rats: frequently asked Questions / Frequently Asked Questions FAQ

There are some diseases, which can be transmitted from rats to humans. But this is also true in the other direction: We can infect our rat roommate also. This type of disease, which can be transmitted between humans and vertebrates, called zoonoses. Which diseases are the, You can find out in the article:

zoonoses or: Can rats carry diseases?

Kathrin Guttmann 15. January 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

Rats do not need washed usually still be bathed, as they clean themselves thoroughly. In a healthy, fit rat harm an imposed Bad more than good. However, there are some exceptions, to which I would like to point here:

  • a medical treatment (, e.g. due to. fungal infections or in the treatment of wounds) makes a bath needed
  • an animal can be for any reason not clean itself (, e.g. due to. at a hind paralysis)
  • a male produces too much Böckchenfett and thereby get skin problems

However, there are some rats, the voluntary baden. Especially on hot days you can gain his nose cool, in which one large, not too deep bowl (, e.g. due to. a baking dish) fills with water and e.g.. does frozen peas or corn to. The rats fish for the treats and cool off while.

Kathrin Guttmann 17. January 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

With "Lugs fat" or English "Buck Grease" referred to the sebum (Sebum) in male rats. This often is deposited as orange layer on the skin. When male rats mark by rubbing an area, characterized distribute the sebum, which also contains odors. Lugs fat is completely usually harmless.

Kathrin Guttmann 17. January 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

Of course, there is no one, the officially prohibits you to take out your rat after. You should ask you but, whether it is good for your rat and you're doing so you a favor. rats are neophobe Rats, that is, once they have fear of new. Even though they are not as shy as their wild relatives, solve new, foreign environments at them Sreßreaktion out. Rats do not always respond to fear with escape or attack, but often with the so-called "Freeze", one Todstellreflex or try to hide. This is often misinterpreted quiet on the shoulder seats or as a cute cuddle up in jacket, Hood or backpack. Of course, there are also rats, the really cool socks. But even they can scare suddenly and flight reflex Following jump away. capture a fleeing rat scared out there is a very special challenge. Although special harnesses and leashes are available for rats commercially: I think, I have often heard it, that rats have free therefrom within seconds, when I heard, that you could keep them in. Rats are also very photosensitive, why a walk in the sun for it can be uncomfortable in the long run. Another point, directed against the "Going for a walk with rat" speaks, is that numerous pathogens are out there. In Germany live coverage quasi wild rats (it is called 1-2 Rats per inhabitant), have their urine and feces, especially with it possibly. distribute existing germs everywhere. And finally a walk always means with a rat, that they are taken from their familiar Rudel. The separation from the pack rat always means a heightened state of alert, and often triggers a stress reaction out. For the reason rats should not rather be taken out.

Kathrin Guttmann 17. January 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

Rats are naturally pack animals. While in dogs, the yes are also pack animals, man can replace a member of the pack after a long coevolution, is not possible in rats. Individual attitude gives rise to severe stress out with them, even if one does not look at the animals without further. They suffer, that they security, the a pack offers, is withheld. Even with a pair of attitude the stress level can still be very high. Therefore, one should keep pet rats in packs from a size of three members. There is more information in the article "Why rats in the herd should be kept".

Kathrin Guttmann 10. February 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

If your rat has red scabs on the eye, is it likely to porphyrinhaltiges secretions from Harder's gland. There are many factors, the overproduction of porphyrins, a so-called Chromodacryorrhoe, can trigger. Watch your pet well. Should frequently crusts, you should check whether they in a veterinarian, if an infection is present. More about you can find in the article "Help, My Rat bleeding on the eye".

Kathrin Guttmann 10. February 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

We have put on our side some very detailed information on the subject together. It's best to read out only once the corresponding article "Help, My Rat's pregnant / pregnant / got babies" by. If the rat have been just recouped unintentionally, may possibly still Abortion Allizin eligible. If you need assistance, get it contact with us - we will try, as well as possible further to help you!

