Dove - the colors of the Rat

Kathrin Guttmann Colors, Knowledge, Breeding & Genetic

Where bzw. Russian Dove, as it is called in the US and the UK, is a combination of Mink (or Mock Mink) und Russian Blue (or Graphite). The somewhat reminiscent of the color of a collared dove.

Image
From Iruka at the English Wikipedia, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid = 6002012

The American Fancy Rat and Mouse Society, according to the color Dove be a warm taupe with a slight ticking, as well as at Russian Blue can be observed. The eye color is black. The National Fancy Rat and Mouse Society describes the color Dove as a warm cream-gray, which appears slightly mottled. This is not an error. The color should be uniform and the belly color should match the color back. The undercoat is light gray to the skin.

Dove is a combination of the features Russian Blue (or Graphite) and Mink (or Mock Mink). Since both features are recessive, they must homozygous (reinerbig) be present, so that the color Dove is pronounced.

The locus for Russian Blue is in German with rb (for Russian Blue) or. Rb (for non-Russian-Blue / Wild form) abbreviated. Confusing manner, or the same locus in the English-speaking world with d. D abbreviated, which in turn in Germany for English Blue / English blue is used. It is therefore advisable, asking exactly in doubt again, what kind is meant by Blue. Graphite is usually with gr (for Graphite) or. Gr (for non-Graphite / Wild form) abbreviated.

Also needs a Dove Color rat homozygous (reinerbig) be for the recessive trait Mink (or Mock Mink). The locus for Mink is with m (for Mink) or. M (for non-Mink / Wild form) abbreviated. Mock Mink is usually with mo (for Mock Mink) or. you (for non-mock-Mink / Wild form) abbreviated.

Furthermore, should a Dove-Color Rat be homozygous for the recessive non-agouti allele a. Is a dominant agouti allele A before, arises Dove Agouti.

Since all other dilutions on the color Dove would impact, must for all remaining samples at least be a dominant allele of the wild type. So a Dove rat has the genetic code aa rbrb or grgr B- mm or momo D- M- C- P- R- etc. respectively.

Thank you for the picture of a Dove color rat on Nisija's Rat Pack and Martha!

Dove - die Farben der Ratte

Kathrin Guttmann Farben, Wissen, Zucht & Genetik Leave a Comment

Dove bzw. Russian Dove, wie es in den USA und Großbritannien genannt wird, ist eine Kombination aus Mink (oder Mock Mink) und Russian Blue (oder Graphite). Die erinnert ein wenig an die Farbe einer Türkentaube.

Image
Von Iruka at the English Wikipedia, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=6002012

Der American Fancy Rat and Mouse Society zufolge soll die Farbe Dove ein warmes Taubengrau sein mit einem leichten Ticking, wie es auch bei Russian Blue beobachtet werden kann. Die Augenfarbe ist schwarz. Die National Fancy Rat and Mouse Society beschreibt die Farbe Dove als warmes Creme-Grau, das leicht meliert erscheint. Dies ist kein Fehler. Die Farbe sollte gleichmäßig sein und die Bauchfarbe sollte der Rückenfarbe entsprechen. Das Unterfell ist hellgrau bis zur Haut.

Dove ist eine Kombination der Merkmale Russian Blue (oder Graphite)  und Mink (oder Mock Mink). Da beider Merkmale rezessiv sind, müssen sie homozygot (reinerbig) vorliegen, damit die Farbe Dove ausgeprägt wird.

Der Genort für  Russian Blue wird im Deutschen mit rb (für Russian Blue) bzw. Rb (für Non-Russian-Blue / Wildform) abgekürzt. Verwirrender Weise wird derselbe Genort im englischsprachigen Raum mit d bzw. D abgekürzt, was wiederum in Deutschland für English Blue / Englisch Blau verwendet wird. Es empfiehlt sich also, im Zweifelsfall noch einmal genau nach zu fragen, welche Art von Blau gemeint ist. Graphite wird in der Regel mit gr (für Graphite) bzw. Gr (für Non-Graphite / Wildform) abgekürzt.

Zudem muss eine Dove Farbratte homozygot (reinerbig) sein für das rezessive Merkmal Mink (oder Mock Mink). Der Genort für Mink wird mit m (für Mink) bzw. M (für Non-Mink / Wildform) abgekürzt. Mock Mink wird in der Regel mit mo (für Mock Mink) bzw. Mo (für Non-Mock-Mink / Wildform) abgekürzt.

Desweiteren muss eine Dove-Farbratte reinerbig sein für das rezessive Non-Agouti Allel a. Liegt ein dominantes Agouti-Allel A vor, entsteht Dove-Agouti.

Da sich alle weiteren Verdünnungen auf die Farbe Dove auswirken würden, muss für alle übrigen Verdünnungen mindestens ein dominantes Allel der Wildform vorliegen. Eine Dove Ratte muss also den Gencode aa rbrb oder grgr B- mm oder momo D-  M- C- P- R- usw. aufweisen.

Vielen Dank für das Bild einer Dove Farbratte an Nisija's Rattenpack und Martha!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.