Genetic analysis of the modifier for the Hooded phenotype in rats

Kathrin Guttmann Knowledge, markings, Breeding & Genetic

The gene, that is largely responsible for the subscription of color rats, is at the H locus on chromosome 14 in the region of the KIT gene, the many animal species spotting (Piepaldism) can cause.

What makes the H locus relative to other loci, which are responsible for the coat color, the color Rat, is, that there are not only two alleles, which can occupy this locus. In addition to the dominant H, the a continuous dyeing without white markings (so-called self-drawing) expresses, and the recessive h, which causes Hooded-drawing in the case homozygous (Colored head, neck, chest, Shoulders and a wider, uniform thickness strip across the back to tail), there are other alleles:

  • hi Hooded Irish
  • hn Hooded notched
  • he Hooded extreme
  • Hre Hooded restricted

All this allele are on the same locus and behave in the most combinations codominant. That means, that the different alleles equally strong effect on the phenotype in a heterozygous animal. Both alleles are thereby fully expressed. That means, that the different combinations of two of the alleles H, h, hi , hn ,he and Hre results in different patterns. Deviating from the wild form of co-dominant inheritance is H (no drawing) dominant over all other alleles and h is recessive to hi . In addition, the restricted allele homozygous lethal.

The amount of color, which is expressed by these alleles, behaves as follows (of a lot of color and low amount of white to little color and high percentage of white): H> hi > h > hn >he > Hre

It is not here - as initially Castle (1914) accepted- um Edit, influence from another locus, the expression of the gene Hooded, All but independent on the H-locus in the sense of a polymorphism. the idea, that one or more Modifier a gene locus on the H- "befallen" (either the dominant or recessive H h) is wrong (see illustration on Farbrattengenetik.de.tl), since it is the alleles themselves, lying on this locus.

Furthermore, it is believed, that the inheritance of a variant of the Husky drawing (English "Roan", is also known as "Essex" designated) runs through the H locus. caused them to through the roan allele hro or Hro , where there are different specifications to, whether this allele dominant and homozygous lethal case (NFRS) or incompletely recessive (test breeding) is. When looking at the genetics of Huskies need to distinguish between European and US animals, as they probably have a different genetics (Curiosity Rats). So an independent locus for encoding a dominant-recessive inheritance Husky is also discussed.

In addition to the H-locus, there is at least one other locus, actually influenced in the form of a modifier, the expression of alleles at the locus H. On the locus alleles Hm Hm cans (short back drawing) and Hml (long dorsal drawing) lie. Taken alone, these alleles can exacerbate no drawing phenotypically, but affect the expression of all on the H-locus.

result from the preceding considerations, a variety of combinations, the partially similar looking phenotypes may result in different genotypes and they often do not follow a Mendelian genetics.

Possible allele combinations for certain drawings are listed below:

Bareback hh or hhe or Hःms or hhi
Berkshire Hh or hhe or hihi or hihn
Blazed many possible combinations
Capped hnhn
Capped Stripe hreh or Hrehre (lethal?)
English Irish Hh or Hhi
Hooded hh or hml
Irish Hh or Hhi
Masked hehe
Variegated ?
Those:afrma
Image

Rule of thumb for the inheritance of drawings

With regard to the inheritance and phenotypic expression of Hooded alleles and modifier provides the AFRMA the following rule of thumb.

It takes the following levels:

  1. Self
  2. English Irish (Spot on the chest)
  3. American Irish (Spot on the belly) and Berkshire
  4. Hooded, Variegated und Bareback
  5. Masked, Leaning head drawings and Black Eyed White (or. Pink Eyed White and Red Eyed White at corresponding other primary colors)

Rats drawings the same plane can create all the drawings of this plane and a level.

Rats from directly successive level (also z.B. level 1 With 2, level 2 With 3 etc.) can produce the drawings, corresponding to these two planes.

rats, whose planes are separated by a plane (also z.B. level 1 With 3, level 2 With 4 etc.) especially drawings of the intermediate level will produce (also z.B. at level 1 With 3 the level of 2), but also a small number of offspring of their own level (also z.B. at level 1 With 3 the level of 1 and 3).

rats, whose planes are separated by two or more levels (so level 1 With 4, level 1 With 5 and level 2 With 5) progeny are drawings with the intermediate levels (also z.B. at level 1 With 4 the levels of 2 and 3), but not create their own levels.

Please note: is a rough rule of thumb, not to secure genetic findings!

Different characteristics of the different alleles Hooded. Those: Castle (1914).

Capped bzw. Notched Ratte. genotype: hnhn. Those: Castle (1914)

Hooded Ratte. genotype: hh or hml.Those: Castle (1914)

Irish Ratte. genotype: Hh or Hhi. Those: Castle (1914)

Verpaarungsexperiment. A ruddy rat (8000) comes with a Black Hooded (6176) mated. 8021 and 8018 are from the F1. In the following generation, the features columns on partially. 8075 is a Black Hooded mismarked, 8076 and 8077 are Berkshires, 8078 is an Irish. Those: Castle (1914)

Verpaarungsexperiment. Those: Castle (1914)

literature

Genetische Analyse der Modifier für den Hooded-Phänotyp bei Ratten

test test Wissen, Zucht & Genetik

Das Gen, dass für die Zeichnung von Farbratten maßgeblich verantwortlich ist, liegt auf dem H-Lokus auf dem Chromosom 14 im Bereich des KIT-Gens, das in vielen verschiedenen Tierarten Scheckung (Piepaldism) verursachen kann.

