Color White Rat Walther. Odd-Eye White

Odd-Eye - the variants of the rat

Kathrin Guttmann Body, Knowledge, Breeding & Genetic

The American Fancy Rat Society recognizes Odd-Eye on all colors and drawings. The first official description of an Odd-Eye-rat lovers and hobby breeders area was at 24.01.1983 by Karen Hauser Cal Poly Pomona, THAT, USA made, after these animals are already 1972 described in laboratory stocks (Gumbreck et al.1)Laurence G. Gumbreck Allan J. Stanley John E. Allison Ronald B. Easley (1972), Restriction of color in the rat with associated sterility in the male and heterochromia in both sexes, Journal of Experimental Zoology, Volume180, Issue3, 333-3492)RANDOLPH M. MACY ALLAN J. STANLEY LAURENCE G. GUMBRECK (1972), Genetic Factors Involved in Heterochromia in the Norway Rat, Journal of Heredity, Volume 63, Issue 4, 189–190). Odd-Eye (Odd is English for odd, strange) is a phenotype, in the eyes of the rat in question have different colors. One eye is usually black or dark ruby (dark ruby), while the other eye ruby ​​or pink. These Different colors of the irises of the eyes by disturbing the pigmentation is also called Iris heterochromia. Affected are mainly white or piebald animals with partial or complete leucism. In rats, it is mainly Capped or Masked animals blazes, show the Heterochromie. Often there are animals with Red Eye Dilute (Red-eyed dilution) such as Topaz or Beige, but also in animals without this dilution Heterochromie been reported.

Image Image

The genetics of Odd-Eye rat

the genetics, which causes the iris heterochromia in pet rats, remains largely unclear. It can be assumed, that there are even more loci and alleles, give rise to odd-Eye rats.

Die Restricted-Hypothese

an allele, which can trigger an Odd-eye phenotype, is probably the Restricted allele H(re), that lies on the hooded H locus and is dominant over all other alleles at the locus H. More to the inheritance of the hooded alleles found in Article "Genetic analysis of the modifier for the Hooded phenotype in rats". The Restricted allele was 1072 for the first time by Stanley and Gumbreck3)Laurence G. Gumbreck Allan J. Stanley John E. Allison Ronald B. Easley (1972), Restriction of color in the rat with associated sterility in the male and heterochromia in both sexes, Journal of Experimental Zoology, Volume180, Issue3, 333-3494)RANDOLPH M. MACY ALLAN J. STANLEY LAURENCE G. GUMBRECK (1972), Genetic Factors Involved in Heterochromia in the Norway Rat, Journal of Heredity, Volume 63, Issue 4, 189–190 described. The allele causes a strong dominant limitation color portions in the drawing, a dominant whole or in part, infertility in males and lethality in homozygous embryos. There are also indications, that can be born under circumstances homozygous pups, but those within the first 35 die daily as a result of megacolon. Therefore, two Restricted animals should never be bred together.

Image

The Recessive allele hypothesis

but the Restricted allele is probably not the only possible cause of Odd-Eyes. So discusses the American Fancy Rat an Mouse Association a recessive allele as a basis. Sure but seems to be, Odd-Eye that in connection with pronounced drawings, especially blazes is. A high proportion of white seems to increase the likelihood, that heterochromia occurs. However, obviously a random factor plays a big role in the inheritance of Odd-Eye, since even the mating of Odd-Eye parents unsure leads to odd-eye descendants, as would be with a recessive allele.

Image

The role of chance

There it seems likely, that the shape of Uniformity and their location affects the pigmentation, and these is random, at least a part. Often, it is namely so, that the lighter eye is on a white background, or at least very close to it. For this reason, it is also extremely difficult to impossible, specifically to breed safely Odd-Eye Animals. Independently of, What genetic background is assumed, are less Odd-Eye Animals, as one would expect.

References   [ + ]

1, 3. Laurence G. Gumbreck Allan J. Stanley John E. Allison Ronald B. Easley (1972), Restriction of color in the rat with associated sterility in the male and heterochromia in both sexes, Journal of Experimental Zoology, Volume180, Issue3, 333-349
2, 4. RANDOLPH M. MACY ALLAN J. STANLEY LAURENCE G. GUMBRECK (1972), Genetic Factors Involved in Heterochromia in the Norway Rat, Journal of Heredity, Volume 63, Issue 4, 189–190