Kathrin Guttmann 10. February 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

Animals in pet stores usually come from commercial farms, where animals efficiently in large masses on possible (= cost) wise "produced" become. The selection of the parents is often done by accident, in part, the animals are raised simply in colonies, d.h. a male sitting together with several females, that covers it again and again. A selection of the animals towards a tame, people facing temperament can only be very limited under these conditions. For this reason, it is when you buy in pet stores more a matter of luck, whether obtained or an animal with tame plants not. In contrast, a good breeder selects his animals accordingly and selected towards tameness, which definitely has a hereditary component (more in "Breeding goal lameness in rats". Come in addition, that the animals in the large commercial farms have relatively little contact with humans and are not used, closely to live and together with it to have contact with him. In a small breeding the breeder is Animals, the hire. have a slightly wilder or more anxious disposition, used by appropriate handling to people. In commercial pet production that is not possible.

Kathrin Guttmann 11. February 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

Otherwise if z.B. Chinchillas, who need a sand bath for grooming, need no rats sand bath. The fine sand may even be harmful, because it can cause severe respiratory infections, if it is inhaled.

Kathrin Guttmann 18. June 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

Otherwise if z.B. Guinea pigs or rabbits can digest the grass in the hay is not good rat. Therefore hay is totally unsuitable as a food source. As Nistbaumaterial it is also only conditionally. Hay is often dusty and improperly manufactured or improperly stored hay may be heavily contaminated with molds and their spores, which can damage the respiratory tract. In addition, binds hay ammonia in the faeces of rats in comparison to other types of litter very poorly. If hay is given, then it should be hot air dried, be dusted and herb-rich hay. Instead of hay can be better a mix of dried herbs such as e.g.. dandelion, Spitzwegerich, peppermint, Nettle or parsley stalks (not in pregnant rats) give. To Nibble e.g own is beyond. Wood of fruit trees or licorice.

Kathrin Guttmann 18. June 2018  


1 people found this faq useful.

If a rat leaves the pack - whether through death or because it was issued - that means once great excitement, was especially if that rat maybe even leader of the pack / in. Now the others have to clarify the hierarchy once. It should be noted, that the ranking is not always easy linearly, so how to get the most presents (so rat 1, rat 2 including, etc.). Often prevail among the pack members complex task distributions and friendships. It is perfectly normal, that your nose jockeying now. As long as it served without causing serious injury, I would not worry me. If everything's falling apart, You can pack them temporarily in a Transportboxinti, and if so, no new rat was integrated. Informations here in the lower part: http://www.farbratten-zucht.de/integration-neuer-ratten-in-bestehendes-rudel/

Kathrin Guttmann 29. July 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

Unfortunately, there are no clear criteria, you could check off, and where one could recognize, if someone "serious" or not. but some important clues are the following:

  • Questions are answered gladly and competently
  • This gives at least over photos insight into the attitude and the animal population
  • The attitude meets the requirements, one would also provide a lovers
  • The / * breeders in can provide information about parents and if necessary. enter ancestors
  • It should be a breeding goal available

You should still make more precise on these clues and what, learn your under How do you recognize a reputable breeder rats?

Kathrin Guttmann 29. August 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

Although zinc must be present as a trace element in the diet and it can otherwise lead to a dangerous lack of zinc, is an excess of zinc harmful. The sources of zinc can be diverse: Industrieemissionen, Mixing errors in milk replacer, Feed or mineral feed, accidental admixture of zinc oxide (instead of magnesium oxide) to concentrate, footbaths; Galvanized metal parts (screw, mother, Buttons, coins, Food containers, etc.); batteries, Zinksalben, Zinkpuder, zinc Shampoos, zinc colors (For example, zinc chromate, Zinc oxide or zinc carbonate, the latter is also known as calamine or calamine). Zineb, Ziram, and other organic zinc compounds are used as fungicides for use.

be the lethal doses CliniPharm/CliniTox according to:

Acute oral LD50 (in mg / kg body weight):

mouse rat rabbit chicken
Zineb (Zinkethylenbisdithiocarbamat) 7'600 1'850
Zinkacetat 2'500
Zinksulfat 57 2'900
zinc oxide 8'000
Zinkchlorid 329 350
Zinkdiethyldithiocarbamat 570 5'200
Ziram (Zinkdimethyldithiocarbamat) 1'400 100-300
Zink-2-mercaptobenzothiazol 540
Zinknitrat 240 1'600

In acute poisoning the first symptoms appear after hours to days, in chronic poisoning, it can take weeks, until the first symptoms appear. The severity of symptoms is highly dependent on the type and amount of absorbed zinc. The symptoms are limited to first on the gastrointestinal tract. With a time delay, adjusts the intravascular hemolysis. Finally, there is CNS disorders.