Das Besondere am H-Lokus gegenüber anderen Genorten, die für die Fellfarbe der Farbratte verantwortlich sind, ist, dass es nicht nur zwei Allele gibt, die diesen Genort besetzen können. Neben dem dominanten H, das eine durchgehende Färbung ohne weiße Abzeichen (sogenannte Self-Zeichnung) ausprägt, und dem rezessiven h, das im homozygoten Fall eine Hooded-Zeichnung verursacht (Farbiger Kopf, Hals, Brust, Schultern und ein breiter, gleichmäßig dicker Streifen über den Rücken bis zur Schwanzspitze), gibt es noch weitere Allele:

  • hi Hooded Irish
  • hn Hooded notched
  • he Hooded extreme
  • Hre Hooded restricted

Alle diese Allel liegen auf dem selben Genort und verhalten sich in dem meisten Kombinationen kodominant. Das bedeutet, dass sich die unterschiedlichen Allele bei einem heterozygoten Tier gleich stark auf den Phänotyp auswirken. Beide Allele werden dabei voll exprimiert. Das bedeutet, dass die unterschiedlichen Kombinationen von jeweils zwei der Allele H, h, hi , hn ,he und Hre zu unterschiedlichen Mustern führt. Abweichend vom kodominanten Erbgang ist die Wildform H (keine Zeichnung) über alle weiteren Allele dominant und h ist rezessiv gegenüber hi . Außerdem ist das restricted Allel homozygot lethal.

Der Farbanteil, der durch diese Allele exprimiert wird, verhält sich wie folgt (von viel Farbe und geringem Weißanteil zu wenig Farbe und hohem Weißanteil): H> hi > h > hn >he > Hre

Es handelt sich hierbei nicht – wie zunächst von Castle (1914) angenommen- um Modifier, die von einem anderen Genort die Exprimierung des Hooded Gens beeinflussen, sondern um eigenständige Alle auf dem H-Lokus im Sinne eines Polymorphismus. Die Vorstellung, dass einer oder mehrere Modifier ein Gen auf dem H-Lokus „befallen“ (und zwar entweder das dominante H oder des rezessive h) ist falsch (siehe Darstellung auf Farbrattengenetik.de.tl), da es die Allele selbst sind, die auf diesem Genort liegen.

Desweiteren wird angenommen, dass die Vererbung einer Variante der Husky-Zeichnung (Englisch „Roan“, wird auch als „Essex“ bezeichnet) über den H-Lokus läuft. Verursacht werden soll sie durch das Roan-Allel hro oder Hro , wobei es unterschiedliche Angaben dazu gibt, ob dieses Allel dominant und im homozygoten Fall lethal (NFRS) oder unvollständig rezessiv (Testverpaarungen) ist. Bei der Betrachtung der Genetik von Huskies muss zwischen Europäischen und US-Tieren unterschieden werden, da diese wahrscheinlich eine abweichende Genetik haben (Curiosity Rats). So wird zusätzlich ein eigenständiger Genort für die Kodierung eines dominant-rezessiven Husky-Erbgangs diskutiert.

Zusätzlich zum H-Lokus gibt es mindestens einen weiteren Genort, der tatsächlich in Form eines Modifiers die Expression der Allele auf dem H-Lokus beeinflusst. Auf dem Genort Hm können die Allele Hms (kurze Rückenzeichnung) und Hml (lange Rückenzeichnung) liegen. Für sich genommen können diese Allele keine Zeichnung phänotypisch ausprägen, beeinflussen aber die Expression der Alle auf dem H-Lokus.

Aus den vorangehenden Betrachtungen ergeben sich vielfältige Kombinationsmöglichkeiten, die teilweise zu ähnlich aussehende Phänotypen bei unterschiedlichen Genotypen führen können und sie oft nicht einer Mendel-Genetik folgen.

Mögliche Allel-Kombinationen für bestimmte Zeichnungen sind im Folgenden aufgeführt:

Bareback hh oder hhe oder hHms oder hhi
Berkshire Hh oder hhe oder hihi oder hihn
Blazed viele Kombinationsmöglichkeiten
Capped hnhn
Capped Stripe hreh oder Hrehre (lethal?)
English Irish Hh oder Hhi
Roan Hro oder HroH
Hooded hh oder hml
Irish Hh oder Hhi
Masked hehe
Variegated ?
Quelle:afrma

Unterschiedliche Ausprägungen der verschiedenen Hooded Allele. Quelle: Castle (1914).

Capped bzw. Notched Ratte. Genotyp: hnhn. Quelle: Castle (1914)

Hooded Ratte. Genotyp: hh oder hml.Quelle: Castle (1914)

Irish Ratte. Genotyp: Hh oder Hhi. Quelle: Castle (1914)

Verpaarungsexperiment. Eine wildfarbene Ratte (8000) wird mit einer Black Hooded (6176) verpaart. 8021 und 8018 stammen aus der F1. In der folgenden Generation spalten sich die Merkmale teilweise auf. 8075 ist eine Black Hooded mismarked, 8076 und 8077 sind Berkshires, 8078 ist eine Irish. Quelle: Castle (1914)

Verpaarungsexperiment. Quelle: Castle (1914)

Literatur