Mink and Mock Mink - the colors of the Rat

Kathrin Guttmann Colors, Knowledge, Breeding & Genetic

Mink is the English word for mink - and is reminiscent of the fur of a mink Mink also our pet rats. The color should be a medium brown-gray with no white hair (Silvering) or stains. The coat should have a bluish tinge. The feet have same color as the top, The eyes are black (AFRMA, NFRS). Overall, the color Mink has a great variety and both warmer, include cooler and browns. Compared to Chocolate it is matt and has less red component. A special form of Mink represents the nonstandard Silvered Mink is, wherein the skin is penetrated with single white hair (please refer Images at Zephyr Council).

Illustration: Mink Berkshire Blazed (Badger) rat

The history of color Mink

The color Mink has a rather confusing history behind it. When 1905 a rat with a new color appeared, it was initially assumed, that it is a variant of blue and named it accordingly. 1935 was also discovered in laboratory strains within the framework of linkage studies a new color, the researchers Castle and King with Fawn Dilute (diluted "fawn") named 1)Robinson, R. (1965). Genetics of the Norway Rat: International Series of Monographs in Pure and Applied Biology. In your opinion, it was a gene, that was similar to the Chocolate locus. The Fawn Dilute animals were coffee brown and together with English Blue (d) Fawn found Dilute the color Lavender 2)Ann Zophi Palsson and Eva Johansson, The Color Safir (Mink/Lilac), Summer I 1997 AFRMA Rat & Mouse Tales news-magazine. 1977 was the color Mink, hitherto "blue" was, renamed and standardized. had reason, that now a further gene, that produces a blue color, had found and this color should be designated as a Blue, since it corresponds to the blue color of other species.

Illustration: Mink Berkshire Harley Ratte

Genetics of color Mink in rats

Image

Mink is a non-agouti color, Therefore, the animals are always homozygous for the non-agouti- or "Schwarz"-Allel aa. On top of that on the Mink locus lying, compared to the non-Mink allele recessive Mink allele in a homozygous form, also mm. This results in the genetic code aa mm for rats minkfarbene. Of course, should be so no other colors, that they would mint phenotypically, would otherwise occur mixed colors with Mink.

In the color Mink but is exacerbated, that there are two variants of Mink: the UK-Mink and the American Mink or Mock Mink (I am I am oder). Both colors are visually almost indistinguishable, even if the American Mink to appear warmer and lacks the blue shimmer (compare Ratvarieties). Now you mated a homozygous UK-Mink animal with a homozygous American / mock mink animal, the result is black descendants, as long as no other color is pronounced.

Apparently it concerns with UK-Mink and mock / American mink not two different allele is, lying on the same locus, but two different gene loci, since it is apparently possible, to draw Animals, both homozygous for UK-Mink also read mock / American mink are, thus have the genetic code aa mm momo. On the Italian side "ratvarieties-fancyratitalia" there are corresponding illustrations of double-Mink-Merle animals.

Here, the American / mock mink Allen is now well studied inter. Kuramoto et al. (20103)Kuramoto T1, Yokoe M, Yagasaki K, Kawaguchi T, The mafuji K, Serikawa T. (2010), Genetic analyses of fancy rat-derived mutations, Exp Anim. 2010;59(2):147-55.) could the recessive American / mock mink on a locus of the 1. Chromosome section 95.5-103 locate Mb, followed by coupling with all other on the chromosome 1 located gene loci is present. The gene is believed to be homologous to the Hermansky-Pudlak syndrome 5 Gene in humans and the ruby ​​eye gene 2 the mouse (Ru2).

In addition to the mink and the Mock Mink / Amerikcan Mink mutation, there is a further mutation, causes the one minkfarbenes appearance, the Australian Mink. In Mock Mink distinction must be made between the American Mink and Australian Mink. American Mink is partly abbreviated in the US with the, while in Germany it is usually called Mock Mink and is abbreviated Mon.. Australian Mink other hand, is referred to and in the US as Mock Mink mo abbreviated, while there is still no official abbreviation in Germany

Illustration: Double Mink Merle (Those: ratvarieties-fancyratitalia)

Illustration: Mink Variegated Blazed Ratte

Color comparisons Mink Rat

Illustration: color Reference

Illustration: color Reference

References   [ + ]

1. Robinson, R. (1965). Genetics of the Norway Rat: International Series of Monographs in Pure and Applied Biology
2. Ann Zophi Palsson and Eva Johansson, The Color Safir (Mink/Lilac), Summer I 1997 AFRMA Rat & Mouse Tales news-magazine
3. Kuramoto T1, Yokoe M, Yagasaki K, Kawaguchi T, The mafuji K, Serikawa T. (2010), Genetic analyses of fancy rat-derived mutations, Exp Anim. 2010;59(2):147-55.

Mink und Mock Mink - die Farben der Ratte

Kathrin Guttmann Farben, Wissen, Zucht & Genetik

Mink ist das englische Wort für Nerz - und an das Fell eines Nerzes erinnert auch das Mink unserer Farbratten. Die Farbe sollte ein mittleres Braun-Grau sein ohne weiße Haare (Silvering) oder Flecken. Das Fell sollte einen bläulichen Schimmer haben. Die Füße haben sie selbe Farbe wie die Oberseite, die Augen sind schwarz (AFRMA, NFRS). Insgesamt hat die Farbe Mink eine große Variationsbreite und sowohl wärmere, als auch kühlere Brauntöne umfassen. Im Vergleich zu Chocolate ist es matter und hat weniger Rotanteil. Eine Sonderform des Mink stellt das nicht standardisierte Silvered Mink dar, bei dem das Fell mit einzelnen weißen Haaren durchzogen ist (siehe Bilder bei Zephyr Rats).

