English Blue - the colors of the Rat

Kathrin Guttmann Colors, Knowledge, Breeding & Genetic

The color English Blue with pet rats than most other colors turn out differently in many different tones. Confusingly, there are then at certain shades blue rats even different names, he knows z.B. Slate Blue, Sky Blue, Powder Blue etc.

The origin of the "blue" rat is not fully understood, since the American Fancy Rat and Mouse Association (AFRMA) otherwise reported as the National Fancy Rat Society (NFRS)

The blue rat in England

According NFRS appeared the first English Blue Ratten 1990 in England, wo Joan Breanton, a member of the NFRS, Hooded three Mismarked rat babies in a pet shop discovered, the clear, bright blue color would have, as it had never before been described in pet rats.

The blue rat in the US

According AFMRA became the first blue rats (English Blue is in the United States as American Blue designated) from the AFRMA Mitlglied Sheryl Leisure 1990 also discovered in a pet shop (Report the discovery of the American Blue). this girl, the was named Tinker, was mated with a Lilac Silver Bock bred by Karen Robbins. This mating, together with some other blue rats, that appeared in pet stores, the basis for American Blue Zucht. The first American Blue rat was on 19. May 1991 shown on a AFRMA Show.

The blue rat travel

Interestingly, both sources reported a similar discovery history. Since it is not impossible, but is very unlikely, that the same mutation in two different places occurs almost simultaneously, is suspected, that either British Blues in the United States or American Blues (are genetically the same) had been sent to UK. The AFRMA not reported by the time Import blue rats from the UK, while the NFRS certainly indicates, in the early 1990s blue ratn to have exported to the US. There are American breeders, which are not associated with AFRMA, who report, British Blue rats from the UK to have imported. So it is quite possible, that this color variation actually first appeared in England and then landed in an American pet shop. This theory is also supported, that Sheryl Leisure reported, the Zooladenverkäufer have the rat, she found, as one "Special grey fancy rat variety" (special gray color rat species) touted.

The standard of "blue" rat

Since Blue can occur in many various shades which, can not speak of a standard for the blue rat you. In the following, there are different standards, the circumstances only a specific expression of British / describe American Blue.

Blue (American Blue, AFRMA)

The AFRMA describes the Farbe Blue the standard of 12. April 1992 as a slate gray, that should be as dark as possible and must not have any brown spots or silver hair. The eyes must be dark red or black.

Powder Blue (AFRMA & NFRS)

The Farbe Powder Blue with pet rats was on 7. March 2015 added to the standard of the AFRMA. The color should correspond to a very light powder blue and no rust, contain shades of gray or silver hair. The eye color is dark red or black.

THE NFRS describes Powder Blue as pale, powder blue color with a pale silvery fur base. The abdomen should be pale silver. The color is clearly different from that of a British blue rat. It should be as uniform as possible and no gray haze, having white hair or spots. The eyes are black or dark red.

Sky Blue (AFRMA)

Sky Blue is According AFRMA the original color of the American Blue, as without appropriate selection to Hell (Powder Blue) or dark (Blue) occurs. The color was on 4. April 1998 standardized. It is located between Blue and Powder Blue. The animals must not have any brown spots or silver hair, The eyes are dark red or black. A bright undercoat is a mistake.

British Blue (NFRS)

The NFRS standardizes the dark variant of the blue for pet rats under the name British Blue as a dark steel blue without brown hues. The color should be uniform and match the color of the belly of the top. The coat should be evenly colored blue-gray to the skin.

The genetics of "blue" rat

English Blue is a recessive trait, this means, a English Blue Ratte must homozygous (reinerbig) be for the English Blue Allel.

The locus is in German with d (for English Bue) or. D (for non-English-Blue / Wild form) abbreviated. Confusingly or the abbreviation d. D used in the US to designate Russian Blue. English Blue is there with g (English for Blue) or. G (for non-English-Blue / Wild form) abbreviated. The abbreviation g is however in Europe again for Graphite, the like Russian Blue looks, used. It is therefore advisable, asking exactly in doubt again, what kind is meant by Blue.

Also needs a English Blue Ratte be homozygous for the non-Agouti-(„Black“)-Allele at the locus and, d.h. it must be genetically aa rbrb. In addition to all the other dilution effect, of course, the color English Blue out, so that English Blue den Gencode aa B- M- dd Rb- M- C- P- R- etc. must have, So there must be the dominant allele of the wild type for all other dilutions.

The genetics of different shades of blue

The special feature of the feature English Blue is, that it occurs in so many very different variations. Therefore, some experts assume, that there are one or more modifiers on a different locus, that affect the expression of the characteristic. This assumption is supported by the fact, that a mating of Platinum with American origin and Powder Blue was with British origins in the union, surprisingly, also descendants in darker blue.

Another option could be, that the different tones are caused by different allele at the same locus. However, in the case is still elusive, in which dominant-recessive ratio are the alleles. This theory would explain, why some American Blue Linien No way darker shades of blue to produce, while some dark lines in the UK constantly come up with lighter rats. Nichole Royer z.B. approved, that brighter rats also occur in the United States in litters of dark blue again. The British breeder Ann Storey bestätgit, that results in two pet rats with bright blue never dark blue offspring.

