Ratte Rosalea, Burmese Harley

Burmese und Wheaten Burmese

Kathrin Guttmann Shades / Shade, Knowledge, Breeding & Genetic

The standard of the Burmese rat

Burmese can theoretically Shade (Shades) appear on each color, wherein it is at its best to bear on dark colors. but only Burmese is standardized to black or agoutifarbenen animals.

The NFRS and AFRMA demand at a Burmese uniform, strong medium brown stains without Silvering or, with darker points of the same color. There should be a strong contrast between the points and the body color. The eyes are black.

In the German standard of color rat is a rich, deep brown required as the base color. Tapering to head- and the tail and feet the color changes into a darker brown (from the end of the hip, facial, in the middle between the front and your, from the feet from the end of the ankle). Missing Points shall be considered defective.

In the standard the NFRS a Wheaten Burmese is described as beige with significantly darker Points, the undercoat may be light gray. The belly should have a bright silver gray, The eyes are black.

The AFRMA has been conducting 2008 Wheaten Burmese under the name Agouti Burmese as a nonstandard variant. The body color should be a not too dark or warm red to brown are, Cinnamon is similar, with a light gray-brown at the base of the hair. The coat should be uniform ticked with mid-brown outer coat. The belly should have a bright silver gray. The points should be considerably darker than the body color.

Russian Blue Burmese are guided by the AFRMA as unrecognized color-shade combination. The color should be a warm medium gray with blue shades without silvering or stains with clearly visible darker points of the same color. A slight mottling and a ticked appearance (Heathering) is very common and no error.

Russian Blue Burmese Agouti are the result AFRMA to have a light sand color with blue ticking, the Poinst to be much darker than the body color. The undercoat should be light blue-gray. The stomach should be of pale silvery-gray. The eyes are black.

Image
Russian Blue Burmese Harley

The genetics of Burmese rat

Burmese have given great mystery at the beginning of their breeding history breeders in terms of inheritance this Shades. I want to represent the history of the development of the Burmese rat here, to show once, that it is not always easy to determine, how they are inherited certain characteristics.

have the output of the Burmese animals originated in a laboratory line of Edinburgh University Scotland, from albino rats and, which were described as "reddish Cinnamon" Hooded, file. From this line two animal went to a breeder: The Milkman, of a Black Eyed White should be, and Crystal, a reddish Cinnamon Hoddeds.

Various matings and Rückverpaarungen gave the following colors (are not consistent with current common names):

„milky-tea taupe“ (literally: "Tea with milk Mole-color") or "stone" (because it looked like Stone in mice)

and

Black Eyed Cream"Or"Black Eyed Champagne“ (Cream / Champagne with dark eyes)

Image
mole, French "Taupe" (From Didier Descouens - own work, CC BY-SA 4.0, Link)
Image
Burmese Harley

The C(e)-theory

Die B.E. Champagne developed in shedding Points, However, the later faded. At that time it was thought, Burmese that is transmitted over the C-locus and the allele c(e) responsible is One came from following genotypes, the inheritance of Stone (UK, referred to in the AFRMA with reverse Siamese) meet in mice:

  • c(e)c(e)
  • Taupe/Stone
  • c(e)c
  • or for Black Eyed Cream. Ivory in mice (by AFRMA)
  • c(e)c(h)
  • Color Point Beige

In October 1998 came a trio of Black Eyed Creams to a breeder in London. The three rats were probably F2 animals from Black Eyed Cream F1 animals with "The Milkman" as a father. At the time, many test breeding have been made with the animals, to realize, Genetics which is behind the Shade. After some time, it was found, that the stone animals a slight ticking (Cream and white on beige) showed, which led regarding the genotype to believe, dass Black Eyed Creme und Black Eyed Himalaya Non-Agouti (aa) are based, while Stone Agouti should be based (A-). However, it was possible in any test mating, what B.E. to breed Siamese Cream x or x Stone Pink Eyed White pure agoutis.

In the year 2000 the company was renamed the Farbbezeichnugen:

Stone/Taupe was to Biscuit

Black Eyed Cream was to Milk

Image
Burmese from the Rendevous Council

The e-Theory

At times, it was assumed, that another locus than the C locus is responsible for the new variant. In mice there is the Extension locus, on the opposite to the wild-type allele recessive e (recessive yellow) ensures, that black pigment is reduced and monochrome yellow hair arises. However, the option of inheriting Biscuit could (formerly Stone / Taupe) and Milk (vormals Black Eyed Cream) be ruled out relatively quickly via a e-locus by trial mating.