A toxic dose limit for zinc is not known exactly. Even swallowing 1-2 coins (For example, American Pennies: 96% Zink) can be fatal in dogs. The zinc toxicity depends on the acid production in the stomach.

With respect to the amount of zinc, which can be absorbed by nibbling of a chain or lattice, There are no reliable sources. Similarly, there is no indication, What is the risk of zinc poisoning by ingestion of zinc in rats gnawing by.

For safety's sake but I would do without a galvanized rat and access to another.

Kathrin Guttmann 9. September 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

I consider it to say frivolous, his animals would surely receive no tumors, since it is impossible, exclude with certainty. There are actually laboratory lines of rats, one compared to other lines have a lower probability, to develop certain tumors (Szpirer C (2010), Cancer research in rat models. Methods Mol Biol. 2010;597:445-58.) Here, however, is pure laboratory lines, developed with immense effort and with very large livestock. In addition, animals from such lines can be developed tumors - they just do it less likely. Guaranteed tumors free stocks do not exist and if there were they, would be a major breakthrough in cancer research, that idea could certainly much learning, with regard to the prevention of cancer in humans. It is assumed, that cancer is one in rats to the normal aging. In many types of cancer also is not yet clear, how far a hereditary component plays a role or. looks like one such component. For some cancers such as the endocrine neoplasia you know, that they are actually inherited monogenic, are thus influenced by a single gene. In many other cancers such as breast cancer going from polygenic influences, d.h. multiple genes play a role (Szpirer C (2010), Cancer research in rat models. Methods Mol Biol. 2010;597:445-58.). While a monogenic tumor deposition could still be relatively easily influenced by selection, this is extremely difficult in cases polygenic. For a lover breeders, works with relatively little rats stocks and do not have the technical capabilities and resources of a laboratory has, it is in my opinion impossible, to achieve this. What should a breeder, that it can perform a pathology in relatively young diseased animals a biopsy or death, and by competent (, e.g. due to. Hannover veterinary school) can give an assessment on the possible inheritance of this type of tumor.

Kathrin Guttmann 9. September 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

With "normal" Small animal bedding, the commercial softwood shavings are probably meant. This is problematic for two reasons. For one such Weichholzeintreu species are often not adequately dusted. The dust contained may irritate sensitive airways of rats and lead to inflammation. On the other softwood contains phenols, suspected, to damage the liver. In the US this is largely discussed and say many votes, that heat-treated softwood secretes any harmful substances more, but the American Fancy Rat and Mouse Association strongly advises against the use of softwood litter from. I myself have long Plospan XXL Excellent used, a heat-treated and heavily dusted bedding for horses, am now but even switched to alternatives, I just want to take any chances.

As an alternative, I recommend, for example, flax litter, a fine, dust-free litter, the very good ammonia binds. Here, too, you will find the best opportunities in the country trade (also online). As nesting materials I use Kaytee fresh and cozy.

Kathrin Guttmann 12. April 2019  


Be the first person to like this faq.

First of all you should still get at least a third rat to, because the attitude alone or in pairs can in rats lead to an increased stress level. from at least 3 Animals Rudelhierachie one can form and the animals are less stressed.

The problem with the rat from the pet shop, that you never know, as their genetic plant for tameness and how they were raised. Tameness does have a hereditary component, but when you do not know Zooladentieren, whether the parents were selected by tamer disposition (see also the FAQ: Why are my rat from the pet shop not tame?). so it may be, that your a rat Bock easy "naturally" is not tame, and people will tend to be less well. Moreover probably, that the animals did not grow up with a lot of contact with humans, which would have compensated. so it may be, that this boy will never really tame, but people remain skeptical.

Come in addition, that some human-rat combinations just do not work. Sometimes a rat does not like a certain person. That's us quite a few times happened and we could never find out, what it really is. Some rats were nice to all kinds of people, but found a particular person obnoxious, without that person would have ever done something bad to them. Maybe it has something to do with the smell.

