Headspot - Drawings of color rat

Kathrin Guttmann Knowledge, markings, Breeding & Genetic

On Headspot (to German "head spot") is a white mark on the forehead. The shape can vary. On Headspot usually occurs along with other white markings. It is possible in all colors, but is not visible on light colors may.

Image

The standard of the rat with Head Spot

There a Headspot always occurs in conjunction with a drawing, there is in the American Fancy Rat and Mouse Association (AFRMA) and the National Fancy Rat Society (NFRS) no separate standard for a Headspot. are in the AFRMA Headspots approved in conjunction with the drawing Variegated and Roan, at Essex is a Headspot required. The Headspot should be on the front, centrally positioned, round or oval and no larger than the eye of the rat. The NFRS permits Headspot at Variegated and chinchilla and writes him at Essex.

Image

The Genetics of Head Spots

In many cases, there is an indication, that Headspots always occur together with drawing alleles of the locus Hooded H, as self-rats show Headspots demonstrate. This would indicate, that it is at or Head spot to an allele at the H locus that a genetic coupling with alleles at the H locus is present. Robinson (19981)Robinson, R. (1998), Headspot and Dilute Mutation in the Norway Rat, The Journal of Heredity 89(1), 100-101) could show, that neither is the case. In a stock of agouti rat wild origin animals were treated with Headspots found. Matings of Agouti Head Spot x Agouti resulted in F1 only agouti animals, fell in the F2 40 Agoutis, 11 agoutis with Headspots, 9 Blacks und 4 Blacks mit Headspot. This points to a simple recessive allele. Investigations regarding a possible Allelismus of Headspots show to Hooded, that this is from Head Spot to its own locus, which is abbreviated hs. Linkage studies suggest, that this locus is not associated with the locus Hooded. It was noticeable, that all F2 rats had a white belly patch, as otherwise only by the alleles h(i) and h caused the Hooded-locus. But as the Headspot-Lokus is not connected to the Hooded-locus, the abdominal patch in a different way must arise. Robinson (19982)Robinson, R. (1998), Headspot and Dilute Mutation in the Norway Rat, The Journal of Heredity 89(1), 100-101) According to the stain is independent of the Hooded allele and is a consequence of incomplete migration of neural tube from the melanoblast. The presence of h(i)-Allele increases the spot, the presence of the h allele results, that the stomach is almost completely white. the locus, on which the spot is encoded Head, located on chromosome 15 on position 84.6-91.2 MB, the relevant candidate gene is the endothelin receptor type B gene EDNRB (Kuramoto et al. 20103)Kuramoto T1, Yokoe M, Yagasaki K, Kawaguchi T, The mafuji K, Serikawa T. (2010), Genetic analyses of fancy rat-derived mutations, Exp Anim. 2010;59(2):147-55). Robinson (19984)Robinson, R. (1998), Headspot and Dilute Mutation in the Norway Rat, The Journal of Heredity 89(1), 100-101) succeeded also, to achieve Blessen through specific selection in the direction of greater Head spots in the form of an inverted V-. Often these blazes were drawn irregularly. This know out, that the Head Spot allele also in the form of a recessive blaze (in contrast to the dominant white spotting blaze) may be.

Image

References   [ + ]

1, 2, 4. Robinson, R. (1998), Headspot and Dilute Mutation in the Norway Rat, The Journal of Heredity 89(1), 100-101
3. Kuramoto T1, Yokoe M, Yagasaki K, Kawaguchi T, The mafuji K, Serikawa T. (2010), Genetic analyses of fancy rat-derived mutations, Exp Anim. 2010;59(2):147-55

Headspot - Zeichnungen der Farbratte

Kathrin Guttmann Wissen, Zeichnung, Zucht & Genetik

Ein Headspot (zu Deutsch „Kopffleck“) ist ein weißes Abzeichen auf der Stirn. Die Form kann dabei variieren. Ein Headspot tritt in der Regel zusammen mit anderen weißen Abzeichen. Er ist auf allen Farben möglich, wird auf hellen Farben aber unter Umständen nicht sichtbar.