Overview

descriptionuseGenetic
Bluedark, intensive Variante von Blue
UK (all associations


USA (RMCA, AFRMA)
recessive trait
UK dd
USA gg
Powder bluebrightest variant
UK (Unstandardised)


USA (RMCA, AFRMA)
light variety of blue, Possibly. another allele or Modifier
Slate Bluewie Blue
USA (RMFE)
wie Blue
Sky Bluemedium shade
USA (AFRMA, RMFE)
wie Blue
English Bluewie Blue

USA, HOLLAND, BELGIUM, GERMANY
wie Blue
American Blueis used to describe various Farböne
USA, HOLLAND, BELGIUM


UK (unstandardised shades between Powder and standard Blue).
wie Blue
Australian Bluemedium and darker shades
AUSTRALIA
Recently discovered.
unknown, probably as Blue
Russian BlueDark Blue Grayall Verbänge worldrecessive Marlmal
UK rbrb
USA dd

Many thanks to Sabine Presche for the image!

English Blue - die Farben der Ratte

Kathrin Guttmann Farben, Wissen, Zucht & Genetik Leave a Comment

Die Farbe English Blue bei Farbratten kommt anders als die meisten anderen Farben in vielen verschiedenen Tönen vor. Verwirrender Weise gibt es dann für bestimmte Farbnuancen bei blauen Ratten auch noch unterschiedliche Bezeichnungen, wie z.B. Slate Blue, Sky Blue, Powder Blue usw.

Die Herkunft der "blauen" Ratte ist nicht ganz geklärt, da die American Fancy Rat and Mouse Association (AFRMA) etwas anderes berichtet als die National Fancy Rat Society (NFRS)

Die blaue Ratte in England

Der NFRS zufolge tauchten die ersten English Blue Ratten 1990 in England auf, wo Joan Breanton, ein Mitglied der NFRS, drei Hooded Mismarked Rattenbabies in einem Zooladen entdeckte, die eine klare, strahlend blaue Farbe hatte, wie sie vorher noch nie bei Farbratten beschrieben worden war.

Die blaue Ratte in den USA

Der AFMRA zufolge wurde die erste blaue Ratten (English Blue wird in den USA auch als American Blue bezeichnet) von dem AFRMA Mitlglied Sheryl Leisure 1990 ebenfalls in einem Zooladen entdeckt (Bericht zur Entdeckung der American Blue). Dieses Mädel, das den Namen Tinker bekam, wurde mit einem Lilac Silver Bock aus der Zucht von Karen Robbins verpaart. Diese Verpaarung bildet zusammen mit einigen anderen blauen Ratten, die in Zooläden auftauchten, die Basis für die American Blue Zucht. Die erste American Blue Ratte wurde am 19. Mai 1991 auf einer AFRMA Show gezeigt.

Die Reise der blauen Ratte

Interessanter Weise berichten beide Quellen von einer ähnlichen Entdeckungsgeschichte. Da es zwar nicht unmöglich, aber sehr unwahrscheinlich ist, dass die selbe Mutation an zwei unterschiedlichen Orten fast zeitgleich auftritt, ist zu vermuten, dass entweder britische Blues in die USA oder American Blues (die genetisch das selbe sind) nach UK verschickt worden waren. Die AFRMA berichtet zu der Zeit nicht vom Import blauer Ratten aus Großbritannien, während die NFRS durchaus angibt, in den frühen 1990ern blauen Ratten in die USA exportiert zu haben. Es gibt US-amerikanische Züchter, die nicht mit der AFRMA assoziiert sind, die berichten, British Blue Ratten aus Großbritannien importiert zu haben. Es ist also durchaus möglich, dass diese Farbvariante tatsächlich zunächst in England auftauchte und dann in einem amerikanischen Zooladen landete. Diese Theorie wird auch dadurch gestützt, dass Sheryl Leisure berichtet, der Zooladenverkäufer haben die Ratte, die sie fand, als eine "Special grey fancy rat variety" (spezielle graue Farbratten Sorte) angepriesen.

Der Standard der "blauen" Ratte

Da Blau in vielen verschiendenen Farbtönen auftreten kann, kann man nicht von einem Standard für die blaue Ratte sprechen. Im folgenden finden sich verschiedenen Standards, die unter Umständen nur eine bestimmte Ausprägung von British / American Blue beschreiben.

Blue (American Blue, AFRMA)

Die AFRMA beschreibt die Farbe Blue im Standard vom 12. April 1992 als Schiefergrau, dass so dunkel wie möglich sein soll und keine braunen Flecken oder silberne Haare aufweisen darf. Die Augen müssen dunkel rot oder schwarz sein.

Powder Blue (AFRMA & NFRS)

Die Farbe Powder Blue bei Farbratten wurde am 7. März 2015 von der AFRMA in den Standard aufgenommen. Die Farbe sollte einem sehr hellen Puderblau entsprechen und keinen Rost, Grautöne oder silberne Haare enthalten. Die Augenfarbe ist dunkel rot oder schwarz.

