rat Philomena, Black Marble

Marble / Spotted Tabby Ratten

Kathrin Guttmann Shades / Shade, Knowledge, Breeding & Genetic

or Marble. Spotted Tabby is a Shade (shading), which can theoretically occur in combination with any color, with Marble Top comes in Black or Blue Russian to bear. The Shade was first 2013 bei den North England Rat Distributors (NERD), Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA discovered and initially Merle or. called Marble / Calico. Today we know, Marble that is not in communication with the become visible only on Mink Merle.

Marble result, that it is distributed in the form of a spinal strip, and individual spots on the head and sides basic color of the rat. On the remaining points, the color is diluted, was z.B. leads one to Black Marble, that the animal bright- to medium gray appears with a darker stripe on the back and darker spots. Here, the strip is not as clearly defined as in a Hooded-Signatures, rather, it is a pattern which is closest to a spotted cat (Spotted Tabby) corresponds to. The spots on the head and sides disappear with age usually, is maintained while the back strip.

So far, there is no standard for Marble / Spotted Tabby.

Image
Black Marble

The genetics of Marble / Spotted Tabby Ratte

The allele for Marble is dominant over the wild type. It is not yet clear, whether homozgotes Marble is a lethal factor.

Image

Black Marble

Problems in Marble breeding

Relatively soon became clear, that in some Marble lines occurred some health problems in animals. These include malocclusions, „White Teeth“ (lack of enamel), Megacolon, Failure to Thrive und Kryptochorismus (Remain one or both testicles in the abdominal cavity or in the inguinal canal). Breeders in the United States have kept it very carefully under observation and reported AFRMA, that 2016 no dental problems were reported. but so far is not fully understood, if only a few lines are affected. When purchasing a Marble Rat but you should check, whether any of the problems described present and inform definitely the / breeder, should something like that occur in the animal or its descendants. However, it should also be mentioned, that even in non-Marble rats stocks may experience the aforementioned problems, so that need not be returned every case of malocclusion on Marble gene.

Image

Topaz Marbel

Image

Black Marble Jungtiere

Image

Black Marble Jungtiere

Image
Marble cub
Image
Marble cub
Image
Agouti Marble cub
Image
Black Marble
Image
Marble cub

Ratte Philomena, Black Marble

Marble / Spotted Tabby Ratten

Kathrin Guttmann Schattierung / Shade, Wissen, Zucht & Genetik

Bei Marble bzw. Spotted Tabby handelt es sich um einen Shade (eine Schattierung), der theoretisch in Kombination mit jeder Farbe auftreten kann, wobei Marble am besten auf Black oder Russian Blue zur Geltung kommt. Der Shade wurde erst 2013 bei den North England Rat Distributors (NERD), Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA entdeckt und zunächst Merle bzw. Marble/Calico genannt. Heute weiß man, dass Marble nicht mit dem nur auf Mink sichtbar werdenden Merle in Verbindung steht.

Marble führt dazu, dass sie Grundfarbe der Ratte in Form eines Rückenstreifens sowie einzelner Flecken an Kopf und Seiten verteilt ist. An den restlichen Stellen ist die Grundfarbe verdünnt, was z.B. bei einem Black Marble dazu führt, dass das Tier hell- bis mittelgrau erscheint mit einem dunkleren Streifen auf dem Rücken und dunkleren Flecken. Hierbei ist der Streifen nicht so klar abgegrenzt wie bei einer Hooded-Zeichnunge, vielmehr handelt es sich um ein Muster was am ehesten dem einer getupften Katze (Spotted Tabby) entspricht. Die Flecken an Kopf und Seiten verschwinden mit zunehmendem Alter meist, während der Rückenstreifen erhalten bleibt.

Bisher gibt es keinen Standard für Marble / Spotted Tabby.

Image
Black Marble

Die Genetik der Marble / Spotted Tabby Ratte

Das Allel für Marble ist gegenüber der Wildform dominant. Bisher ist noch nicht geklärt, ob homozgotes Marble ein Letalfaktor ist.

Image

Black Marble

Probleme in der Marble Zucht

Relativ bald wurde deutlich, dass in einigen Marble-Linien einige gesundheitliche Probleme bei den Tieren auftraten. Dazu zählen Zahnfehlstellungen, „White Teeth“ (fehlender Zahnschmelz), Megacolon, Failure to Thrive und Kryptochorismus (Verbleiben eines oder beider Hoden in der Bauchhöhle oder im Leistenkanal). Züchter in den USA haben dies sehr genau unter Beobachtung behalten und die AFRMA berichtete, dass 2016 keine Zahnprobleme mehr berichtet wurden. Bisher ist allerdings noch nicht abschließend geklärt, ob nur einzelne Linien betroffen sind. Bei der Anschaffung einer Marble-Ratte sollte man allerdings überprüfen, ob eines der beschriebenen Probleme vorliegt und auf jeden Fall den/die ZüchterIn informieren, sollte etwas derartiges bei dem Tier oder seinen Nachfahren auftreten. Allerdings sollte auch erwähnt werden, dass auch in Nicht-Marble-Rattenbeständen die oben erwähnten Probleme auftreten können, so dass nicht jeder Fall von Zahnfehlstellung auf das Marble-Gen zurückgeführt werden muss.

Image

Topaz Marbel

Image

Black Marble Jungtiere

Image

Black Marble Jungtiere

Image
Marble Jungtier
Image
Marble Jungtier
Image
Agouti Marble Jungtier
Image
Black Marble
Image
Marble Jungtier