Whatever the reason for the behavior of your boys: You will need to invest some time and effort, to make him friendly. I would first try, to leave him something in peace and concern myself with the other boys - best as, that the unfreundlichere can watch and learn so, you're a very nice person. Then I would start slowly, to lure him with treats. not surprising, when it does not even interested. Rats are often skeptical of new and vorgehaltenem food, some of them take only treats, when the "Vorkoster" she tried. Or he tears the treats just out of hand and you ignored. Whatever he does: have patience with him. make sure, he takes you with positive experiences such as feed in connection and try, all negative associations such as noise, To avoid hectic movements or sudden access.

Kathrin Guttmann 26. May 2019  


Be the first person to like this faq.

A survey in the UK revealed, that the average life expectancy of pet rats 21,6 was months, corresponding 1,8 years. 95% the rats were up to the age of 3 Years already died. In contrast, die 95% of wild rats within the first year of life1) Rat Behavior and Biology. How old is a rat in human years? Available at: http://www.ratbehavior.org/RatYears. Accessed November 12, 2011. 12. Romanova IV, Ramos .

References   [ + ]

1. Rat Behavior and Biology. How old is a rat in human years? Available at: http://www.ratbehavior.org/RatYears. Accessed November 12, 2011. 12. Romanova IV, Ramos

Kathrin Guttmann 27. May 2019  


Be the first person to like this faq.

The question about the smell of the rats was asked many times. There are many factors, the influence of odors. First, the cage is as even. A cage made of plastic and metal parts can be cleaned relatively well. Made of wood can be even, if they are thoroughly coated, let more difficult to clean because of the rougher surface. Especially self-made of OSB panels have a very rough surface, where urine and secretions can accumulate. The second factor is the litter. To counteract the odors, the litter must suck not only good, but also bind ammonia well. The carpets or fleece blankets like used by many bind smells extremely bad. More suitable are dusted rye straw flour (there are chaff, the name "Flour" is misleading) or Leineinstreu. Softwood chips are well suited, However, they must be enstaubt and heat-treated primarily, because they can evaporate substances otherwise, the influence hepatic metabolism. Then the Käfigreiniung plays a role. Cleans to the cage too often, excites you the selection behavior of the animals more like. Depending on the stocking density is a cleaning cycle of about. a week optimally. Even the food has an influence on the smell. Feed with yucca share are well suited, to reduce the odor. The idea, once to visit a rat holder, sounds good in approach, However, I wonder, as you a "exemplary" Rats holders need to mount. I myself was in many rat owners at home and for some it has significantly stinky, no other - depending on, as the housing conditions were.

Kathrin Guttmann 15. July 2019  


Be the first person to like this faq.

Add A New FAQ Question !

+ = Verify Human or Spambot ?

Ratten: Häufig gestellte Fragen / Frequently Asked Questions FAQ

Es gibt einige Krankheiten, die von Ratten auf Menschen übertragen werden können. Aber das gilt auch in die andere Richtung: Wir können unsere Ratten-Mitbewohner ebenso anstecken. Diese Art der Erkrankung,  die zwischen Menschen und Wirbeltieren übertragen werden können, nennt man Zoonosen. Welche Erkrankungen das sind, erfährst Du in dem Beitrag:

Zoonosen oder: Können Ratten Krankheiten übertragen?

Kathrin Guttmann   15. Januar 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

Ratten müssen in der Regel weder gewaschen noch gebadet werden, da sie sich selbst gründlich putzen. Bei einer gesunden, fitten Ratte schadet ein aufgezwungenes Bad mehr als es nutzt. Es gibt allerdings einige Ausnahmen, auf die ich hier hinweisen möchte:

  • eine medizinische Behandlung (z.B. gegen Pilzinfektionen oder in der Wundbehandlung) macht ein Bad nötig
  • ein Tier kann sich aus irgendeinem Grund nicht mehr selbst putzen (z.B. bei einer Hinterhandlähmung)
  • ein männliches Tier produziert zu viel Böckchenfett und bekommt dadurch Hautprobleme

Es gibt allerdings einige Ratten, die freiwillig baden. Besonders an heißen Tagen kann man seinen Nasen Abkühlung verschaffen, in dem man eine große, nicht zu tiefe Schüssel (z.B. eine Auflaufform) mit Wasser füllt und z.B. gefrorene Erbsen oder Mais dazu tut. Die Ratten fischen nach den Leckereien und kühlen sich dabei ab.

