Chocolate - the colors of the Rat

Kathrin Guttmann Colors, Knowledge, Breeding & Genetic

The standard of Chocolate Rat

Chocolate rats are the STandard the American Fancy Rat and Mouse Association and the National Fancy Rat Society (UK) According to a deep, rich chocolate color have no gray veil, white hairs or spots. The feet should match the color of the top, The eyes are black.

Genetics of Chocolate Rat

The feature Chocolate is encoded on the B locus. The Chocolate allele (b) is recessive to wild-type (B). That means, that only homozygous (homozygous animals) the color Chocolate mint phenotypically. Additionally Chocolate rats have to be homozygous for the trait non-agouti / Black (aa). The gene coding for a Chocolate-rat is aa bb, with all other features must be present in the wild-type. Chocolate-carriers are not different from rats, The homozygous for the Non-Chocolate-allele.

elder, bad colored black animals like Chocolate appear, especially if they rust strong. The clearest Chocolate can be seen in very young animals. Here Chocolate appears in a strong, dark brown and scheided significantly even from badly stained black babies.

Image

Illustration: Chocolate color rat

Image

Illustration: Chocolate color rat

Image

Illustration: Chocolate color rat

Image

Illustration: Compare Black (links) and Chocolate (right)

Chocolate - die Farben der Ratte

Kathrin Guttmann Farben, Wissen, Zucht & Genetik

Der Standard der Chocolate-Ratte

Chocolate Ratten sollen dem STandard der American Fancy Rat and Mouse Association und der National Fancy Rat Society (UK) zufolge eine tiefe, satte Schokoladenfarbe haben ohne grauen Schleier, weiße Haare oder Flecken. Die Füße sollen der Farbe der Oberseite entsprechen, die Augen sind schwarz.

Genetik der Chocolate-Ratte

Das Merkmal Chocolate wird auf dem B-Lokus kodiert. Das Chocolate-Allel (b) ist dabei rezessiv gegenüber der Wildform (B). Das bedeutet, dass nur homozygote (reinerbige Tiere) die Farbe Chocolate phänotypisch ausprägen. Zusätzlich müssen Chocolate-Ratten homozygot für das Merkmal Non-Agouti/Black sein (aa). Der Gencode für eine Chocolate-Ratte lautet aa bb, wobei alle anderen Merkmale in der Wildform vorliegen müssen. Chocolate-Träger unterscheiden sich nicht von Ratten, die reinerbig für das Non-Chocolate-Allel sind.

Ältere, schlecht gefärbte schwarze Tiere können wie Chocolate erscheinen, vor allem wenn sie stark rosten. Am deutlichsten ist Chocolate bei sehr jungen Tieren zu erkennen. Hier erscheint Chocolate in einem kräftigen, dunklen Braunton und unterscheided sich deutlich selbst von schlecht gefärbten schwarzen Babies.

Image

Abbildung: Chocolate Farbratte

Image

Abbildung: Chocolate Farbratte

Image

Abbildung: Chocolate Farbratte

Image

Abbildung: Vergleich Black (links) und Chocolate (rechts)