Image
Burmese Harley

The C(e)-c(b)-theory

2001 appeared the first Sable on Burmese, the dark and gray were known as the "Biscuit" Animals and black points had. Meanwhile, they had broken away from the idea, that the inheritance of the new Shades alone a c(e)-Allele on the C locus runs, and went analogy of an inheritance for Burmese in cats from. It now adopted the following genotypes:

  • c(b)c(h)
  • Taupe/Stone/Biscuit
  • c(e)
  • Ivory (before Black Eyed Cream or. Milk)
  • c(b)c(h)
  • Sable Burmese
  • unknown
  • Dark Eyed dark Cream

But even with these assumptions, the results of test breeding could not be explained.

Burmese Variegated Farbratte
Burmese Variegated (non-standard)

The C(b)-theory

2005 then the following genetics was proposed:

  • aa c(b)c(b)
  • Sable Burmese
  • aa c(b)c(h) or c aa(b)c
  • Burmese
  • A- c(b)c(b)
  • Wheaten Sable Burmese
  • A- c(b)c(h) or A- c(b)c
  • Wheaten Burmese

But this assumption was refuted by test breeding.

Image

comparison: top Siamese, unten Burmese, Those: Rendevous Rats

The Bu-theory

Today, it is at least in Germany assume, that there is a separate locus, encoded on the Burmese and affects the expression of the alleles on the C-locus. The Burmese allele is dominant or against the non-Burmese allele. the wild-type allele of the. the corresponding animal is allowed to become visible to the effect of Burmese allele carry no wild-type allele on a C-Locus, d.h. it must not be the genotype C- feature. This produces the following genotypes:

  • aa c(h)c(h) BuBu oder aa c(h)c BuBu
  • Sable Burmese mit Points
  • cc aa BuBu
  • Sable Burmese ohne Points
  • aa c(h)c(h) Bubu oder aa c(h)c Bubu
  • Burmese mit Points
  • cc aa Bubu
  • Burmese ohne Points

The inheritance of Wheaten Burmese is analogous with A- Instead of aa on the Agouti locus.

Image
Burmese cub, Those: Rattery of the Walking Rats

Die Be(this)-theory

Some growers argue, that must be present in a Burmese also definitely a Black Eyed allele. This allele is dominant over the non-black-eyed allele, but only in albino, Himalaya, Siam or Devil visible, So in animals, would have the red due to a C-locus allele eyes. In these animals, the Black Eyed provides allele for, that the eyes are black. Another theory says, that Burmese by a third black eyed allele Be(this) (next to the Black Eyed allele Be and the Non-Black-eyed allele be) is caused.

Image
Wheaton Burmese (Those: Rattery of the Walking Rats)

The C(e)-c(i)-theory

To make the whole thing even more complicated, was also suggested, In addition to the already illustrated above allele c(e) to accept a further C-locus allele, the C(i). Therefore, the following alleles could be on the C locus:

  • C
  • Wild form
  • c(e)
  • extreme Dilute
  • c(h)
  • Himalaya
  • c(i)
  • intense Dilute

This implies the following combinations would result:

  • CC
  • Wild form (Black bzw. Agouti)
  • c(e)c(e)
  • Sable Burmese
  • c(e)c(h)
  • Burmese
  • c(e)c(i)
  • Burmese (too bright)
  • c(h)c(i)
  • Black Eyed Siamese
  • c(i)c(i)
  • Black Eyed Himalaya
  • c(e)c
  • Burmese (extreme hell) or. Dark Cream in NFRS
  • c(i)c
  • Ivory

Current view in Germany

Currently it is based on the theory in Germany, that two loci are involved, and that the Burmese allele dominant or. is intermediate to the wild-type. In addition, Burmese shows only, if no non-albino allele C is present, So only cc, cc(h) and c(h)c(h). The genotypes CC or CC Burmese is phenotypically distinct and remains "invisible".

  • Bubu c(h)c(h)
  • Burmese in a normal Braunton, pronounced Point
  • BuBu c(h)c(h)
  • Sable Burmese, Dark brown, pronounced Points
  • Bubu c(h)c
  • Pale Burmese, lighter than normal, weaker Points
  • BuBu c(h)c
  • Pale Sabel Burmese
  • Bubu cc
  • Burmese ohne Points (named in GB also Biscuit Cream)
  • BuBu cc
  • Sable Burmese ohne Points

All information above refer to the genotype aa, so animals, the homozygous for non-agouti (Black) are. Animals with at least one allele Agouti (So Aa or AA) shape from the corresponding Wheaten Burmese phenotype.

