Baby rats Kafka, Beige Dumbo Dwarf (dwarf rat)

Buff and beige - the colors of the Rat

Kathrin Guttmann Colors, Knowledge, Breeding & Genetic

The colors buff and beige can create some confusion, since both the names and the underlying genetics in different countries use different. What in the US e.g.. called Beige, is the UK Buff.

The National Fancy Rat Society Buff describes as a warm magnolia color without gray tinge (here is the problem, that there are magnolias in different colors, please refer Wikipedia). The color of the abdomen should match the color of the back and the eyes are dark ruby (Dark ruby). Beige is not standardized in the NFRS. The American Fancy Rat and Mouse Society however, describes Beige and not Buff. Beige should therefore warm, greyish Lohfarbe (Tan) his, which should not be too dark. The eyes are also dark ruby (Dark ruby).

Illustration: Buff (aa mm rr) Harley Young

The genetics of buff or beige rat

Behind the color name buff and beige to different genotypes can hide.

Basically it is or in Buff. always attached to animals, are homozygous for the rezssive non-agouti allele or. for black. Added to this is always, that the recessive allele for red-eye dilution (Red Eye Dilute, R.E.D.) also present reinerbig. This dilution allele ensures, that the really dark color of the animals is brightened to a beige. yet now comes the Mink allele or the chocolate allele homozygous added, the animals are a little brighter and usually referred to in Germany as Buff.

In Britain, the term Buff e.g.. for all possible non-agouti rats with the Verdünnungsallel for red eye (Red Eye Dilute, R.E.D.) used. In the US, the term is not used Buff. Instead, it refers to non-agouti animals with the Verdünnungsallel for red eye (Red Eye Dilute, R.E.D.) as Beige. In Germany, the darker animals with the genotype aa rr are usually as Beige, the lighter with the genotype aa mm (or. love) rr as referred Buff. Latter, So animals with the genotype aa mm (or. love) rr, are referred to in the US as dark eyed champagne. It should be noted, that, in contrast, in Germany the term Champagne only for animals with the Verdünnungsallel for pink eye (Pink Eye Dilute, P.E.D.) is used. The confusion is so completely.

Illustration: Beige Varihooded (mismarked) rat (aa rr)

  • genotype
  • designation USA
  • designation U.K..
  • common in Germany Designation
  • aa M- B- rr
  • Beige
  • Buff
  • Beige or buff
  • aa bb rr
  • Beige
  • Buff
  • (chocolate-based) Buff
  • aa mm (or amam) rr
  • dark eyed Champagne
  • No official name
  • (minkbasiertes) Buff

Abbildung Buff Variegated Harley

Compare images

1: Topaz / Argente, Gencode aa mm rr

2: Beige, Gencode aa M- rr

3: Topaz / Fawn, Gencode aa M- rr

Rattenbaby Kafka, Beige Dumbo Dwarf (Zwergratte)

Buff und Beige - die Farben der Ratte

Kathrin Guttmann Farben, Wissen, Zucht & Genetik

Die Farben Buff und Beige können für einige Verwirrung sorgen, da sowohl die Bezeichnungen als auch die dahinter liegende Genetik in verschiedenen Ländern unterschiedlich verwendet wird. Was in den USA z.B. als Beige bezeichnet wird, ist in Großbritannien Buff.

Die National Fancy Rat Society beschreibt Buff als eine warme Magnolienfarbe ohne grauen Anflug (dabei ist das Problem, dass es Magnolien in verschiedenen Farbtönen gibt, siehe Wikipedia). Die Farbe des Bauches sollte der Farbe des Rückens entsprechen und die Augen sind dark ruby (dunkles Rubin). Beige ist bei der NFRS nicht standardisiert. Die American Fancy Rat and Mouse Society beschreibt dagegen Beige und nicht Buff. Beige soll demnach eine warme, gräulicher Lohfarbe (Tan) sein, die nicht zu dunkel sein sollte. Die Augen sind ebenfalls dark ruby (dunkles Rubin).

Abbildung: Buff (aa mm rr) Harley Junge

Die Genetik der Buff oder Beige Ratte

Hinter den Farbbezeichnung Buff und Beige können sich verschiedene Genotypen verbergen.

Grundsätzlich handelt es sich bei Buff bzw. Beige immer um Tiere, die reinerbig sind für das rezssive Non-Agouti-Allel bzw. für Schwarz. Hinzu kommt immer, dass das rezessive Allel für die Rote-Augen-Verdünnung (Red Eye Dilute, R.E.D.) ebenfalls reinerbig vorliegt. Dieses Verdünnungs-Allel sorgt dafür, dass die eigentlich dunkle Farbe der Tiere zu einem Beigeton aufgehellt wird. Kommt jetzt noch das Mink-Allel oder das Chocolate-Allel reinerbig hinzu, werden die Tiere noch etwas heller und in Deutschland meist als Buff bezeichnet.

In Großbritannien wird die Bezeichnung Buff z.B. für alle möglichen non-agouti Ratten mit dem Verdünnungsallel für rote Augen (Red Eye Dilute, R.E.D.) verwendet. In den USA wird die Bezeichnung Buff nicht verwendet. Stattdessen bezeichnet man Non-Agouti-Tiere mit dem Verdünnungsallel für rote Augen (Red Eye Dilute, R.E.D.) als Beige. In Deutschland werden meist die dunkleren Tiere mit dem Genotyp aa rr als Beige, die helleren mit dem Genotyp aa mm (bzw. amam) rr als Buff bezeichnet. Letztere, also Tiere mit dem Genotyp aa mm (bzw. amam) rr, werden in den USA als dark eyed champagne bezeichnet. Hierbei ist anzumerken, dass im Gegensatz dazu in Deutschland die Bezeichnung Champagne nur für Tiere mit dem Verdünnungsallel für pinke Augen (Pink Eye Dilute, P.E.D.) verwendet wird. Die Verwirrung ist also komplett.

Abbildung: Beige Varihooded (Mismarked) Ratte (aa rr)

  • Genotyp
  • Bezeichnung USA
  • Bezeichnung U.K.
  • in Deutschland gebräuchliche Bezeichnung
  • aa M- B- rr
  • Beige
  • Buff
  • Beige oder Buff
  • aa bb rr
  • Beige
  • Buff
  • (chocolate-basiertes) Buff
  • aa mm (oder amam) rr
  • dark eyed Champagne
  • keine offizielle Bezeichnung
  • (minkbasiertes) Buff

Abbildung Buff Variegated Harley

Vergleichsbilder

1: Topaz / Argente, Gencode aa mm rr

2: Beige, Gencode aa M- rr

3: Topaz / Fawn, Gencode aa M- rr