Farbratte Walther White. Odd-Eye White

Odd-Eye - die Varianten der Ratte

Kathrin Guttmann Körper, Wissen, Zucht & Genetik

Die American Fancy Rat Society erkennt Odd-Eye bei allen Farben und Zeichnungen an. Die erste offizielle Beschreibung einer Odd-Eye-Ratte im Liebhaber und Hobby-Züchter-Bereich wurde am 24.01.1983 von Karen Hauser in  Cal Poly Pomona, CA, USA gemacht, nachdem diese Tiere bereits 1972 in Laborbeständen beschrieben wurden (Gumbreck et al.1)Laurence G. Gumbreck Allan J. Stanley John E. Allison Ronald B. Easley (1972), Restriction of color in the rat with associated sterility in the male and heterochromia in both sexes, Journal of Experimental Zoology, Volume180, Issue3, 333-3492)RANDOLPH M. MACY ALLAN J. STANLEY LAURENCE G. GUMBRECK (1972), Genetic Factors Involved in Heterochromia in the Norway Rat, Journal of Heredity, Volume 63, Issue 4, 189–190). Odd-Eye (Odd ist Englisch für ungerade, seltsam) ist ein Phänotyp, bei dem die Augen der betroffenen Ratte unterschiedliche Farben haben. Ein Auge ist in der Regel schwarz oder dark ruby (dunkelrubin), während das andere Auge Rubin oder Pink ist. Diese Verschiedenfarbigkeit der Regenbogenhäute der Augen durch Störung der Pigmentierung wird auch als Iris Heterochromie bezeichnet. Betroffen sind vor allem weiße oder gescheckte Tiere mit teilweisem oder vollständigem Leuzismus. Bei Ratten sind es vor allem Capped oder Masked Tiere mit Blessen, die Heterochromie zeigen. Häufig sind es Tiere mit Red Eye Dilute (Rotaugen-Verdünnung) wie zum Beispiel Topaz oder Beige, aber auch bei Tieren ohne diese Verdünnung wurde bereits Heterochromie berichtet.

Image Image

Die Genetik der Odd-Eye Ratte

Die Genetik, die die Iris Heterochromie bei Farbratten verursacht, ist bisher weitgehend ungeklärt. Es ist anzunehmen, dass es sogar mehrere Genorte und Allele gibt, die Odd-Eye-Ratten entstehen lassen.

Die Restricted-Hypothese

Ein Allel, das einen Odd-Eye-Phänotyp auslösen kann, ist wahrscheinlich das Restricted Allel H(re), dass auf dem Hooded-Locus H liegt und dominant gegenüber allen anderen Allelen auf dem H-Locus ist. Mehr zur Vererbung der Hooded-Allele findet sich im Artikel "Genetische Analyse der Modifier für den Hooded-Phänotyp bei Ratten". Das Restricted-Allel wurde 1072 zum ersten Mal von Stanley und Gumbreck3)Laurence G. Gumbreck Allan J. Stanley John E. Allison Ronald B. Easley (1972), Restriction of color in the rat with associated sterility in the male and heterochromia in both sexes, Journal of Experimental Zoology, Volume180, Issue3, 333-3494)RANDOLPH M. MACY ALLAN J. STANLEY LAURENCE G. GUMBRECK (1972), Genetic Factors Involved in Heterochromia in the Norway Rat, Journal of Heredity, Volume 63, Issue 4, 189–190 beschrieben. Das Allel verursacht eine starke dominante Einschränkung farbiger Anteile in der Zeichnung, eine dominante ganze oder teilweise Unfruchtbarkeit bei männlichen Tieren und eine Letalität bei homozygoten Embryos. Es gibt auch Hinweise darauf, dass unter Umständen homozygote Jungtiere geboren werden können, diese aber innerhalb der ersten 35 Tage infolge von Megacolon versterben. Daher sollte nie zwei Restricted-Tiere miteinander verpaart werden.

Image

Die Rezessives-Allel-Hypothese

Das Restricted-Allel ist aber wahrscheinlich nicht die einzige mögliche Ursache für Odd-Eyes. So diskutiert die American Fancy Rat an Mouse Association ein rezessives Allel als Grundlage. Sicher scheint aber zu sein, dass Odd-Eye in Verbindung mit ausgeprägten Zeichnungen, vor allem Blessen steht. Ein hoher Weißanteil scheint die Wahrscheinlichkeit zu erhöhen, dass Iris-Heterochromie auftritt. Allerdings spielt offensichtlich ein Zufallsfaktor bei der Vererbung von Odd-Eye eine große Rolle, da selbst die Verpaarung von Odd-Eye Eltern nicht sicher zu Odd-Eye-Nachfahren führt, wie das bei einem rezessiven Allel sein müsste.

Image

Die Rolle des Zufalls

Es liegt die Vermutung nahe, dass die Form der Weißverteilung und ihre Lage die Pigmentierung beeinflusst, und diese ist zumindest zu einem Teil zufällig. Häufig ist es nämlich so, dass das hellere Auge auf weißem Grund oder zumindest sehr nah daran liegt. Aus diesem Grund ist es auch extrem schwierig bis unmöglich, gezielt sicher Odd-Eye Tiere zu züchten. Unabhängig davon, welchen genetischen Hintergrund man annimmt, fallen weniger Odd-Eye Tiere, als man erwarten würde.

References   [ + ]

1, 3. Laurence G. Gumbreck Allan J. Stanley John E. Allison Ronald B. Easley (1972), Restriction of color in the rat with associated sterility in the male and heterochromia in both sexes, Journal of Experimental Zoology, Volume180, Issue3, 333-349
2, 4. RANDOLPH M. MACY ALLAN J. STANLEY LAURENCE G. GUMBRECK (1972), Genetic Factors Involved in Heterochromia in the Norway Rat, Journal of Heredity, Volume 63, Issue 4, 189–190