Kathrin Guttmann   17. Januar 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

Mit "Böckchen Fett" oder Englisch "Buck Grease" bezeichnet man den Hauttalg (Sebum) bei männlichen Ratten. Dieser lagert sich oft als orangefarbene Schicht auf der Haut ab. Wenn männliche Ratten durch Reiben einen Bereich markieren, verteilen sie dadurch den Hauttalg, der auch Geruchsstoffe enthält. Böckchen Fett ist in der Regel völlig harmlos.

Kathrin Guttmann   17. Januar 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

Natürlich gibt es niemanden, der Dir offiziell verbietet Deine Ratte mit nach draußen zu nehmen. Du solltest Dich aber fragen, ob es Deiner Ratte gut tut und Du Ihr damit einen Gefallen tust. Ratten sind neophobe Tiere, das heißt sie haben erst einmal Angst vor Neuem. Auch wenn sie nicht mehr so scheu sind wie ihre wilden Verwandten, lösen neue, fremde Umgebungen bei ihnen eine Sreßreaktion aus. Ratten reagieren auf Angst nicht immer mit Flucht oder Angriff, sondern häufig mit dem sogenannten "Freeze", einem Todstellreflex oder versuchen sich zu verstecken. Das wird oft fehlinterpretiert ruhige auf der Schultersitzen oder als niedliches Einkuscheln in Jacke, Kapuze oder Rucksack. Natürlich gibt es auch Ratten, die wirklich coole Socken sind. Aber auch sie können sich plötzlich erschrecken und dem Fluchtreflex folgend weg springen. Eine verängstigt fliehende Ratte draußen einzufangen ist eine ganz besondere Herausforderung. Auch wenn im Handel besondere Geschirre und Leinen für Ratten angeboten werden: Ich glaube, ich habe öfter davon gehört, dass Ratten sich innerhalb von Sekunden daraus befreit haben, als ich gehört habe, dass man sie darin halten konnte. Ratten sind zudem sehr lichtempfindlich, weswegen ein Spaziergang in der Sonne für sie auf Dauer unangenehm werden kann. Ein weiterer Punkt, der gegen das "Gassigehen mit Ratte" spricht, ist dass draußen vielfältige Krankheitserreger vorhanden sind. In Deutschland leben quasi flächendeckend Wildratten (man spricht von 1-2 Ratten pro Einwohner), die ihren Urin und vor allem Kot mit darin evtl. vorhandenen Keimen überall verteilen. Und als letztes bedeutet ein Spaziergang mit einer Ratte immer, dass man sie aus ihrem vertrauten Rudel nimmt. Die Trennung vom Rudel bedeutet für Ratten immer eine erhöhte Alarmbereitschaft und löst häufig eine Streßreaktion aus. Aus dem Grund sollten Ratten lieber nicht mit nach draußen genommen werden.

Kathrin Guttmann   17. Januar 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

Ratten sind von Natur aus Rudeltiere. Während bei Hunden, die ja ebenfalls Rudeltiere sind, der Mensch nach langer Koevolution ein Rudelmitglied ersetzen kann, ist das bei Ratten nicht möglich. Einzelhaltung löst bei ihnen starken Stress aus, auch wenn man das den Tieren nicht ohne weiteres ansieht. Sie leiden darunter, dass ihnen die Sicherheit, die ein Rudel bietet, vorenthalten wird. Auch bei einer Paarhaltung kann das Stresslevel noch sehr hoch sein. Daher sollte man  Farbratten in Rudeln ab einer Größe von drei Mitgliedern halten. Mehr Informationen gibt es in dem Beitrag "Warum Ratten im Rudel gehalten werden sollten".

Kathrin Guttmann   10. Februar 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

Wenn Deine Ratte rote Krusten am Auge hat, handelt es sich wahrscheinlich um porphyrinhaltiges Sekret aus der Harderschen Drüse. Es gibt viele Faktoren, die eine Überproduktion von Porphyrinen, eine sogenannte Chromodacryorrhoe, auslösen können. Beobachte Dein Tier gut. Sollten sich häufiger Krusten bilden, solltest Du bei einem Tierarzt abklären lassen, ob eine Infektion vorliegt. Mehr zum Thema findest Du im Artikel "Hilfe, meine Ratte blutet am Auge".

