRANO, Mitsuru KUWAMURA, Tadao SERIKAWA(2007) Identification of the Rat Rex Mutation as a 7-bp Deletion at Splicing Acceptor Site of the Krt71 Gene, Laboratory Animal Science