Color rat Lucifer, Black Devil Self Top Ear Red Eyed

The inheritance of the Devil-(Marten-)Allels

Kathrin Guttmann Shades / Shade, Knowledge, Breeding & Genetic

The standard of Devil- / Marten Rat

Die American Fancy Rat and Mouse Associations and the National Fancy Rat Society (NFRS) describe in their standards or Devils. Martens, as they are called in English-speaking countries, as follows. The color of the body should be comparable with a pencil hardness HB, in adult animals, the color may be slightly faded. Light color stains can be expected. The fur on the face should at the base of whiskers, be lightened over the eyes and behind the ears. The belly has a slightly paler shade of gray than the top. The color of the feet should correspond to the top. When errors are rust, white toes or spots and darker points at the nose, viewed the tail and feet. The eyes should be pink.

The NFRS also describes nor the agouti version of the Devils / Marten, which is referred to in the UK as Silver Agouti. The color is a mix of medium gray banding (Ticking) over a pale ivory ground, without any hint of blue or brown undertones. The harness should be the darkest along the back and fade over the sides to a pale ivory belly. Even with these animals' hair should be in the face at the base of whiskers, be lightened over the eyes and behind the ears. Apply the same mistakes as the the Devils / Marten.

The history of the Devil- / Marten Rat

The first Devils were 2008 discovered by René Bastiaans in the Netherlands. They came from German laboratory strains and RED were initially for "Red Eyed Devil" called, since there were only Devil with red eyes at the time. 2010 the animals were imported into the UK and there as Marten (engl. For "marten") designated. Meanwhile, black-eyed Devils could be crossbreeding of the UK Black Eyed gene pulled.

Genetics of Devil- / Marten Rat

the genetics, which is the destruction the Devil-Shade, was as so often with new varieties initially unknown. Initially it was assumed, that lying on a different locus Modifier the expression of alleles of the locus C [also C, c and c(h)] affected (compare farbrattengenetik.de.tl).

Meanwhile, it is assumed, that there is a lying on the C-locus allele in the party responsible for Devil shading Genetics. This allele is c(m) designated. Further lying on the C locus alleles are C or for standard. Non-Albino, c for albino and c(h) Himalaya (homozygot Siam).

Das Devil- or. Marten allele is recessive to C, dominant over c and incompletely dominant over c(h).

This has the following genotype and phenotype in combination with the Devil- / Marten allele:

cc(m) - "Albino" Devil ohne points
c(m)c(m) - homozygoter Devil ohne points
c(h)c(m) - Himalaya Devil mit Points

For Black Eyed Devils the UK black eyed allele in a homozygous form is also required.

Other combinations

From the considerations of genetics underlying suggests, that the shading Devil with all sorts of colors, drawings, Coat types and body types can be combined. However, it should be noted, that have been reported no Devil outfits with Red Eye Dilute or pink Eyey Dilute, but what may be because, that the animals are difficult to detect. DarauAus the possible combinations result phenotypes, which significantly differ from the standards of AFRMA and NFRS. Including Devils with drawings are of course possible.

Illustration: Black Eyed Devil (Many of the cute picture of Melissa by Wolf Rats)

Farbratte Luzifer, Black Devil Self Top Ear Red Eyed

Die Vererbung des Devil-(Marten-)Allels

Kathrin Guttmann Schattierung / Shade, Wissen, Zucht & Genetik

Der Standard der Devil-/Marten-Ratte

Die American Fancy Rat and Mouse Associations und die National Fancy Rat Society (NFRS) beschreiben in ihren Standards Devils bzw. Martens, wie sie in englischsprachigen Raum genannte werden, wie folgt. Die Farbe des Körpers sollte vergleichbar sein mit einem Bleistift der Härte HB, bei erwachsenen Tieren kann die Farbe leicht ausgeblichen sein. Leichte Bildung von Farbflecken ist zu erwarten. Das Fell im Gesicht soll an der Basis der Tasthaare, über den Augen und hinter den Ohren aufgehellt sein. Die Bauchseite hat einen etwas blasseren Grauton als die Oberseite. Die Farbe der Füße soll der der Oberseite entsprechen. Als Fehler werden Roststellen, weiße Zehen oder Flecken sowie dunklere Points an der Nase, der Schwanzwurzel und den Füßen angesehen. Die Augen sollen rosa sein.