Finally it should be noted, that the professional world is currently not quite agree on the inheritance of Burmese. The National Fancy Rat and Mouse Association therefore writes, that genetic background has not been assigned to Burmese and is still under investigation. I recommend, play through various explanations variants at once own matings, because sometimes different explanations fit the same litter.

Ratte Rosalea, Burmese Harley

Burmese und Wheaten Burmese

Kathrin Guttmann Schattierung / Shade, Wissen, Zucht & Genetik

Der Standard der Burmese Ratte

Burmese kann theoretisch als Shade (Schattierung) auf jeder Farbe vorkommen, wobei es auf dunklen Farben am schönsten zur Geltung kommt. Standardisiert ist allerdings nur Burmese auf schwarzen oder agoutifarbenen Tieren.

Die NFRS und AFRMA verlangen bei einer Burmese ein gleichmäßiges, kräftiges Mittelbraun ohne Silvering oder Flecken, mit dunkleren Points derselben Farbe. Es soll ein kräftiger Kontrast zwischen den Points und der Körperfarbe bestehen. Die Augen sind schwarz.

Im Deutschen Standard der Farbratte wird ein sattes, tiefes Braun als Grundfarbe gefordert. Auslaufend zu Kopf- und Schwanzansatz und an den Füßen geht die Farbe in ein dunkleres Braun über (ab Ende der Hüfte, im Gesichtsbereich, in der Mitte zwischen Stirn und Ihren, ab den Füßen ab Ende des Fußgelenks). Fehlende Points gelten als fehlerhaft.

Im Standard der NFRS wird eine Wheaten Burmese beschrieben als sandfarben mit deutlich dunkleren Points, das Unterfell kann Hellgrau sein. Der Bauch sollte ein helles Silbergrau haben, die Augen sind schwarz.

Die AFRMA führt seit 2008 Wheaten Burmese unter dem Namen Agouti Burmese als unstandardisierte Variante. Die Körperfarbe sollte ein nicht zu dunkles oder zu rotes warmes Braun sind, das Cinnamon ähnelt, mit einem hellen Graubraun an der Basis der Haare. Das Fell sollte gleichmäßig getickt sein mit mittelbraunem Deckhaar. Der Bauch sollte ein helles Silbergrau haben. Die Points sollten deutlich dunkler sein als die Körperfarbe.

Russian Blue Burmese werden von der AFRMA als nicht anerkannte Farbe-Shade-Kombination geführt. Die FArbe sollte ein warmes Mittelgrau mit blauen Nuancen sein ohne Silvering oder Flecken mit deutlich sichtbaren dunkleren Points der selben Farbe. Eine leichte Sprenkelung und ein geticktes Aussehen (Heathering) ist sehr verbreitet und kein Fehler.

Russian Blue Burmese Agouti sollen der AFRMA zu Folge eine helle Sandfarbe mit blauem Ticking habe, die Poinst sollen deutlich dunkler sein als die Körperfarbe. Das Unterfell soll hell Blau-Grau sein. Die Bauch soll von blassem Silbrig-Grau sein. Die Augen sind schwarz.

Image
Russian Blue Burmese Harley

Die Genetik der Burmese Ratte

Burmesen haben zu Beginn ihrer Zuchtgeschichte den Züchtern große Rätsel aufgegeben was die Vererbung dieses Shades angeht. Ich möchte die Geschichte der Entwicklung der Burmese Ratte hier darstellen, um einmal zu zeigen, dass es nicht immer ganz einfach ist festzustellen, wie sich bestimmte Merkmale vererben.

Die Ausgangstiere der Burmese haben ihren Ursprung in einer Laborlinie der Edingburgh Universität Schottland, die aus Albinos und Ratten, die als „rötliche Cinnamon“ Hooded beschrieben wurden, bestand. Aus dieser Linie gingen zwei Tier an einen Züchter: The Milkman, der eine Black Eyed White sein sollte, und Crystal, eine der rötlichen Cinnamon Hoodeds.