Abbildung: Mink Berkshire Blazed (Badger) Ratte

Die Geschichte der Farbe Mink

Die Farbe Mink hat eine ziemlich verwirrende Geschichte hinter sich. Als 1905 eine Ratte mit einer neuen Farbe auftauchte, dachte man zunächst, dass es sich um eine Variante von Blau handelt und benannte sie entsprechend. 1935 wurde in Laborstämmen im Rahmen von Linkage-Studien ebenfalls eine neue Farbe entdeckt, die die Forscher Castle und King mit Fawn Dilute (verdünntes "Rehfarben") benannten 1)Robinson, R. (1965). Genetics of the Norway Rat: International Series of Monographs in Pure and Applied Biology. Ihrer Meinung nach handelte es sich um eine Gen, das analog zum Chocolate-Lokus war. Die Fawn-Dilute-Tiere waren kaffeebraun und zusammen mit Englisch Blue (d) ergab Fawn Dilute die Farbe Lavender 2)Ann-Zophi Pålsson and Eva Johansson, The Color Safir (Mink/Lilac), Summer I 1997 AFRMA Rat & Mouse Tales news-magazine. 1977 wurde die Farbe Mink, die bis dahin "Blau" hieß, umbenannt und standardisiert. Ursache dafür war, dass man inzwischen ein weiteres Gen, dass eine blaue Farbe hervorruft, gefunden hatte und diese Farbe als Blau benannt werden sollte, da sie mit der blauen Farbe anderer Arten korrespondiert.

Abbildung: Mink Berkshire Harley Ratte

Genetik der Farbe Mink bei Ratten

Image

Bei Mink handelt es sich um eine Non-Agouti-Farbe, daher sind die Tiere immer reinerbig für das Non-Agouti- oder "Schwarz"-Allel aa. Hinzu kommt das auf dem Mink-Lokus liegende, gegenüber dem Non-Mink-Allel rezessive Mink-Allel in homozygoter Form, also mm. Daraus ergibt sich der Gencode aa mm für minkfarbene Ratten. Selbstverständlich dürfen keine weiteren Farben so vorliegen, dass sie sich phänotypisch ausprägen würden, da ansonsten Mischfarben mit Mink auftreten würden.

Bei der Farbe Mink kommt allerdings erschwerend hinzu, dass es zwei Varianten von Mink gibt: das UK-Mink und das American Mink oder Mock Mink (am am oder mo mo). Beide Farben sind optisch kaum zu unterscheiden, auch wenn das amerikanische Mink wärmer erscheinen soll und ihm der blaue Schimmer fehlt (vergleiche Ratvarieties). Verpaart man nun ein homozygotes UK-Mink Tier mit einem homozygotem American-/Mock-Mink-Tier, so erhält man schwarze Nachkommen, solange keine weitere Farbe ausgeprägt wird.

Anscheinend handelt es sich bei UK-Mink und Mock-/American-Mink nicht um zwei verschiedene Allel handelt, die auf dem selben Genort liegen, sondern um zwei verschiedene Genorte, da es anscheinend möglich ist, Tiere zu ziehen, die sowohl reinerbig für UK-Mink las auch Mock-/American-Mink sind, also den Gencode aa mm momo aufweisen. Auf der italienischen Seite "ratvarieties-fancyratitalia" finden sich entsprechende Abbildungen von Doppel-Mink-Merle-Tieren.

Dabei ist das American-/Mock-Mink-Allen inzwischen gut intersucht. Kuramoto et al. (20103)Kuramoto T1, Yokoe M, Yagasaki K, Kawaguchi T, Kumafuji K, Serikawa T. (2010), Genetic analyses of fancy rat-derived mutations, Exp Anim. 2010;59(2):147-55.) konnten das rezessive American-/Mock-Mink auf einem Locus aus dem 1. Chromosom im Abschnitt 95.5-103 Mb lokalisieren, wonach eine Kopplung mit allen anderen auf dem Chromosom 1 liegenden Genorten vorliegt. Das Gen ist vermutlich homolog zum Hermansky-Pudlak-Syndrom 5 Gen beim Menschen und dem Ruby-Eye-Gen 2 der Maus (Ru2).

Neben der Mink und der Mock Mink / Amerikcan Mink Mutation gibt es noch eine weitere Mutation, die ein minkfarbenes Erscheinungsbild hervorruft, das Australian Mink. Bei Mock Mink muss zwischen dem Amerikanischen Mink und Australischem Mink unterschieden werden. Amerikanisches Mink wird in den USA teilweise mit am abgekürzt, während es in Deutschland meist als  Mock Mink bezeichnet und mit mo abgekürzt wird. Australisches Mink wird dagegen in den USA als Mock Mink bezeichnet und mo abgekürzt, während es in Deutschland noch keine offizielle Abkürzung gibt

Abbildung: Double Mink Merle (Quelle: ratvarieties-fancyratitalia)

Abbildung: Mink Variegated Blazed Ratte

Farbvergleiche Mink Ratte

Abbildung: Farbvergleich

Abbildung: Farbvergleich

References   [ + ]

1.Robinson, R. (1965). Genetics of the Norway Rat: International Series of Monographs in Pure and Applied Biology
2.Ann-Zophi Pålsson and Eva Johansson, The Color Safir (Mink/Lilac), Summer I 1997 AFRMA Rat & Mouse Tales news-magazine
3.Kuramoto T1, Yokoe M, Yagasaki K, Kawaguchi T, Kumafuji K, Serikawa T. (2010), Genetic analyses of fancy rat-derived mutations, Exp Anim. 2010;59(2):147-55.