Die NFRS beschreibt außerdem noch die Agouti-Variante des Devils /Marten, die in Großbritannien als Silver Agouti bezeichnet wird. Die Farbe ist eine Mischungs aus mittelgrauer Bänderung (Ticking) über einem blass-elfenbeinfarbenen Grund, ohne jeden Anflug von blauen oder braunen Untertönen. Die Bänderung sollte entlang des Rückens am dunkelsten sein und über die Seiten zu einem blass elfenbeinfarbenen Bauch ausbleichen. Auch bei diesen Tieren sollte das Fell im Gesicht an der Basis der Tasthaare, über den Augen und hinter den Ohren aufgehellt sein. Es gelten die selben Fehler wie den den Devils/Marten.

Die Geschichte der Devil-/Marten-Ratte

Die ersten Devils wurden 2008 von René Bastiaans in den Niederlande entdeckt. Sie stammten aus deutschen Laborstämmen und wurden zunächst RED für "Red Eyed Devil" genannt, da es zu dem Zeitpunkt nur Devil mit roten Augen gab. 2010 wurden die Tiere in Groß Britannien importiert und dort als Marten (engl. für "Marder") bezeichnet. Inzwischen konnten auch schwarzäugige Devils durch die Einkreuzung des UK Black Eyed Gens gezogen werden.

Genetik der Devil-/Marten Ratte

Die Genetik, die dem Devil-Shade zugrund liegt, war wie so oft bei neuen Varietäten anfangs unbekannt. Zunächst ging man davon aus, dass ein auf einem anderen Genort liegender Modifier die Ausprägung von Allelen des C-Lokus [also C, c und c(h)] beeinflusst (vergleiche farbrattengenetik.de.tl).

Inzwischen geht man davon aus, dass es sich bei der für die Devil-Schattierung verantwortlichen Genetik um ein auf dem C-Lokus liegendes Allel handelt. Dieses Allel wird mit c(m) bezeichnet. Weitere auf dem C-Lokus liegende Allele sind C für Standard bzw. Non-Albino, c für Albino und c(h) für Himalaya (homozygot Siam).

Das Devil- bzw. Marten-Allel ist rezessiv gegenüber C, dominant gegenüber c und unvollständig dominant gegenüber c(h).

Daraus ergeben sich folgende Genotype und Phänotype in Kombination mit dem Devil-/Marten-Allel:

cc(m) - "Albino" Devil ohne points
c(m)c(m) - homozygoter Devil ohne points
c(h)c(m) - Himalaya Devil mit Points

Für Black Eyed Devils ist zusätzlich das UK black Eyed Allel in homozygoter Form notwendig.

Weitere Kombinationen

Aus den Betrachtungen der zugrunde liegenden Genetik lässt sich schließen, dass die Schattierung Devil mit allen möglichen Farben, Zeichnungen, Felltypen und Körpertypen kombinierbar ist. Allerdings ist anzumerken, dass bisher noch keine Devil-Kombinationen mit Red Eye Dilute oder Pink Eyey Dilute beschrieben wurden, was aber daran liegen kann, dass die Tiere nur schwer zu erkennen sind. DarauAus den möglichen Kombinationen ergeben sich Phänotypen, die deutlich von den Standards der AFRMA und der NFRS abweichen. So sind selbstverständlich auch Devils mit Zeichnungen möglich.

Abbildung: Black Eyed Devil (Vielen für das niedliche Bild an Melissa von den Wolf Rats)