Image

Der Standard der Ratte mit Headspot

Da ein Headspot immer in Verbindung mit einer Zeichnung auftritt, gibt es bei der American Fancy Rat and Mouse Association (AFRMA) und der National Fancy Rat Society (NFRS) keinen gesonderten Standard für einen Headspot. Bei der AFRMA sind Headspots in Verbindung mit der Zeichnung Variegated und Roan zugelassen, bei Essex ist ein Headspot vorgeschrieben. Der Headspot sollte sich auf der Stirn befinden, zentral positioniert, rund oder oval und nicht größer als das Auge der Ratte sein. Die NFRS erlaubt einen Headspot bei Variegated und Chinchilla und schreibt ihn bei Essex vor.

Image

Die Genetik der Headspots

Vielfach findet sich die Angabe, dass Headspots immer zusammen mit Zeichnungs-Allelen des Hooded-Locus H auftreten, da Self-Ratten zeigen keine Headspots zeigen. Dies wäre ein Hinweis darauf, dass es sich bei Headspot um ein Allel auf dem H-Lokus handelt oder dass eine genetische Kopplung mit Allelen auf dem H-Locus vorliegt. Robinson (19981)Robinson, R. (1998), Headspot and Dilute Mutation in the Norway Rat, The Journal of Heredity 89(1), 100-101) konnte zeigen, dass beides nicht der Fall ist. In einem Bestand von Agouti-Ratte wilden Ursprungs wurden Tiere mit Headspots gefunden. Verpaarungen von Agouti Headspot x Agouti ergaben in der F1 nur Agouti-Tiere, in der F2 fielen 40 Agoutis, 11 Agoutis mit Headspots, 9 Blacks und 4 Blacks mit Headspot. Dies weist auf ein einfaches rezessives Allel hin. Untersuchungen bezüglich eines möglichen Allelismus des Headspots zu Hooded zeigen, dass es sich bei Headspot um einen eigenen Lokus handelt, der mit hs abgekürzt wird. Linkage Studien weisen darauf hin, dass dieser Lokus nicht mit dem Hooded-Lokus verbunden ist. Auffällig war, dass alle F2 Ratten einen weißen Bauchfleck hatten, wie er ansonsten nur durch die Allele h(i) und h des Hooded-Lokus verursacht wird. Da aber der Headspot-Lokus nicht mit dem Hooded-Lokus verbunden ist, muss der Bauchfleck auf andere Art entstehen. Robinson (19982)Robinson, R. (1998), Headspot and Dilute Mutation in the Norway Rat, The Journal of Heredity 89(1), 100-101) zufolge ist der Fleck unabhängig vom Hooded-Allel und ist eine Folge einer unvollständigen Migration von Melanoblasten vom Neuralrohr aus. Das Vorliegen eines h(i)-Allels vergrößert den Fleck, das Vorliegen des h-Allels führt dazu, dass der Bauch fast vollständig weiß wird. Der Genort, auf dem der Headspot kodiert wird, liegt auf dem Chromosom 15 auf Position 84.6-91.2 MB, das zuständige Kandidaten-Gen ist das Endothelin-Rezeptor-Typ-B-Gen EdnrB (Kuramoto et al. 20103)Kuramoto T1, Yokoe M, Yagasaki K, Kawaguchi T, Kumafuji K, Serikawa T. (2010), Genetic analyses of fancy rat-derived mutations, Exp Anim. 2010;59(2):147-55). Robinson (19984)Robinson, R. (1998), Headspot and Dilute Mutation in the Norway Rat, The Journal of Heredity 89(1), 100-101) gelang es außerdem, durch gezielte Selektion in Richtung größerer Headspots Blessen zu erzielen in Form eines umgekehrten Vs. Oft waren diese Blessen unregelmäßig gezeichnet. Dies weißt darauf hin, dass das Headspot-Allel auch in Form einer rezessiven Blesse (im Gegensatz zur Dominant-White-Spotting-Blesse) vorliegen kann.

Image

References   [ + ]

1, 2, 4. Robinson, R. (1998), Headspot and Dilute Mutation in the Norway Rat, The Journal of Heredity 89(1), 100-101
3. Kuramoto T1, Yokoe M, Yagasaki K, Kawaguchi T, Kumafuji K, Serikawa T. (2010), Genetic analyses of fancy rat-derived mutations, Exp Anim. 2010;59(2):147-55