Kathrin Guttmann   10. Februar 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

Wir haben hier auf unserer Seite einige sehr ausführliche Informationen zu dem Thema zusammen gestellt. Am besten liest Du Dir erst einmal den entsprechenden Artikel "Hilfe, meine Ratte ist schwanger/ tragend / hat Babies bekommen" durch. Sollte Deine Ratte gerade erst ungewollt gedeckt worden sein, kann möglicherweise noch eine Abtreibung mit Allizin in Frage kommen. Wenn Du Unterstützung brauchst, melde Dich bei uns - wir werden versuchen, Dir so gut wie möglich weiter zu helfen!

Kathrin Guttmann   10. Februar 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

Tiere in Zooläden stammen meist aus gewerblichen Zuchten, in denen Tiere in großen Massen auf möglichst effizient (=kostengünstige) Weise "produziert" werden. Die Auswahl der Elterntiere erfolgt oft eher zufällig, teilweise werden die Tiere auch einfach in Kolonien gezüchtet, d.h. ein Männchen sitzt mit mehreren Weibchen zusammen, die es immer wieder deckt. Eine Selektion der Tiere hin zu einem zahmen, menschenzugewandten Temperament kann unter diesen Bedingungen nur sehr eingeschränkt erfolgen. Aus diesem Grund ist es beim Kauf in Zooläden eher eine Glückssache, ob man ein Tier mit zahmen Anlagen erhält oder nicht. Ein guter Züchter wählt seine Tiere dagegen entsprechend aus und selektiert in Richtung Zahmheit, die definitiv eine erbliche Komponente hat (mehr dazu in "Zuchtziel Zahmheit bei Ratten". Hinzu kommt, dass die Tiere in den großen gewerblich Zuchtanlagen relativ wenig Kontakt zum Menschen haben und es nicht gewöhnt sind, eng mit diesem zusammen zu leben und Kontakt mit ihm zu haben. In einer kleinen Zucht wird der Züchter Tiere, die evtl. eine etwas wildere oder ängstlichere Veranlagung haben, durch entsprechende Handhabung an den Menschen gewöhnen. In der gewerblichen Heimtierproduktion ist dies nicht möglich.

Kathrin Guttmann   11. Februar 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

Anders als z.B. Chinchillas, die ein Sandbad für die Fellpflege brauchen, benötigen Ratten kein Sandbad. Der feine Sand kann sogar schädlich sein, da er schwere Atemwegsinfektionen auslösen kann, wenn er eingeatmet wird.

Kathrin Guttmann   18. Juni 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

Anders als z.B. Meerschweinchen oder Kaninchen können Ratten die Gräser im Heu nicht gut verdauen. Von daher ist Heu als Nahrungsquelle völlig ungeeignet. Als Nistbaumaterial eignet es sich auch nur bedingt. Heu ist oft zu staubig und nicht ordnungsgemäß hergestelltes oder falsch gelagertes Heu kann stark mit Schimmelpilzen und deren Sporen belastet sein, die die Atemwege schädigen können. Darüber hinaus bindet Heu Ammoniak in den Ausscheidungen der Ratten im Vergleich zu anderen Einstreuarten nur sehr schlecht. Wenn Heu gegeben wird, dann sollte es heißluftgetrocknetes, entstaubtes und kräuterreiches Heu sein. Anstelle von Heu kann man besser einen Mix aus verschiedenen getrockneten Kräutern wie z.B. Löwenzahn, Spitzwegerich, Pfefferminze, Brennessel oder Petersilienstängeln (nicht bei tragenden Ratten) geben. Zum Knabbern eigenen sich darüber hinaus z.B. Hölzer von Obstbäumen oder Süßholz.

Kathrin Guttmann   18. Juni 2018  


1 people found this faq useful.