Verschiedene Verpaarungen und Rückverpaarungen ergaben folgende Farben (die nicht mit aktuell gebräuchlichen Bezeichnungen übereinstimmen):

„milky-tea taupe“ (wörtlich übersetzt: "Tee mit Milch Maulwurf-Farben") oder „stone“ (da es so aussah wie Stone bei Mäusen)

und

Black Eyed Cream” oder “Black Eyed Champagne“ (Creme/Champagne mit dunklen Augen)

Image
Maulwurf, Französisch "Taupe" (Von Didier Descouens - Eigenes Werk, CC BY-SA 4.0, Link)
Image
Burmese Harley

Die c(e)-Theorie

Die B.E. Champagne entwickelten im Fellwechsel Points, die allerdings später verblassten. Damals nahm man an, dass Burmese über den C-Locus vererbt wird und das Allel c(e) dafür verantwortlich ist Man ging von folgenden Genotypen aus, die der Vererbung von Stone (UK, bei der AFRMA mit Reverse Siamese bezeichnet) bei Mäusen entsprechen:

  • c(e)c(e)
  • Taupe/Stone
  • c(e)c
  • für Black Eyed Cream bzw. Elfenbein bei Mäusen (nach AFRMA)
  • c(e)c(h)
  • Color Point Beige

Im Oktober 1998 gelangte ein Trio von Black Eyed Creams zu einem Züchter in London. Die drei Ratten waren wahrscheinlich F2-Tiere aus Black Eyed Cream F1-Tieren mit „The Milkman“ als Vater. Zu der Zeit wurden viele Testverpaarungen mit den Tieren gemacht, um festzustellen, welche Genetik sich hinter dem Shade verbirgt. Nach einiger Zeit stellte man fest, dass die Stone-Tiere ein leichtes Ticking (Cremeweiss auf Beige) zeigten, was bezüglich des Genotyps zu der Annahme führte, dass Black Eyed Creme und Black Eyed Himalaya Non-Agouti (aa) basiert sind, während Stone Agouti basiert sein sollte (A-). Allerdings gelang es in keiner Testverpaarung, mit B.E. Cream x Siamese oder Stone x Pink Eyed White reine Agoutis zu züchten.

Im Jahr 2000 erfolgte eine Umbenennung der Farbbezeichnugen:

Stone/Taupe wurde zu Biscuit

Black Eyed Cream wurde zu Milk

Image
Burmesen von den Rendevous Rats

Die e-Theorie

Zeitweise wurde angenommen, dass ein anderer Genort als der C-Locus für die neue Variante verantwortlich ist. Bei Mäusen gibt es den Extension-Locus, auf dem das gegenüber der Wildform rezessive e-Allel (recessive yellow) dafür sorgt, dass schwarzes Pigment reduziert wird und einfarbig gelbes Haar entsteht. Allerdings konnte die Option der Vererbung von Biscuit (vormals Stone/Taupe) und Milk (vormals Black Eyed Cream) über einen e-Locus durch Testverpaarungen relativ zügig ausgeschlossen werden.

Image
Burmese Harley

Die c(e)-c(b)-Theorie

2001 tauchten die ersten Sable Burmese auf, die dunkler und grauer waren als die „Biscuit“ Tiere und schwarze Points besaßen. Inzwischen hatte man sich von der Vorstellung gelöst, dass die Vererbung des neuen Shades allein über ein c(e)-Allel auf dem C-Locus läuft, und ging von einer Vererbung analog zum Burmese bei Katzen aus. Man nahm jetzt folgende Genotypen an:

  • c(b)c(h)
  • Taupe/Stone/Biscuit
  • c(e)
  • Ivory (vorher Black Eyed Cream bzw. Milk)
  • c(b)c(h)
  • Sable Burmese
  • unbekannt
  • Dark Eyed dark Cream

Doch auch mit diesen Annahmen konnten die Ergebnisse von Testverpaarungen nicht erklärt werden.

Burmese Variegated Farbratte
Burmese Variegated (entspricht nicht dem Standard)

Die c(b)-Theorie

2005 wurde dann folgende Genetik vorgeschlagen:

  • aa c(b)c(b)
  • Sable Burmese
  • aa c(b)c(h) oder aa c(b)c
  • Burmese
  • A- c(b)c(b)
  • Wheaten Sable Burmese
  • A- c(b)c(h) oder A- c(b)c
  • Wheaten Burmese

Doch auch diese Annahme wurde durch Testverpaarungen wiederlegt.