DIE NFRS beschreibt Powder Blue als blasse, taubenblaue Farbe mit einer blassen silbernen Fellbasis. Der Bauch sollte blass silbern sein. Die Farbe unterscheidet sich deutlich von der einer British blauen Ratte. Sie sollte so gleichmäßig wie möglich sein und keinen Grauschleier, weiße Haare oder Flecken aufweisen. Die Augen sind schwarz oder dunkel rot.

Sky Blue (AFRMA)

Sky Blue ist der AFRMA zufolge der ursprüngliche Farbton der American Blue, wie er ohne entsprechende Selektion zu Hell (Powder Blue) oder Dunkel (Blue) auftritt. Die Farbe wurde am 4. April 1998 standardisiert. Sie liegt zwischen Blue und Powder Blue. Die Tiere dürfen keine braunen Flecken oder silberne Haare aufweisen, die Augen sind dunkel rot oder schwarz. Ein helles Unterfell ist ein Fehler.

British Blue (NFRS)

Die NFRS standardisiert die dunkle Variante des Blau bei Farbratten unter dem Namen British Blue als dunkles Stahlblau ohne braune Farbtöne. Die Farbe sollte gleichmäßig sein und die Farbe des Bauches der der Oberseite entsprechen. Das Fell sollte bis zur Haut gleichmäßig blaugrau durchgefärbt sein.

Die Genetik der "blauen" Ratte

English Blue ist ein rezessive Merkmal, das heißt, eine English Blue Ratte muss homozygot (reinerbig) sein für das English Blue Allel.

Der Genort wird im Deutschen mit d (für English Bue) bzw. D (für Non-English-Blue / Wildform) abgekürzt. Verwirrender Weise die Abkürzung d bzw. D in den USA zur Bezeichnung von Russian Blue verwendet. English Blue wird dort mit g (für English Blue) bzw. G (für Non-English-Blue / Wildform) abgekürzt. Die Abkürzung g wird allerdings in Europa wiederum für Graphite, das wie Russian Blue aussieht, verwendet. Es empfiehlt sich also, im Zweifelsfall noch einmal genau nach zu fragen, welche Art von Blau gemeint ist.

Zudem muss eine English Blue Ratte reinerbig sein für das Non-Agouti-(„Black“)-Allel auf dem a-Locus, d.h. sie muss genetisch aa rbrb sein. Desweiteren wirken sich selbstverständlich auch alle anderen Verdünnung auf die Farbe English Blue aus, so dass eine English Blue den Gencode aa B- M- dd Rb- M- C- P- R- usw. aufweisen muss, also für alle anderen Verdünnungen das dominante Allel der Wildform vorliegen muss.

Die Genetik der verschiedenen Farbtöne von Blau

Die Besonderheit des Merkmals English Blue ist, dass es in so vielen sehr unterschiedlichen Varianten vorkommt. Daher nehmen einige Fachleute an, dass es einen oder mehrere Modifier auf einem anderen Genort gibt, die sich auf die Ausprägung des Merkmals auswirken. Gestützt wird diese Annahme dadurch, dass eine Verpaarung von Platinum mit amerikanischem Ursprung und Powder Blue mit britischem Ursprung im Wurf überraschender Weise auch Nachkommen in dunklerem Blau gab.

Eine weitere Möglichkeit könnte sein, dass die unterschiedlichen Töne durch verschiedene Allel auf dem selben Genort verursacht werden. Allerdings ist in dem Fall noch völlig unklar, in welchem dominant-rezessivem Verhältnis die Allele stehen. Diese Theorie würde erklären, warum einige American Blue Linien niemals dunklere Blautöne produzieren, während einige dunkle Linien in Großbritannien immer wieder hellere Ratten hervorbringen. Nichole Royer z.B. bestätigt, dass auch in den USA immer wieder hellere Ratten in Würfen von dunklem Blau auftreten. Die britische Züchterin Ann Storey bestätgit, dass zwei Farbratten mit hellem blau niemals dunkel blaue Nachkommen ergeben.

Übersicht

BeschreibungVerwendungGenetik
Bluedunkle, intensive Variante von Blua
UK (alle Verbände


USA (RMCA, AFRMA)
Rezessives Merkmal
UK dd 
USA gg 
Powder bluehellste Variante
UK (Unstandardised)


USA (RMCA, AFRMA)
helle Variante von Blau, evtl. anderes Allel oder Modifier
Slate Bluewie Blue
USA (RMFE)
wie Blue
Sky Bluemittlerer Farbton
USA (AFRMA, RMFE)
wie Blue
English Bluewie Blue

USA, HOLLAND, BELGIUM, GERMANY
wie Blue
American Bluewird zur Beschreibung verschiedener Farböne verwendet
USA, HOLLAND, BELGIUM


UK (unstandardised shades between Powder and standard Blue).
wie Blue
Australian Bluemittlere und dunklerer Farbtöne
AUSTRALIA
Recently discovered.
ungeklärt, vermutlich wie Blue
Russian Bluedunkles Blaugraualle Verbänge weltweitRezessives Marlmal
UK rbrb
USA dd

Vielen Dank an Sabine Presche für das Bild!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.