Wenn eine Ratte das Rudel verlässt - sei es durch Tod oder weil sie abgegeben wurde - bedeutet das erst einmal große Aufregung, vor allem wenn diese Ratte vielleicht sogar Rudelchef/in war. Nun müssen die anderen erst einmal die Rangordnung neu klären. Dabei ist zu beachten, dass die Rangordnung nicht immer einfach linear ist, so wie man sich das meist vorstellt (also Ratte 1, Ratte 2 darunter usw.). Oft herrschen zwischen den Rudelmitgliedern komplexe Aufgabenverteilungen und Freundschaften. Es ist völlig normal, dass Deine Nasen sich jetzt rangeln. So lange es dabei zu keinen ernsthaften Verletzungen kommt, würde ich mir keine Sorge machen. Wenn alle Stricke reißen, kannst Du sie zeitweise in eine Transportboxinti packen, auch wenn ja keine neue Ratte integriert wurde. Infos findest Du hier im unteren Teil: http://www.farbratten-zucht.de/integration-neuer-ratten-in-bestehendes-rudel/

Kathrin Guttmann   29. Juli 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

Leider gibt es keine eindeutigen Kriterien, die man abhaken könnte, und an denen man erkennen könnte, ob jemand "seriös" ist oder nicht. Einige wichtige Anhaltspunkte sind aber die folgenden:

  • Fragen werden gerne und kompetent beantwortet
  • Man erhält zumindest über Fotos Einblick in die Haltung und den Tierbestand
  • Die Haltung entspricht den Anforderungen, die man auch an einen Liebhaber stellen würde
  • Der/die Züchter*in kann Auskunft über Eltern und ggfs. Vorfahren geben
  • Es sollte ein Zuchtziel vorhanden sein

Genaueres zu diesen Anhaltspunkten und worauf Ihr noch achten solltet, erfahrt Ihr unter Woran erkennt man einen seriösen Rattenzüchter?

Kathrin Guttmann   29. August 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

Auch wenn Zink als Spurenelement in der Nahrung vorhanden sein muss und es ansonsten zu einem gefährlichen Zinkmangel kommen kann, ist ein Zuviel an Zink schädlich. Die Quellen von Zink können vielfältig sein: Industrieemissionen, Mischfehler bei Milchaustauscher, Futter oder Mineralfutter, versehentliche Beimischung von Zinkoxid (statt Magnesiumoxid) ins Kraftfutter, Klauenbäder; verzinkte Metallteile (Schrauben, Mutter, Knöpfe, Münzen, Futterbehälter usw.); Batterien, Zinksalben, Zinkpuder, Zinkshampoos, Zinkfarben (zum Beispiel Zinkchromat, Zinkoxid oder Zinkcarbonat, das letztere wird auch Zinkspat oder Galmei genannt). Zineb, Ziram und andere organische Zinkverbindungen kommen als Fungizide zum Einsatz.

Die lethalen Dosen betragen CliniPharm/CliniTox zufolge:

Akute orale LD50 (in mg/kg Körpergewicht):

Maus Ratte Kaninchen Huhn
Zineb (Zinkethylenbisdithiocarbamat) 7'600 1'850
Zinkacetat 2'500
Zinksulfat 57 2'900
Zinkoxid 8'000
Zinkchlorid 329 350
Zinkdiethyldithiocarbamat 570 5'200
Ziram (Zinkdimethyldithiocarbamat) 1'400 100-300
Zink-2-mercaptobenzothiazol 540
Zinknitrat 240 1'600

Bei der akuten Vergiftung erscheinen die ersten Symptome nach Stunden bis Tagen, bei chronischen Vergiftungen kann es Wochen dauern, bis die ersten Symptome auftreten. Die Ausprägung der Symptomatik ist stark abhängig von der Art und Menge des aufgenommenen Zinks. Die Symptome beschränken sich zuerst auf den Magen-Darm-Trakt. Mit zeitlicher Verzögerung stellt sich die intravasale Hämolyse ein. Schließlich kommt es zu ZNS-Störungen.

Eine toxische Grenzdosis für Zink ist nicht genau bekannt. Schon das Verschlucken von 1-2 Münzen (zum Beispiel amerikanische Pennies: 96% Zink) kann beim Hund tödliche Folgen haben. Die Zinktoxizität hängt von der Säureproduktion im Magen ab.

Bezüglich der Menge von Zink, die durch Nagen an einer Kette oder einem Gitter aufgenommen werden kann, gibt es keine verlässlichen Quellen. Ebenso gibt es keine Angaben dazu, wie hoch das Risiko einer Zinkvergiftung durch orale Aufnahme von Zink beim Nagen durch Ratten ist.