Image

Vergleich: Oben Siamese, unten Burmese, Quelle: Rendevous Rats

Die Bu-Theorie

Heute geht man zumindest in Deutschland davon aus, dass es einen separaten Genort gibt, auf dem Burmese kodiert ist und der die Ausprägung der Allele auf dem C-Locus beeinflusst. Das Burmese Allel ist dabei dominant gegenüber dem Non-Burmese Allel bzw. dem Allel der Wildform. Zum Sichtbarwerden des Effekts des Burmese-Allels darf das entsprechende Tier kein Wildform-Allel auf einem C-Locus tragen, d.h. es darf nicht über den Genotyp C- verfügen. Es ergeben sich folgende Genotypen:

  • aa c(h)c(h) BuBu oder aa c(h)c BuBu
  • Sable Burmese mit Points
  • aa cc BuBu
  • Sable Burmese ohne Points
  • aa c(h)c(h) Bubu oder aa c(h)c Bubu
  • Burmese mit Points
  • aa cc Bubu
  • Burmese ohne Points

Die Vererbung von Wheaten Burmese verläuft analog mit A- statt aa auf dem Agouti-Locus.

Image
Burmese Jungtier, Quelle: Rattery of the Walking Rats

Die Be(bu)-Theorie

Einige Züchter führen an, dass bei einem Burmesen auch auf jeden Fall ein Black Eyed Allel vorhanden sein muss. Dieses Allel ist dominant gegenüber dem Non-black-Eyed-Allel, wird aber nur bei Albino, Himalaya, Siam oder Devil sichtbar, also bei Tieren, die aufgrund eines C-Locus-Allels rote Augen haben müssten. Bei diesen Tieren sorgt das Black Eyed Allel dafür, dass die Augen schwarz werden. Eine weitere Theorie besagt, dass Burmese durch ein drittes Black Eyed Allel Be(bu) (neben dem Black Eyed Allel Be und dem Non-Black-Eyed-Allel be) hervorgerufen wird.

Image
Wheaton Burmese (Quelle: Rattery of the Walking Rats)

Die c(e)-c(i)-Theorie

Um die ganze Sache noch komplizierter zu machen, wurde auch vorgeschlagen, neben den bereits oben dargestellten Allel c(e) ein weiteres C-Locus-Allel anzunehmen, das c(i). Damit könnten auf dem C-Locus folgende Allele liegen:

  • C
  • Wildform
  • c(e)
  • extreme Dilute
  • c(h)
  • Himalaya
  • c(i)
  • intense Dilute

Daraus würden sich folgende Kombinationen ergeben:

  • CC
  • Wildform (Black bzw. Agouti)
  • c(e)c(e)
  • Sable Burmese
  • c(e)c(h)
  • Burmese
  • c(e)c(i)
  • Burmese (zu hell)
  • c(h)c(i)
  • Black Eyed Siamese
  • c(i)c(i)
  • Black Eyed Himalaya
  • c(e)c
  • Burmese (extreme hell) bzw. Dark Cream in NFRS
  • c(i)c
  • Ivory

Aktuelle Sichtweise in Deutschland

Momentan geht man in Deutschland von der Theorie aus, dass zwei Genorte beteiligt sind und dass das Burmese-Allel dominant bzw. intermediär ist zur Wildform. Darüber hinaus zeigt sich Burmese nur, wenn kein Non-Albino-Allel C vorhanden ist, also nur auf cc, cc(h) sowie c(h)c(h). Bei den Genotypen Cc oder CC wird Burmese phänotypisch nicht ausgeprägt und bleibt "unsichtbar".

  • Bubu c(h)c(h)
  • Burmese in einem normalen Braunton, ausgeprägte Point
  • BuBu c(h)c(h)
  • Sable Burmese, dunkles braun, stark ausgeprägte Points
  • Bubu c(h)c
  • Pale Burmese, heller als normal, schwächere Points
  • BuBu c(h)c
  • Pale Sabel Burmese
  • Bubu cc
  • Burmese ohne Points (in GB auch Biscuit Cream genannt)
  • BuBu cc
  • Sable Burmese ohne Points

Alle Angaben oben beziehen sich auf den Genotyp aa, also Tiere, die reinerbig für Non-Agouti (Black) sind. Tiere mit mindestens einem Agouti-Allel (also Aa oder AA) prägen den entsprechenden Wheaten-Burmese-Phänotyp aus.

Abschließend bleibt zu bemerken, dass sich die Fachwelt momentan noch nicht ganz einig über die Vererbung von Burmese ist. Die National Fancy Rat and Mouse Association schreibt daher auch, dass der genetische Hintergrund zu Burmese noch nicht belegt ist und derzeit noch untersucht wird. Ich empfehle, bei eigenen Verpaarungen einmal verschiedene Erklärungsvarianten durchzuspielen, denn manchmal passen verschiedene Erklärungen zu ein und demselben Wurf.