Sicherheitshalber würde ich aber auf eine verzinkte Ratte verzichten und zu einer anderen greifen.

Kathrin Guttmann   9. September 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

Ich halte es für unseriös zu behaupten, seine Tiere würden garantiert keine Tumore bekommen, da es unmöglich ist, das mit Sicherheit auszuschließen. Es gibt tatsächlich Labor-Linien von Ratten, die eine im Vergleich zu anderen Linien eine geringere Wahrscheinlichkeit haben, bestimmte Tumore zu entwickeln (Szpirer C (2010), Cancer research in rat models. Methods Mol Biol. 2010;597:445-58.) Hierbei handelt es sich aber um reine Laborlinien, die mit immensem Aufwand und mit sehr großen Tierbeständen entwickelt wurden. Zudem können auch Tiere aus derartigen Linien Tumore entwickelt - sie tun es nur mit einer geringeren Wahrscheinlichkeit. Garantiert Tumore freie Bestände gibt es nicht und gäbe es sie, wäre das ein großes Durchbruch in der Krebs-Forschung, denn darauf könnte man sicherlich vieles Lernen, was die Prävention von Krebs beim Menschen angeht. Es ist davon auszugehen, dass Krebs bei Ratten zu den normalen Alterserscheinungen gehört. Bei vielen Krebsarten ist zudem noch nicht geklärt, in wie fern eine erbliche Komponente eine Rolle spielt bzw. wie eine derartige Komponente aussieht. Bei einigen Krebsarten wie zum Beispiel den endokrinen Neoplasien weiß man, dass sie tatsächlich monogenetisch vererbt werden, also durch ein einziges Gen beeinflusst werden. Bei vielen anderen Krebsarten wie zum Beispiel Brustkrebs geht man von polygenetischen Einflüssen aus, d.h. mehrere Gene spielen hier eine Rolle (Szpirer C (2010), Cancer research in rat models. Methods Mol Biol. 2010;597:445-58.). Während eine monogenetische Tumordeposition noch relativ leicht durch Selektion beeinflusst werden könnten, ist dies bei polygenetischen Fällen extrem schwierig. Für einen Liebhaberzüchter, der mit relativ kleinen Rattenbeständen arbeitet und nicht über die technischen Möglichkeiten und die Ressourcen eines Labors verfügt, ist es meiner Meinung nach unmöglich, dies zu leisten. Was ein Züchter tun sollte ist, dass er bei relativ jung erkrankten Tieren eine Biospie oder im Todesfall eine Pathologie durchführen lässt und sich von kompetenter Seite (z.B. der tierärztlichen Hochschule Hannover) einer Einschätzung über eine eventuelle Erblichkeit der vorliegenden Tumorart geben lässt.

Kathrin Guttmann   9. September 2018  


Be the first person to like this faq.

Mit "normalem" Kleintierstreu sind wahrscheinlich die handelsüblichen Weichholzhobelspäne gemeint. Diese sind aus zwei Gründen problematisch. Zum einen sind derartige Weichholzeintreu-Arten oft nicht hinreichend entstaubt. Der enthaltene Staub kann die empfindlichen Atemwege der Ratten reizen und zu Entzündungen führen. Zum anderen enthält Weichholz Phenole, die im Verdacht stehen, die Leber zu schädigen. In den USA wird dies stark diskutiert und viele Stimmen sagen, dass hitzebehandeltes Weichholz keine schädlichen Stoffe mehr absondert, aber die American Fancy Rat and Mouse Association rät ausdrücklich von der Verwendung von Weichholzeinstreu ab. Ich selbst habe lange Zeit Plospan XXL Excellent verwendet, eine hitzebehandelte und stark entstaubte Einstreu für Pferde, bin jetzt aber selbst auf Alternativen umgestiegen, da ich einfach kein Risiko eingehen möchte.

Als Alternative empfehle ich zum Beispiel Lein-Einstreu, eine feine, staubfreie Streu, die sehr gut Ammoniak bindet. Auch hier findet man die günstigsten Möglichkeiten im Landhandel (auch Online). Als Material für den Nestbau verwende ich Kaytee fresh and cosy.

Kathrin Guttmann   12. April 2019  


Be the first person to like this faq.

Add A New FAQ Question !

+ = Verify Human or Spambot ?